Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 March 12, 2007
    Reviewer: KATHLEEN in New Jersey
    * I love this oatmeal.I'm a type two diabetic and have missed my oatmeal. A small amount of any other oatmeal made my sugar sky rocket,not this. Now I can have it every morning, with no change to my med's. And I can have a WHOLE cup. I make four servings at I time and reheat a serving each morning.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 October 29, 2009
    Reviewer: Palyne in Oklahoma
    * Me and the kid eat low-carb (>60/day). We make half a cup of this each brunch and split it, add a tiny bit of LC sweetener and a couple spoons of cream or half&half. (And in a perfect world, 1oz bacon [3 slices] each also.) This actually fills us up for a good 5-6 hours until it is time for our big protein-fat dinner. We've been losing fat, eating less, yet we're satiated and we just love this stuff. It doesn't spark cravings or other blood sugar or grain side effects like nearly everything else I've gradually tried.

    As for cooking it, I just put 2 cups of water in a pot on high heat. When boiling I dump in 1/2 cup dry oats and I stir that off and on for about 3 minutes on high. Then I drop the flame to very-low. It needs to be stirred 2-4 times over the next 30 minutes or it will stick, but that isn't so much. Although it takes more time than most anything else I would cook, it's a special treat for us (it's the carb-iest thing we eat, by far) and really yummy.

    Ordinary quick-oats is gummy gluey sugarbomb junk food with more sugar impact than a candy bar or three for most people, it's hard to believe the crap we grow up on and feed the kids when ignorant.

    But these long-cooking oats are tasty and filling/satiating and, in reasonable amounts, can even be part of fairly lowcarb eating. We're crazy about them. The kid is 13 so she gets two votes. :-)

    This review is specific to Irish Oatmeal (Steel Cut Oats)
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 May 06, 2007
    Reviewer: Suzanne in Alabama
    * My husband's cholesterol dropped 33 points (!) after eating McCann's Irish Oatmeal 5 days a week for 6 months! Even his doctor asked for the order information so he, too, could begin to enjoy this delicious, healthy oatmeal. My husband's favorite way to enjoy his bowl is with a bit of brown sugar, raisins, and a dash of nutmeg. Thanks for a great product! Suzanne from Alabama
    This review is specific to Irish Oatmeal (Steel Cut Oats)
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 January 31, 2007
    Reviewer: Gloria in Pennsylvania
    * These oats are FANTASTIC. I had never heard of steel cut oats before, but decided to try them (I have Type 2 diabetes). They have a great nutty taste without adding anything to them and are wonderfully crunchy. They also give you a feeling of fullness long into the day. I have already shared some of mine with a couple of friends, and they are ordering them also. I would highly recommend these oats to anyone. Thank you for a super, super product.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 27, 2015
    Reviewer: James in Michigan
    * This is not your mom's oatmeal (unless your mom was far more enlightened than mine). I've had many a bowl of viscous sludge with as much brown sugar as I could get away with being the only flavor.

    My 'short attention span' recipe for these needs less than 5 minutes prep and no stirring needed while cooking.

    In a minimum two cup oven-safe bowl with lid combine 1/4th cup oats with: A) a few tablespoons whey and water to make a total of one cup or B) a couple heaping spoonfuls yogurt and 3/4ths cup water. Stir to combine and make sure there are no pockets of dry oats. Cover with something bug proof but permeable (coffee filter, paper towel, "flour sack' towels) and let stand overnight.

    If using dried fruit, add it before cooking, add fresh fruits after cooking. If not using dried fruit, simply remove permeable cover and use oven-safe cover. Turn oven on at 350F (175C) and set a timer for one hour. There should be just a bit of liquid left.

    Stir in any post-cooking ingredients (1/4th tsp each cinnamon, cardamom, and nutmeg are my favorites if not using fruit).

    Even plain this has good flavor and texture, unlike what was put in front of me during my school years.

    This review is specific to Irish Oatmeal (Steel Cut Oats)
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 10, 2009
    Reviewer: TRACY in North Carolina
    * I am a new convert to the Steel Cut Oats. I would never have guessed the taste difference between Quaker Oats and this product would be so drastic. I have always loved oatmeal but this is the real stuff. WONDERFUL!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 31, 2008
    Reviewer: Katie in Ohio
    * Yum! Great taste & texture.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 11, 2008
    Reviewer: A customer in Ohio
    * I really enjoy this oatmeal- tastes great, nice consistency...
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 05, 2008
    Reviewer: Georgiann in Texas
    * I tried this oatmeal because of the reviews talking about the effects on cholesterol and blood sugar. I've always liked oatmeal, and this one is even better -- it's hearty, with a rather nutty flavor, and has a nice chewy, crunchy texture. Add a little butter or a splash of cream, and it's even tastier.
    This review is specific to Irish Oatmeal (Steel Cut Oats)
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 14, 2007
    Reviewer: Jacqueline in California
    * Awesome taste, great breakfast, and it sticks to your bones and keeps you from getting hungry before lunchtime. It takes a while to cook on the stove top (30 mins) but I do it in 20 mins. in the microwave using high power for 4 mins. to bring up the heat then lower power just to maintain heat and continue cooking. Use a large glass bowl to prevent overflow during microwave cooking. I also like to add some raisins before cooking. I will never eat processed oatmeal again. This is truly a step above and wonderful.
    This review is specific to Irish Oatmeal (Steel Cut Oats)
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 07, 2007
    Reviewer: Suzanne in Alabama
    * A suggestion for preparing on the stove top that works well for me. After bringing to a boil, set the lid on the cooking pot at a slight angle in order to let the steam & moisture out. Set stove to "Low". Then, you can set the timer and walk away! It won't boil over and cooks throughly, too.
    This review is specific to Irish Oatmeal (Steel Cut Oats)
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 17, 2007
    Reviewer: A customer in Tennessee
    * This is the absolute best oatmeal that I've every tasted. I loved the texture (which reminded me of rice). The product is very filling. I would usually eat a bowl at 6:30 a.m. and would not want to eat again until lunch. I will add that it is necessary to keep an eye on the oatmeal when it is prepared. You can't walk away from it whether you are preparing it on the stove-top or in the microwave, because otherwise, you will have a boil-over that can be very messy. Other than that small quirk in preparation, the product is fantastic!
    This review is specific to Irish Oatmeal (Steel Cut Oats), Quick & Easy
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 04, 2007
    Reviewer: Michelle in California
    * Much better than the Quaker Steel Cut Oats in the grocery store. Those are much smaller and do not swell as well in water. These have a superior flavor and texture. I cook 4 days worth at a time, and they keep in the fridge beautifully for most of the week!
    This review is specific to Irish Oatmeal (Steel Cut Oats)
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 03, 2007
    Reviewer: Joe in Oklahoma
    * I have been using McCann's Oatmeal for several years. When I prepare a batch of Oatmeal using McCann's, I am assured of a flavorful smooth-tasting oatmeal. By preparing my own oatmeal I know that I am getting a nutritious fiber-filled product. I highly recommend it to everyone. I use it in an oatmeal recipe from Alton Brown of the Food Network show 'Good Eats'.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 28, 2006
    Reviewer: Thomas in Pennsylvania
    * This oatmeal is well worth the cost. I eat it anytime of the day as a meal. It is so thick and robust.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 22, 2006
    Reviewer: Katie in Ohio
    * These take a little longer to prepare than regular oatmeal, but it is worth it in the nutrition category. This stuff fills me up and tastes great!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 06, 2006
    Reviewer: James in Maryland
    * This is the best oatmeal I have tasted. These steel cut oats have a much fuller texture than the rolled oats most of us normally buy at the grocery store.

    I add a little honey and butter to them, but I think they have a nice flavor all on their own. Since steel cut oatmeal takes a bit longer to cook than rolled oats, I usually cook a cup or two for the week and just microwave a bowl at a time for breakfast or a snack.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2016 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.