Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 June 08, 2007
    Reviewer: A customer in Colorado
    * This was a product of firsts for me. I had never used a product from NOW, a protein isolate, nor an unflavored protein. The result is that I just ordered 3 more 5 lb buckets. I enjoyed the price break with the unflavored variety and added fruit, yogurt, or Hershey's syrup to add flavor. Concerning price, I created a spreadsheet and calculated the cost per gram of protein for every isolate available on Netrition.com and this product was the most value for the money. Quality and effectiveness are more difficult to judge, especially without a lab assay, but I can say that this was the finest and easiest to mix protein I've ever used. I have been on 4 scoops per day for 40 days and have realized significant results in terms of fat loss and muscle gain. Although, this was in combination with a host of other supplements and I would not be able to positively attribute the results to this one product. One final comment is the genius of the folding handle on the top of the bucket. All around super protein and highly recommended.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 August 02, 2006
    Reviewer: A customer in Maryland
    * Excellent price on the highest grade of whey protein. This is good for baking since it is not flavored like most protein powders.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 June 26, 2008
    Reviewer: Scott in Ohio
    * I use this whey protein isolate (unflavored) in baking, and it works very well. You can use it to replace all or some of the flour in many recipes and notice no or little difference in the taste or texture in the finished product. For example, you can use this to completely replace the flour used in a brownie recipe and it most people will not be able to tell the difference. For breads and cakes, you may need to mix it with some flour, but it still works well and can replace a lot of carbs with protein. It is practically tasteless, so you can add it to sauces and dressings, and can be used as a thickening agent.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 December 25, 2009
    Reviewer: william in Ohio
    * My absolute favorite protein powder. I've used it for 3 years. Easily mixes and no sweeteners. Great product and great value.
    This review is specific to Whey Protein Isolate, Natural Unflavored
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 July 07, 2009
    Reviewer: A customer in California
    * A great product! For what I paid, it breaks down to .62 cents a serving (25 grams protein/2.5 grams BCAAs). It mixes well in everything and the taste is hardly noticeable. I don't like the taste of many of the flavored protein mixes out there and would rather make my own drinks. Most of the time I use this post workout. If I have a hard cardio workout I'll throw in some additional carbs in the form of granulated gatorade. If my workout is not as cardio intensive, I'll throw in some non calorie flavored packet for a great tasting low calorie drink. I also throw in about 5 grams of creatine most days. I mostly mix with water, but this stuff also works well in smoothies with various fruits and milk (soy or regular). I find that it mixes best if you put in about half the water first, add the various powders, and then top off the water. The wife likes it too!
    This review is specific to Whey Protein Isolate, Natural Unflavored
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 May 23, 2008
    Reviewer: William in Texas
    * This whey isolate product is the cleanest and has the highest BCAA figures I've seen. I've evaluated several 100% whey isolate proteins over the last 15 years and have not come across any that can match NOW's unflavored product. The price cannot be beat either. This protein mixed with fruit, vegetables, creatine, fish oil & peanut butter makes a great liquid meal.
    This review is specific to Whey Protein Isolate, Natural Unflavored
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 May 27, 2007
    Reviewer: LOUKAS in Greece
    * This is easily the best whey protein in the market. It is pure whey protein isolate with 90% concentration by mass. Don't look further. There is no other protein with these characteristics and this price. Very highly recommended.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 April 23, 2007
    Reviewer: Brian in North Carolina
    * NOW's whey protein isolate is the best protein I have ever used. Many other types of protein use concentrate and left me and others bloated and not digesting it well. NOW's protein mixes well, not chalky, and is simply whey protein and nothing else, no fillers.
    This review is specific to Whey Protein Isolate, Natural Unflavored
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 April 11, 2007
    Reviewer: Desmond R. in South Carolina
    * With an unflavored whey protein product very difficult to find, this product meets/exceeds what was desired in a whey protein powder, is available at a reasonable cost per pound, and is available in the 5 lb. size.
    This review is specific to Whey Protein Isolate, Natural Unflavored
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    2/5 November 03, 2010
    Reviewer: I in California
    * I bought the unflavored variety, and just have a hard time choking this stuff down. I've mixed with fruit, yogurt, even nestle quick, but it still has a certain aftertaste that can't be disguised. It may be a great bargain in protein, but if you don't want to use it, it doesn't do much good. I won't be coming back for seconds.
    This review is specific to Whey Protein Isolate, Natural Unflavored
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 06, 2014
    Reviewer: Jill in New Mexico
    * I love this stuff!

    I've been using it for about 3 years in my smoothies. It mixes well in the blender, and tastes good (neutral) without that sour milk taste or other "off" tastes that many other whey proteins have.

    When I have run out of NOW, and am awaiting my shipment, I have purchased other "great tasting" whey powders...they ARE NOT THE SAME.

    This review is specific to Whey Protein Isolate, Natural Unflavored
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 29, 2013
    Reviewer: Robert in Virginia
    * Love this stuff! Mixes readily with any liquid like milk, water, juices. A real bargain from Netrition. I just ordered the 5 pound jar as I originally bought a 1.2 pound jar just to see how it tasted. I will be buying lots of this going forward.
    This review is specific to Whey Protein Isolate, Natural Unflavored
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 11, 2013
    Reviewer: A customer in New York
    * I love this stuff. I hate sweeteners and this is the only brand that I found to have nothing in it. I flavor it myself. I would say it's easier to have two 5lbs tubs to refill with the bag than using the bag however.
    This review is specific to Whey Protein Isolate, Natural Unflavored
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 07, 2013
    Reviewer: Rebecca in Nevada
    * This was the first Protein Powder I ever bought several years ago and now after trying several others it is still my favorite. I make iced coffee and add this and it mixes great in a shaker cup. I make protein shakes with this using my own flavorings, fruits and/or greens. I also stir it into yogurt. I'm ordering the 10 lb size next and giving up all other Protein Powders.
    This review is specific to Whey Protein Isolate, Natural Unflavored
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 17, 2013
    Reviewer: Ed in Ohio
    * This protein powder has a very low amount of sodium per scoop and it really tastes great.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 01, 2013
    Reviewer: Eric in New York
    * My wife and I go through a ten pound bag monthly. I am lactose intolerant and my wife has Celiacs. The taste, mix ability and quality are amazing. We love this protein and can't say enough about it. Great product and price.
    This review is specific to Whey Protein Isolate, Dutch Chocolate
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 10, 2013
    Reviewer: Margaret in New York
    * This is a great product. I use it for shakes, smoothies and in baking. I prefer the unflavored, so I can flavor it any way I want for a given food or drink.
    This review is specific to Whey Protein Isolate, Natural Unflavored
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 22, 2013
    Reviewer: Donna in Washington
    * I have found the protein powder of my dreams! The Now brand Unflavored Whey Protein Isolate is so close to tasteless, I'm in love. I have not tried any of the flavored varieties. Mixes very easily in warm liquids, takes a little more stirring in cold. I usually use a blender or magic bullet anyway. I don't trust soy products and so many of the other flavored protein powders have an off taste. When I have added other protein powders to smoothies, they ruin the taste of the smoothie. I love this stuff. The size of the scoop is a little awkward for the 1.2 lb can. The scoop measures 1/3 cup. I use a smaller scoop I already had which is 1/4 cup and make it a heaping scoop. I will be buying the largest container from now on for cost savings. Only thing is, I really should get rid of the four huge cans of other protein powders first. I know, give it to Mikey (husband), he'll eat it!
    This review is specific to Whey Protein Isolate, Natural Unflavored
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 20, 2012
    Reviewer: Jennifer in Connecticut
    * love the vanilla...it doesn't bother my stomach like other whey proteins and it's great for baking. I use it in homemade protein bars. Great value too!
    This review is specific to Whey Protein Isolate, Natural Vanilla
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 17, 2012
    Reviewer: Kyle in New York
    * No need to keep searching. Add to cart above. Go make sure there's milk in the fridge.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 27, 2011
    Reviewer: Kenneth in New York
    * I believe that pound for pound, this is the best deal, on the best quality whey protein that Netrition carries. (Pure whey isolate, not whey concentrate or a blend of the two).

    No artificial colors or flavors! I was a big fan of Syntrax Nectar (the natural versions), but this is cheaper, and you can flavor and sweeten to taste. It's a little clumpy but not too bad. It can take a minute to disperse in your shaker cup... I like to shake it, then let it sit for a couple minutes, then shake it a little more.

    For flavoring, so far I like the unsweetened Capella flavors, and add my own EZ Sweetz (splenda) which Netrition also sells. The Stevia flavorings are too weak, IMO. Look in the Flavorings category in the drop-down menu. It takes a little experimentation, but I'd start with about 6-8 drops of unsweetened Capella, and 6 drops of EZ Sweetz (that's what I use with 3 scoops of whey, in water). Your mileage may vary!

    This review is specific to Whey Protein Isolate, Natural Unflavored
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 11, 2010
    Reviewer: Darren in New Jersey
    * I tried this product from a 96 year old lady that uses it. If she recommends it that's good enough for me. I also love the price and nothing artificial.
    This review is specific to Whey Protein Isolate, Natural Unflavored
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 02, 2010
    Reviewer: Heidi in California
    * I LOVE THIS PRODUCT!!!

    I have a scoop of this, a scoop of the Big Train Hot Chocolate mix, some very cold water and a bit of cream on ice every morning. It makes a great low-sugar Iced Mocha that is lean on calories and keeps me full until lunch.

    I will also blend a scoop of this with a scoop of the BT Blended Mocha mix for a morning Frappe that is great on my waist & wallet and very filling.

    This review is specific to Whey Protein Isolate, Natural Unflavored
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 18, 2010
    Reviewer: James in Alabama
    * Great price, great flavor!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 09, 2009
    Reviewer: Socrates in Massachusetts
    * This product looks great. No artificial sweeteners, low fat, low cholesterol, low carb.
    This review is specific to Whey Protein Isolate, Dutch Chocolate
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 01, 2009
    Reviewer: Kevin in California
    * Great product that can be mixed with just about anything you like - fruits, juice, chocolate powder....whatever works for you. It tastes great and it does the job in getting you the protein needed to stay lean and strong. Give it a shot, you won't regret it.
    This review is specific to Whey Protein Isolate, Natural Unflavored
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 10, 2009
    Reviewer: David in South Carolina
    * The flavor of this whey protein is amazing; my fiance has never liked protein shakes that I have had, but she will actually drink this one and enjoys it. We mix it with milk, and it tastes almost like a real milkshake. I have also felt good results since starting this supplement. Very good product, and will never go back to another brand.
    This review is specific to Whey Protein Isolate, Dutch Chocolate
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 12, 2009
    Reviewer: william in Ohio
    * My favorite protein supplement. Pure whey protein with no flavoring or sweeteners (artificial or otherwise).
    This review is specific to Whey Protein Isolate, Natural Unflavored
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 16, 2008
    Reviewer: Chad in Arizona
    * Great product and no artificial flavors or sweeteners.
    This review is specific to Whey Protein Isolate, Dutch Chocolate
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 16, 2008
    Reviewer: Philip in Greece
    * Great protein. I only have one question! Is it in any parts hydrolyzed?
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 22, 2008
    Reviewer: Jeff in California
    * Best bang for your buck
    This review is specific to Whey Protein Isolate, Dutch Chocolate
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 13, 2008
    Reviewer: Michael in Wisconsin
    * This is the best whey protein I have found for the price. No artificial sweeteners or flavors and still has a good (neutral) flavor.
    This review is specific to Whey Protein Isolate, Natural Unflavored
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 09, 2008
    Reviewer: Ardie in California
    * This is quality protein that tastes great at a great price.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 04, 2007
    Reviewer: Alex in New York
    * I have bought the Dutch Chocolate variety before and I am currently ordering more. Great Product. Although it is the only protein powder I have tried, I see no reason for switching to others. Great price, great taste (I just mix it with milk). Highly recommended.
    This review is specific to Whey Protein Isolate, Dutch Chocolate
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 16, 2007
    Reviewer: Vickilynn in North Carolina
    * I tried several brands of whey protein and only wanted brands with NO artificial sweeteners in them. The NOW brand of whey protein isolate in Dutch Chocolate, which is sweetened with stevia, is awesome! I love it and drink it every day. Now it's the only brand I buy.
    This review is specific to Whey Protein Isolate, Dutch Chocolate
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 November 14, 2015
    Reviewer: Keith in New Mexico
    * I did a lot of research on this product and when I finally ordered the NOW Dutch Chocolate Isolate, I was excited to finally try it. This is the most bland-tasting, flat and unflavored protein I've ever consumed. It does mix well though, and the nutrition facts are the best part about it. I'm looking forward to finishing this 5 pound container and never drinking this stuff again. If taste is a big concern, I would NOT recommend this product.
    This review is specific to Whey Protein Isolate, Dutch Chocolate
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 July 08, 2015
    Reviewer: Tina in Kentucky
    * After all the wonderful reviews, I was so excited to get my tub of powder! Tried it right away. First, it does not mix instantly. I used a shaker bottle and ball and after shaking hard several times, there were still unmixed partickes. Second - and worse - was the fact that it tasted like it had no sweetener at all! So much so that I called the company. They said they didn't know. It actually tastes as if I was drinking unsweetened cocoa powder. I am not a sweet freak, and was apprehensive about getting something with stevia, as those products are usually too sweet. But, with the addition of Xylitol, I thought the blend would be fine. Except it tastes like there is no sweetener at all. I am shipping it back - have to eat the shipping, but I will not be drinking it.
    This review is specific to Whey Protein Isolate, Dutch Chocolate
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2016 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.