Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on

  • 10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 May 11, 2007
    Reviewer: Janet in Indiana
    * I've been using golden flax meal for over a year to stretch the Carbquik baking mix without adding carbs. It has a light flavor, sort of nutty, and gives the Carbquik mix a whole wheat texture. If you like white bread this won't work, but if you like extra texture and flavor in your baked goods this is good stuff. I mix a pound of flax meal to a pound of Carbquik. It changes the amount of mix but not the carb count so you get twice as much volume to your muffin for the same carb count. This really helps on those "hungry" mornings when I want some extra food. I don't feel bad having an extra muffin for breakfast. I'm still only getting 3 carbs for a huge muffin and lots of good food value from the flax meal.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 November 25, 2009
    Reviewer: Cathy in Ohio
    * With other flax meals or seeds, I have perceived a "fishy" taste that, naturally, I did not like. I was really happy to find that this product is very mild tasting, without that "fishy" note. It's finely ground and I like it very much for baking.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 August 09, 2008
    Reviewer: A customer in Tennessee
    * This is an excellent product. The texture and tastes are non-intrusive. The product blends well in baking and provides a fantastic source of fiber. I am a low carber and it really helps diversify my menus. I can have induction friendly 'treats' without stalling.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 November 06, 2007
    Reviewer: Debra in Wisconsin
    * This flax meal is very light and mild tasting. I love the texture it adds to muffins and pancakes. I also use it in the "Power Pudding" I make for one of my clients for the extra fiber and health benefits of flax. It has really helped me be able to stay on my low-carb eating plan, both reducing hunger and keeping me "regular".
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 03, 2014
    Reviewer: Yvonne in Virginia
    * The "fishy" smell was very faint and not noticeable when used in baking. I made many muffins with this alone or combined with almond flour.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 29, 2012
    Reviewer: A customer in Arizona
    * 1 minute microwave carb free flax bread recipe 3 tblsp flax meal 2 egg whites Large pinch baking powder Dash of salt 1/8 tsp. pumpkin pie spice or cinnamon Sweeten to taste with your favorite low carb sweetener, (one for baking) Microwave for 1 minute. Yum!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 10, 2010
    Reviewer: Doug in Michigan
    * Love the golden flax meal. Very tasty in muffins, etc. Super low carb and high fiber. Be sure to drink lots of liquid though, it is so high in fiber you can actually block your system up if you don't drink liquid with your muffin!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 23, 2007
    Reviewer: steven in Ohio
    * I have tried other less expensive flax meals but they were heavier and not as flavorful. I use it for muffins, pancakes and breads.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 August 12, 2012
    Reviewer: Susan in Ohio
    * I really like to use this to make pancakes! I have tried a couple of different brands and this is the best I have found.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2016 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.