Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 September 15, 2006
    Reviewer: Darlene in California
    * Sorry, but this tastes like real pasta because it is! I am a Type 2 diabetic and Dreamfields spaghetti raised my BGL 50 points in 2 hours. I wish its claims were true, but for me they weren't.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 November 17, 2006
    Reviewer: Lorena in Washington
    * 5 grams of net carbs is a load of BS. When I ate 1/4 cup of cooked pasta with low-carb tomato sauce, my blood sugar went up more than 100 points in 20 minutes! Normally, 5 grams of carbs will only bring up my blood sugar about 20 points. This pasta behaves just the same in your body as if you've eaten regular pasta. Can't lie to those of us with blood sugar monitors.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 January 06, 2007
    Reviewer: Henry in California
    * NOT LOW CARB!! It says "protected carbs", but no explination of what that means, especially since ONLY 5g of the 45g total carbs are fiber! Are there 30+g of sugar alcohol in there? Its not stated ANYWHERE! Plus, sugar, in pasta? Please explain what these 'protected carbs' are?!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 April 17, 2007
    Reviewer: Craig in Texas
    * Yes, it does taste like regular pasta. Unfortunately, it is NOT low carb. I've tried it twice (single serving, two weeks apart) and both times it knocked me out of ketosis and increased my weight by 3 pounds. It takes me a couple of days to get back in ketosis after eating this pasta. I much prefer the Nutrition Kitchen soybean pasta; it does not affect my ketosis or weight.
    This review is specific to Pasta, Linguine
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 October 29, 2009
    Reviewer: Brian in Oregon
    * Yes it tasted great. Yes it tastes like "regular" pasta. The problem is that it *is* regular pasta. Their claims about "digestible carbs" is hogwash. I wish it were not so, believe me, because I like these too. But the blood sugar meter does not lie.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 February 16, 2008
    Reviewer: A customer in Missouri
    * Yes, Too Good to be True.

    I prepared a 4 oz serving of Dreamfields spaghetti el dente and poured a small amount of low carb (no sugar added) marinara sauce over it after cooking. Blood sugar reading was 119 before ingestion. Twenty minutes after eating the dish, blood sugar reading jumped to 198. This is the same result I had in earlier tests with regular pasta. The so called "protected carbs" were not beneficial in my case.

    This review is specific to Pasta, Spaghetti
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 March 11, 2015
    Reviewer: Carol in Ohio
    * I have eaten this pasta for several years, thinking it was low-carb because of the "protected carbs" claim. Now, I find out that the company was lying, proof of which is the class action suit that required Dreamfields to pay out $8M. Yes, the pasta is really good. Just not low-carb--actually as high as any other pasta on the market.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 February 24, 2012
    Reviewer: Mark in New Jersey
    * I have been living a low carb lifestyle since 1998, so I am not a newbie. THIS STUFF IS DOES NOT WORK for lowcarb. It does taste very good, in fact I always buy Dreamfields pasta because my family likes it and "just in case it might save me a couple of carbs", but it never does, I always gain weight after a meal of this pasta.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 March 17, 2008
    Reviewer: wendy in Florida
    * This tasted too good to be true and that it was. When I tested my blood sugar it went up 44 points. Diabetics beware although it may be okay to use for just low carbers who are not insulin resistant.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 February 16, 2015
    Reviewer: S in Pennsylvania
    * My spouse and I had been eating Dreamfields for years when we noticed it was running our blood sugar up. Then came the lawsuit, and Dreamfield's removing their low-carb claim -as it should be. This is NOT a low carb pasta. It annoys me no end this company deceived many, many people whose health was in jeopardy.

    Sure, it tastes great and cooks up like regular pasta. It is.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 January 31, 2015
    Reviewer: Laura in Virginia
    * Just another pasta, not worth the price, and company has been convicted of fraud for claiming their products are low-carb and do not negatively impact blood glucose levels, when in fact it has been proven that blood glucose levels rose just as much and just as fast as with any other pasta. My glucose levels shot up quite high after eating Dreamfields pasta, and I couldn't understand why until we found out about the class action lawsuit. I'll never buy this brand again.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 March 12, 2014
    Reviewer: Katherine in Florida
    * It takes just like regular pasta because it basically is. It looks like they have now taken down the claim that it has all these "protected, non-digestible" carbs, but they are still calling it part of a "healthy carb" diet. Well, these are extremely high-carb products, and "healthy" and "high carb" are oximorons.

    I ate some about a week ago and saw my blood sugar spike (I am type 1 diabetic) but I didn't keep good records of exact numbers. Last night I had some more, about 3/4 cup. I knew it would probably spike me, so I took 7 units of insulin, which usually covers 35 carbs for me. My blood-sugar was 10 points higher an hour later, and I took 3 more units. An hour later (two hours after eating pasta) it was about the same, which means my blood sugar was still spiking even after 2 hours (usually is at it's highest at 1 hour), so I took 3 more units of insulin. Tested again the next hour, and seemed to be finally coming back down. When I woke up this morning, my fasting blood sugar was about 160 when usually it's 80-100.

    So I would say it would have required about 12 units of insulin to keep my blood sugar the same before and after eating, which should have covered about 60 carbs for me in about 3/4 cup of pasta- holy cow!!!! That is NOT low carb in my book. I almost always eat less than 50 carbs per day, so there is NO room for something this high in carbs in my diet.

    If you're low-carbing but not diabetic, just take it from us diabetics who have tried it- it will NOT help you loose weight and is NOT low carb. I can't recommend this to anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 January 17, 2013
    Reviewer: Marcy in Texas
    * The reason Dreamfields tastes so good is because it's regular pasta. You can't promote this as a low-carb product when your customers include diabetics with blood sugar monitors! I've tried Dreamfields on three different occasions, and all three times my post-prandial blood sugar readings spiked into the 190s. This product clearly does not work as advertised. Try Carb Counter's Skinni Spaghetti instead.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 February 04, 2012
    Reviewer: A customer in New Jersey
    * I am type 2 diabetes. I tried this one 3 times, it raised my blood glucose just like any other pasta. No difference. I guess it works for some people, unfortunately, it did not work for me.
    This review is specific to Pasta, Rotini
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 April 30, 2014
    Reviewer: Benjamin in Ohio
    * Dereamfield's promise of low carbs is just a dream. I used my bg meter, and this pasta makes my blood sugar react exactly the same way any other al-dente cooked pasta does. For me, that means a slower spike than say white bread, but a huge spike at 3.5 hours. Don't buy the hype.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 September 17, 2013
    Reviewer: Kathryn in Minnesota
    * Read the other negative reviews. This tastes like regular pasta because it IS regular pasta. I've experienced the huge blood sugar spike like others mention. These products are not OK for Atkins or Ketogenic or any low carb diet.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 November 19, 2011
    Reviewer: Debra in Oregon
    * Not low carb for me. ......My blood sugar went wild after eating this.....take note that some people DO digest the "protected" carbs. To me it is regular pasta.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 November 01, 2015
    Reviewer: Amy in California
    * Just received this and I feel duped! It has 36 Net Carbs for 2 oz. Barilla Penne has 40! How is this Low Carb? The box says "Healthy Carb Living". I'm not eating it. I'll feed it to the kids.
    This review is specific to Pasta, Penne Rigate
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 March 05, 2015
    Reviewer: June in Missouri
    * Not good for a low-carb diet!! I feel cheated since the last time I ordered it, the box said 5 g. of digestible cards, so I ordered 3 more boxes and found out that statement is no longer on the box. Now I took time to read the reviews others have made and consequently found out Dreamfields has lied to us all this time about being low carb.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 September 29, 2014
    Reviewer: BARRY in Florida
    * I'm stunned by the reviews describing this product as low carb. What? 36 net g per serving? Regular pasta is about 41! So many reviewers think the net carbs are 5 grams. That's 5 grams FIBER! Diabetics stay clear!
    This review is specific to Pasta, Spaghetti
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2016 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.