Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 July 09, 2007
    Reviewer: Jessica in California
    * I did not love this product at first, tried to make brownies and while they were good (better than any other way I've baked) they had a funny taste. I've since started making cookies with this flour, and I use about 1/2 Carbalose and 1/2 almond flour, and with this ratio I take any cookie recipe from my non-lowcarb cookbooks and they taste fantastic (also using Splenda in place of sugar). I have made peanut butter, coconut pecan, and chocolate cookies using my formula, they are so good my husband eats them up and people I work with can't tell they are low-carb. If you don't like the strange taste of the Carbalose, replace some w/ the almond flour. (I haven't tried doing this w/ other flours like the coconut, but might be just as good.)
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 August 20, 2007
    Reviewer: Gail in Oregon
    * I have a business where we create zero or low-carb and no sugar treats and I bought this product to create a negative (where there is more fiber than carbs in the item) carb brownie. I took them to a family reunion and have several relatives who are Diabetics. First of all, they could not tell the difference,secondly, when they found out that they were negative carb, refined-sugar free, they went crazy over them. I used Erythritol, and Sugar Not as the sweeteners and I used 3 different flours in the brownies. I used Flax meal, Coconut flour, and the Carbalose. They baked faster, even after reducing the baking temp and required more liquid than a regular brownie batter. But they melt in your mouth!!! I too plan to revamp all of my high carb recipes for the holidays subbing the flours and sweeteners for what I purchased. I will be ordering more of these products. They are awesome and versatile and guilt-free!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 September 22, 2006
    Reviewer: Amanda in North Carolina
    * I have baked and breaded foods with this flour and not one of my family members knew the difference. I'm diabetic and occasionally will sneak in something low carb on the rest of the family who tend to snub anything low carb. This is one product that can and does fool them.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 March 26, 2007
    Reviewer: Linda in Alabama
    * Carbalose Flour is the closest thing to white flour. It bakes like white flour and has a very similar taste. It works well in baked goods. I combine it on a 3/1 ratio with three parts Carbalose to one part whole wheat flour. It does have a slight aftertaste and baked goods are best when eaten the same day they are baked. I notice the after taste more on the second day after baking. It takes more Carbalose to thicken hot liquids than white flour but is great as a coating on meats when frying. Do add extra (double) baking powder than you would normally use with white all purpose flour. For diabetics or low carb dieters, Carbalose is a must! I am very pleased with this product and will continue to purchase it.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 May 19, 2015
    Reviewer: JOANN in New Hampshire
    * This product makes the best and easiest bread I have ever found. So simple and so good, no odd taste whatsoever.

    Carbalose White Bread

    3 Cups Carbalose Flour 1 T yeast 2 packets Splenda 1 t salt

    Mix in food processor until combined.

    Drop into food processor feed tube : 1 whole egg 4 T cold butter, cut up into smaller pieces

    Process for 1 minute.

    Then slowly pour 1C 120 -130 degree water through feed tube of food processor and process until it forms a slightly sticky dough that forms a ball. Then process for 2 minutes , this is the kneading stage. Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface. Cover with plastic wrap and a towel, let sit for 10 minutes. Using a rolling pin, roll dough into a 12 x 8 rectangle, then roll up jelly roll style and pinch edges together then pinch ends together and turn under. Place on greased baking sheet and let rise for 1 hour. Then spray with vegetable spray and bake at 350 degrees for 40 minutes. Let cool before cutting. This breads shape after baking is exactly like a large loaf of Italian bread.

    20+ slices at under 4 net carbohydrates per slice.

    Proofing tip: Preheat oven to 300 degrees, place covered bread on top of stove, turning every 15 minutes or so. Remove from stove top and raise oven temp to 350 degrees, then bake as described above. You'll love the simplicity and the taste.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 September 18, 2006
    Reviewer: Marisol in Illinois
    * I used a recipe (Strawberry Danish) from another Lowcarb flour mix and Carbalose worked wonderfully. It baked great and the taste is excellent. I can't wait to try other recipes with this product. Highly recommended. I will definately purchase over and over. Thanks for a great product.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 April 30, 2010
    Reviewer: Jay in New Mexico
    * I never bake anything without it. Works great with bread maker..
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 January 02, 2010
    Reviewer: joanne in Arizona
    * This, along with the wheat isolate 5000 and the wheat isolate 8000, almond flour, resistant wheat starch 75 and Thickenthin not/sugar make a wonderful overall cooking and baking mix. My blood sugar does not surge and neither does the scale. I recommend to anyone looking for a low-carb lifestyle. I've lost 80 pounds using these and other products from Netrition and have kept it off for 2 years.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 January 02, 2009
    Reviewer: John in Colorado
    * This stuff is great! I use it for everything and have never been disappointed. I've even used it to make home-made pasta and it worked very well.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 February 07, 2008
    Reviewer: Stephanie in Maryland
    * Wow. I don't know how I'll ever go back to life without Carbalose flour. I want to give you a list of things that I've made with this flour that fool every non-low-carber that tries them: pie crusts, hot dog buns, hamburger buns, biscuits, monkey bread, chicken francaise, shnitzel, muffins, pizza gough, tarts, fried chicken, garlic bread, french toast . . . the list is endless.

    Some recipes need to be adjusted because of Carbalose's special properties, and sometimes it has a weird taste. However, I've been able to eliminate those problems by mixing 3/4 cup carbalose with 1/4th part Resistant Wheat Starch or almond flour or flax meal.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 February 14, 2007
    Reviewer: Sharon in Kentucky
    * I have made pancakes and banana nut bread so far with Carbalose and the results were wonderful! My husband and son loved them. Until Carbalose there was nothing that gave the same results as regular flour and actually tasted good. I can't wait to try other recipes, and I will be a customer for life!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 February 04, 2007
    Reviewer: Steven in Pennsylvania
    * Works great for certain recipes like pound cakes, etc ... but not so good for other. Over all, it's definitely worth it because when it works well, it's wonderful. I can enjoy cakes again on low-carb now.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 November 05, 2011
    Reviewer: lauri in Nevada
    * This item is GREAT. I've made Cream Biscuits and they were wonderful. This week I purchased a Ronco Pasta Maker and made my first Pasta. Oh they were very tasty and I can't wait to try making some cookies. I really like the idea of not having all those preservatives in my food. Since I must learn to live on lowCarb this flour solves a whole lot of problems. You will not be unhappy with this flour. I also use it half and half with CarbQuick. Also have used it 1/2 & 1/2 with Almond flour when making a cake.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 May 31, 2011
    Reviewer: A customer in California
    * I really like this product. I've come up with a decent pie crust using 2/3 carbalose and 1/3 almond flour to make a crust with minimal "carbalose aftertaste"; I've come with a cookie dough I like using half carbalose and half almond flour. I still have to come with a flour combination for a cake batter I like, but will continue working on it. Definitely a great product when used with other low carb "flours"; by itself, I don't care for the aftertaste.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 November 22, 2010
    Reviewer: Ginger in Florida
    * I love this flour better than the carbquik for some applications. Carbquik is good for quick muffins, breads, etc., but if yeast or pie crust applications are called for this is most like real flour, rolls out nicer and does not tear. Like this stuff alot!!! I can have a pretty pie crust again and nice looking pizza dough that raises and fills a pizza pan!!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 July 10, 2008
    Reviewer: Jodi in Oklahoma
    * My first experience with carbalose flour was enhanced by others tips, so here goes. About 2/3rds of the carbalose is needed per cup of regular flour. I have found that adding resistant wheat starch is also a great help for baked goods. For pancakes, it only takes 1/2 of the flour of the regular recipe. I am reordering 2 bags this time and some almond flour to try mixing them. Good luck in baking. Jodi
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 December 23, 2015
    Reviewer: A customer in Florida
    * I've been using this product, in addition to Carbquik, for about 4 months to help me with the carb load for Type II diabetes. It actually does have approximately the carb values that is show on the packaging, and I've verified this by blood glucose readings post ingestion.

    One of the problems that it has is a fairly low gluten level, and high fiber. This makes it difficult to prepare yeast breads, even when following some recipes provided by Tova. For breads, rolls and buns it is advisable to purchase a breadmaker to perform the kneading necessary for this flour. I tried doing this by hand and it simply does not work well at all. Use the whole wheat setting.

    For my buns I use the following mix:

    2 C Carbalose flour (moderately packed), 1 TBS Powdered milk, 0.5-1 TBS Vital Gluten, 0.5 TSP Xanthum gum, 1 pack Stevia (Splenda seems to inhibit rise), 0.5 TBS Bakers Malt, 1 TBS room temperature Butter, 0.5 Tab, ground, Vitamin C (250mg)- yeast cofactor, 0.75 C water.

    This is basically a variant of the bread mix shown with most breakmakers.

    Add water and butter to breadmaker pan. Mix all dry ingredients and pour on top of fluid in breadmaker. Add 1.5 TSP yeast to depression on top of mix. Run the whole wheat program but stop after the kneading phase--don't start the warming.

    Remove dough from pan, divide into fourths on floured bread board, form 4 "patties" in the bottom of greased disposable pot pie tins, cover with the plastic covers, and then let rise in a warm oven.

    When developed, remove plastic covers and bake at 410 degrees for 18-20 minutes. Remove and air on a drying rack. Reuse the pot pie tins.

    This will produce awesome soft and airy Kaiser rolls. This bread mix can also be used for dinner rolls and small bread batches (repeat: small), but the carbalose flour mix does not do well baking in the bread machine, regardless of what you try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 December 14, 2014
    Reviewer: Leslie in Colorado
    * This product is amazing. I can take almost any regular recipe and exchange the flour for the carbalose flour, and it comes out perfect. I have banana bread in the oven baking as I write this. My husband it type 2 diabetic, so I don't know what I would do without this. Almond and coconut flour have their place, but they can't be substituted one for one in a standard recipe. You can with this flour. I make sure I never run out, so I'll close and put a few bags into my shopping cart.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 October 13, 2014
    Reviewer: Patricia in Wisconsin
    * This has been excellent for us. It does need sifting and it works alone or I sometimes use it with spelt or whole wheat pastry flour. I use it with all baking and it works very well for pie crusts. Sifting is important, however, and it makes all the difference in the final product!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 May 30, 2014
    Reviewer: Sylvia in Washington
    * Great product. Slight after taste but I did get used to it after awhile. I use this to make biscuits and combine it with the tova biscuit mix. I use about 1/2 and 1/2 of each of them and then add a little more salt, an egg and about 1/4 or a little bit more of baking powder. They rise more if you also add some soda and they are good--at least to me.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 October 05, 2013
    Reviewer: Geraldine in Georgia
    * Had such a hunger for a cinnamon bun. I worked with several recipes on line to find just the right one. Most recipes didn't ask for enough liquid to hold the rolling out and cutting process. I found one that is indeed workable with this flour. Now I double the recipe, which saves time and bother. I make a philly cream cheese frosting, (subbing Splenda for sugar) in lieu of her topping and also add pecans before rolling out. They are fluffy and light, look just like what you'd expect. I freeze them and eat one each day, actually splitting the bun in to and eat half at lunch and the other half for dinner.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 August 24, 2013
    Reviewer: Geneva in Texas
    * I have developed my own recipes and learned to bake all over again. Texture is a little different. I beat egg whites and add to cakes, etc. to add some lightness. Most of the time more liquid is needed. I also add extra butter. Stays moist. You have to experiment with this. When it comes to low carb baking, this is the best I've found. The more I experiment, the better the baked goods are. Even my husband likes them! He says I should publish a low carb cookbook???? Brownies w/sugar free icing, chocolate cake, and even cheesecake. Yum!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 January 17, 2013
    Reviewer: Elizabeth in Colorado
    * This flour allows me to make a low-carb bread for my daughter. I also use Wheat Protein Isolate 8000, ground flax, eggs and butter. This gives a high protein bread with very low carbs, and makes my 14-yr-old very very happy! I also make my own pasta with this flour, using a bit of salt, 80 grams of flour and one egg. I have an old Atlas pasta machine (hand crank) and I roll out the noodles fairly thin (otherwise they are a bit rubbery). A terrific sub for supermarket noodles.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 August 18, 2012
    Reviewer: nancy in Florida
    * This product is fantastic. I use it for all my baking and food prep needs. If I need additional structure for my baked goods such as breads and cookies I just add some xanthan gum to my recipe. As with anything new the user must gauge how much to use. I find a range of 1/2 to 1 tbsp is all I need to add. My friends who are not into low carb are amazed that this is low carb cooking. It is great for diabetics. When baking bread do not "punch the dough down" as it only rises once. It is a great partner to carbquick it's sister product (which I find lighter than bisquick).
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 June 12, 2010
    Reviewer: Marilyn in Massachusetts
    * Carbalose is terrific. It has given me back the joy of baking in a low carb way of life. I have used it in many recipes from my old standbys. It might take a little finagling to find the right amounts but the results are worth it. I usually add almond meal with it to get great results. I have also added coconut flour to fine tune the flavor. The only slightly negative comment I might offer is that it can be a little too salty for some recipes. I always leave out any salt asked for in a recipe when converting it to use carbalose. Love it!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 June 06, 2010
    Reviewer: Jacque in South Carolina
    * After several years of maintaining blood glucose levels with our diet, my husband and I were thrilled to use Carbalose and enjoy muffins, waffles, and more. This product is very easy to use; I add roughly double the amount of leavening (baking powder or baking soda) and increase the liquids in the recipe to get the consistency needed. I also use unsalted butter with it, to avoid the salty taste some people mention. I have not experienced the "off" flavors that some folks have. I have used splenda and erythritol successfully with the flour - both seem to work well. If you are managing diabetes, or weight, and using a low carb diet to do so, this is a product you will enjoy! Netrition's price is the best I have found, especially when you factor in the low shipping rates.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 October 15, 2009
    Reviewer: William in Ohio
    * I have been looking for a flour with which to deep fry chicken. Other lo-carb flours (mostly soy) have been too wet too fry. This flour is so dry and fine that it adheres to the chicken perfectly and the taste is slightly sweet. The fried chicken ends up crispy, tender, tasty and low-carb. Perfect.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 November 02, 2007
    Reviewer: Marilyn in Tennessee
    * Hallelujah I can bake again! I make low carb bread in my bread machine with this flour and it is DEE-Licious - and only 3 net carbs per slice. I make pie crust, gravy, anything I would use regular flour for, I use this flour. My pumpkin muffins are made at least once a week and have become a staple in our house. Thank you Lord for Tova Industries coming up with this product. I use the Carbquik too - it's also a God-send! Yes, you have to learn to adjust SOME recipes, not all of them, but it's well-worth the effort for me as I am a life-time low-carber, never will go back to eating high carbs again.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 September 03, 2007
    Reviewer: Barbara Ann in California
    * Bought lbs. of CarbQuick and 3 lbs. of Carbalose flour. Love the stuff. Made yeast rolls yesterday and they are very good. Today I made chile rellenos stuffed with cheese and a wonderful batter from the Carbalose flour. They were the best I ever made. I am so thrilled to have this flour. I also made a cinnamon swirl cake that was outstanding. Happy with this product.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 July 23, 2007
    Reviewer: Marilyn in Tennessee
    * This is great stuff! I am gradually taking my old high carb recipes and making them with Carbalose Flour. They taste great - I can't tell that I'm not using white flour. This stuff has brought the fun back to cooking for me.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 23, 2016
    Reviewer: Lissa in Virginia
    * This is the best low carb flour I have used. I cannot even tell the difference from regular flour, and the recipes turn out wonderful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 19, 2016
    Reviewer: KATHLEEN in Arizona
    * I use this item in my homemade Low Carb Bread Mix, along with the isolate 8000, isolate 5000, starch 75, wheat gluten, oat fiber. Since my bread comes out PERFECT, soft with a good rise, I would guess all these items that I buy from Netrition are good. I have been buying the item for years now.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 12, 2016
    Reviewer: shelly in South Carolina
    * I use this regularly. I have used it to make angelfood cake it is just like real flour has good flavor. Occasionally needs sifting multiple times but only if your sweet tooth is as bad as mine.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 26, 2015
    Reviewer: Sylvia in Washington
    * I am so glad I found this flour. It's made life bearable on a low carb diet. It takes a bit to get the hang of cooking with it but you can use it like regular flour. Just pay attention to the suggestions on the product page--it is true so you need to adjust liquids/baking powder/soda a bit to compensate. I made some peanut butter cookies with this and my family is really picky but they liked the cookies just fine. They were also sugar free. So give it a try. The taste is a little different but you should get used to it and after it's cooked with other ingredients you don't notice it much. I hope they continue to make this product forever !
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 17, 2015
    Reviewer: Melissa in Florida
    * Great product! I used it for sweet fried bread and just replaced regular flour for it on recipe and it came out great.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 11, 2015
    Reviewer: Desri in California
    * I have used this product as a flour substitute for a sugar free spiced pumpkin bread. It turned out awesome! I made 1 with regular flour and 1 with carbalose. Only I could tell the difference! It needs to be sifted more for a better, lighter rise, other than that it's almost perfect! I will be buying this product until something better is produced, which I doubt. Or I die! I also made low carb chocolate chip cookies, the same result, this product is AWESOME!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 02, 2015
    Reviewer: Linda in Washington
    * Carbalose and a great recipe for low carb bread has allowed me to be able to have a normal sandwich and toast again. Thank you so much it is a great product.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 27, 2015
    Reviewer: Jennifer in California
    * I have incorporated a low-carb diet for years before it was so popular and found that it really worked for my genetic makeup. A number of my family members have high blood pressure and diabetes so I am constantly on the lookout for a product that I can use to bake. The Carbalose Flour is exactly what I have been seeking and it works great. I baked a loaf of banana bread over the weekend and the true test was my 11 year old daughter. She had no idea that I replaced the regular white flour with Carbalose flour. I followed the recommendations to increase the leavening agent and lowered the oven temp by 25 degrees. The loaf came out perfect and it's delicious. I highly recommend this product.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 27, 2015
    Reviewer: James in North Carolina
    * Fantastic stuff -

    For recipies -

    reduce baking temps by 25 degrees F take out 20% of water use 2x baking soda / baking powder and/or yeasts.

    Works great. Bread, pancakes, cakes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 29, 2015
    Reviewer: Brandon in Texas
    * This stuff is great. I season the chicken to taste. Combine 1 cup of carbalose flour with 1/4-1/3 cup of unbleached white flour and my family with diabetes can eat fried chicken again.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 29, 2015
    Reviewer: Amanda in Maryland
    * We have started using this flour for just about everything. For breading/frying I can't tell any difference. For baking, just do some research and use the trial and error of others to your benefit. You have to "play" with your baked goods receipts a bit to get them just right, but like I said, just do the research of what has worked for others. Not sure about the "aftertaste" others have mentioned...I don't notice one.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 28, 2014
    Reviewer: Gerard in New York
    * The best flour replacement you'll ever try. Yes, it does contain gluten, so keep that in mind. I'm happy Netrition makes this available without the shortening and baking powder (i.e., Carbquik)
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 13, 2014
    Reviewer: Leslie in Colorado
    * Last night I had a craving for cornbread. So, I thought I would try taking a regular recipe and use Carbalose flour instead. I found Paula Deen's recipe for "Moist and easy cornbread" on Food Network and reworked it to be low carb. Substituted the 3/4 cup of all purpose flour with the Carbalose flour, used erythritol for the sugar, and doubled the baking powder and baking soda. It was amazing. Moist, light, and fluffy. All it needed was a bit of butter or low carb jelly on the top. I will definitely make this again.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 16, 2014
    Reviewer: Lane in Oregon
    * Carbalose is a great replacement for flour if you need to watch your carb intake. My granddaughters prefer my Carbalose cakes to those from a professional bakery, even without frosting.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 28, 2014
    Reviewer: Susan in Louisiana
    * Love this product. We make the biscuits, pancakes and the pizza crust all the time. So quick and easy!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 06, 2014
    Reviewer: Larry in Pennsylvania
    * I've baked bread, made cookies and muffins and will be trying pasta soon. Carbalose Flour has yet to disappoint me or my family. I've been mixing it with other low carb flours as well as whole wheat and pastry flour.

    I wish I'd found this sooner, but will not bake without it from now on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 07, 2013
    Reviewer: Suzanna in California
    * Being diabetic, Carbalose lets me eat the things I thought I had to give up. I control my diabetes by eating fairly low carb. Carbalose makes great pancakes and great pie crust. I can't tell the difference in a pie with a carbalose crust from one with regular flour. Carbquik is also good, but I personally like Carbalose better.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 23, 2013
    Reviewer: A customer in Georgia
    * Although not wheat flour; this is the next best thing to it in taste for anyone who needs to extremely lower their carb intake. I have used it extensively as well as the Carbquick. Makes the best pancakes you have ever eaten...if you are diabetic! Put some sugar-free syrup on it, and you would swear it is nearly the same as regular. Also makes great Belgium waffles. I use it to coat chicken fingers and fish as well. Not the exact same taste; but definitely good! I would recommend it to anyone. And, Netrition is the best! Best shipping for practically nothing! You can't beat the products, Netrition, or their shipping! You won't be sorry. I have used them quite a bit over the past year. Always satisfied and always packed to perfection! Thanks, Netrition!!! We appreciate your site, the great prices, and the excellent shipping! A very satisfied customer.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 03, 2013
    Reviewer: Kimberly in California
    * Makes really great flatbread! I've used this flour to make bolani dough (afghani thin savory pastry) and it baked up just as well as the normal flour version. However, it was MUCH easier to roll out.

    All I use is 1.5 cup flour, 1 tbsp olive oil, 1/2 tsp salt and enough water for the dough to form into a ball in the food processor. Then rolled it out on the counter as thin as I could get it. It was almost transparently thin, and it still peels right off the un-floured counter without a single tear. The normal flour makes a much more fragile dough.

    Toss the rolled out dough in a lightly oiled hot pan and you've got a thin bubbly flat bread, or fold the dough over any filling you like (sealing the edges) and cook the same way. Perfection!

    The texture of this flour would make excellent crusty bread given a proving with yeast, and would work perfectly in any kind of breading application you normally use wheat flour. You may want to dilute the flour with almond meal or coconut flour for a more cake-like texture though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 26, 2013
    Reviewer: Joy in Texas
    * I love this product. I have diabetes and this product does not affect my blood sugar. But best of all it really has a great taste just like white bread.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 09, 2013
    Reviewer: mary in Minnesota
    * I really, really like this product! I am on a low carb diet. Recently I discovered Carbalose. I have been baking bread and making dough for hamburger/hot dog buns in my bread machine. Once again I can have sandwiches for lunch. Even more wonderful is I can have my hamburger on a bun! I am able to lose weight and not feel deprived at the same time. What kind of wonderful miracle is that?
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 10, 2013
    Reviewer: Connie in Arizona
    * Amazing. We are officially on a low-carb diet (for life due to hubby's pre-diabetes and daughter's PCOS), and while substitute flours like almond, flax and the like are fine for some things, there is just nothing like a REAL biscuit, or pizza, etc. Nuts and grains just do NOT react the same way wheat does. You can add all kinds of miracle substitutes, but it's never exactly right. Until now. This stuff tastes and acts like real wheat because it IS real wheat, but with a fraction of the carbs! I was reluctant, but bought one bag and made biscuits last night. I found that I hadn't increased the leavening quite enough (I will double next time), and I should have just eliminated the salt from the recipe entirely, because this product is salty enough on its own. Still, they were AMAZING. This morning, I ordered 3 more bags. Tonight, I made pizza using Carbalose flour and doubling the yeast. It was perfect, and only 3 carbs per slice! Tomorrow, brownies! Don't hesitate. Buy it! You will be glad you did. It will transform your limited low-carb world. It did for us!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 24, 2013
    Reviewer: Regina in Ohio
    * This stuff is great! My daughter is on a modified Atkins diet to help control her seizures and she really misses breads and baked goods. With a little practice and not much tweaking (need to add liquids!) this stuff has helped us enjoy eating as close to a "normal" diet as possible. 1 more year of this diet and then hopefully back to normal!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 24, 2013
    Reviewer: Ron in Kansas
    * This product is a lifesaver. I use it in a low carb pie crust that tastes just like the real thing. My family members are big pie lovers and it great to be able to create a diabetic friendly dessert.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 04, 2013
    Reviewer: christine in Minnesota
    * I love this flour. It's a great low carb replacement for regular flour. I had no problem making choc. chips cookies with it(combining almond flour and flax seed). I will order this again.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 26, 2012
    Reviewer: Daniele in Florida
    * Great Flour I used it in cake & muffins, can't tell that you didn't use regular flour. I just ordered more.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 12, 2012
    Reviewer: Linda in California
    * I just got this product. First try was my beloved bran muffins. 3 c. bran with 1 c. flour substituted Carbalose. Revamped the whole recipe for low carb. Substitutes I used were PolyD, Flax Meal, Truvia (Erythritol), Splenda (will try EZ-Sweetz instead next) splenda lost sugar strength, added whey for more protein, kifer instead of buttermilk (I make my own from kifer grains).

    They were lighter than my normal recipe which was surprising.

    IMO the fiber in these muffins are certainly worth the few carbs they have. I LOVE THIS PRODUCT! In fact I love this online store!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 06, 2012
    Reviewer: DIANE in Indiana
    * Simply amazing! This makes the best homemade pizza crust and brownies ever!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 01, 2012
    Reviewer: Rebecca in California
    * I use it as a flour sub in other recipes that call for regular flour like an old red velvet cake recipe from my mother and it turns out fantastic! Love this stuff.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 21, 2012
    Reviewer: Jennifer in New Mexico
    * A+ This is great the kids can't tell between this and the real thing. Oh and how it rises. I made pizza with this and it was amazing. Great find. We've tried the almond crust but it doesn't rise well even with yeast. But wow this did great!!! Very happy...taste is great! This makes me feel like I'm deprived of nothing! Thanks for such a great product :)
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 07, 2011
    Reviewer: Kenneth in New York
    * I make pancakes with a mixture of Carbalose flour and over the counter egg whites. I mix a quarter cup of water with a quarter cup of flour and 1/2 cup of egg whites. Shake/mix it well and it makes a breakfast halfway between a souffle and a pancake. Tastes great with sugar free syrup.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 December 26, 2010
    Reviewer: Tina in Connecticut
    * Love it....sure made the holiday baking easier for my pre-diabetic husband. It prevented him from eating all the wrong foods as long as I had some "replacements" available.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 02, 2010
    Reviewer: Daniel in New York
    * This stuff is great for those on a diet who love baking. Takes some getting used to on yeast increase, and I am having to combine Baking Powder with yeast in my breads to compensate.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 05, 2010
    Reviewer: heather in Florida
    * This is wonderful. Baked goods taste great, low carb and low fat. It's just great. Makes pie crust taste like the real deal and using it to coat things for frying is just great too would not use anything else.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 19, 2010
    Reviewer: Deidre in Texas
    * I am so happy to have found this wonderful product! We are now able to have real bread, and now I can make my famous fried chicken. How we have missed being able to eat some of the things we love - and Carbalose makes it possible.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 07, 2010
    Reviewer: Betty in Texas
    * This carbalose flour has been a spectacular addition to our low carb eating. It does such a good job of breading, so that we can actually fry in good oils. It works in the recipes we always have used--no after taste. We have really enjoyed it, and already are sharing the secret with family and friends to their delight.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 31, 2010
    Reviewer: Wendy in Indiana
    * I started buying this product a year ago after I tried the Carbquick mix and was so extremely satisfied with it. I make everything with this flour. I bake a lot of pies, and my family cannot tell I am using the low carb flour for the crust. I would highly recommend this to anyone. My husband was diagnosed with diabetes last year, and this has been a great aid in keeping our carb count down and helping him not to feel deprived.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 13, 2009
    Reviewer: Cynthia in South Carolina
    * We've enjoyed this product for a few years and love the many uses for this product. Taste is wonderful, and it is so easy to use. We have lost 70lbs between us while enjoying cookies, pancakes and so many baked goods and more. We highly recommend this product and thankful for the many recipes on the product site. Enjoy Cindy Tucker
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 12, 2009
    Reviewer: Valerie in Tennessee
    * I really like this flour since I have been on a low carb diet. You can make anything with this flour that you would with regular white flour.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 27, 2009
    Reviewer: Michael in Michigan
    * I wanted to express my opinion of this product. It is very very good. I have type 2 diabetes. I do not take medications for this condition. I severely limit my carb intake. My wife makes, among other things, pancakes with this flour. She uses eggs and cream in the recipe. There are no other carbs other than the flour. My BG readings after this meal are either not changed or go down because I ate a meal with practically zero carbs. I use Walden Farms pancake syrup. It is thicker and tastes better than Davinci. I am not bad mouthing the Davinci. It was all I had for years.

    Carbalose is priced right and I personally love the taste.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 16, 2009
    Reviewer: A customer in Ohio
    * If I could give this a 10, I would! I love to bake breads and baked goods for our own use and also for bake sales and for fish fry's. This product is definitely a staple in our house. We couldn't do a low carb food plan without it. I wish that the price were a bit lower in this economy, but I make this product one of our priorities, to keep it on hand.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 08, 2009
    Reviewer: Deb in California
    * Carbalose flour is the most economical way to bake low-carb breads. Use it to replace wheat flours in any recipe. There is a "different" taste to it, but it is not unpleasant and often it is disguised by the flavors of the rest of the recipe. I much prefer it to any soya taste in some baking mixes.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 09, 2009
    Reviewer: JEAN in Arizona
    * I just baked brownies using the traditional Betty Crocker recipe, using this flour and substituting Splenda for sugar, and they are delicious! I can't wait to bake more things with this product. This will make low carb living easier.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 06, 2009
    Reviewer: Rosalie in Oregon
    * The greatest low carb product I've ever used! I always mix it with a little regular flour, 1/2 or 1/3, because that way it makes a really superior tasting item with considerably lowered carbs. I'd hate to be without it for my from-scratch baking.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 27, 2009
    Reviewer: A customer in Michigan
    * Best flour substitute I've found, works well with everything I've tried.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 04, 2009
    Reviewer: Randolph in Louisiana
    * An invaluable staple for low-cab dieters.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 04, 2008
    Reviewer: laura in Illinois
    * We LOVE this product!!! My Husband & I enjoy cooking & baking together so, as we have been on lower carb/high fiber/low sodium lifestyles over 8 yrs. we read every label & are shocked at what gets thrown in supposedly "healthy" stuff! We've made cookies/bars, a thickener for gravies, many coffee cakes, a killer pound cake & a big old Bundt! I wish Local stores would sell this item.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 17, 2008
    Reviewer: Pamela in Florida
    * I used the flour to make a very old recipe from my Grandmother for Zuchinni bread. It was wonderful. Everyone loved it. No one knew anything was different!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 January 29, 2008
    Reviewer: Cyndi in New Jersey
    * This flour is amazing!! I have made Pie Crust, Pizza Crust, Biscuits, Cake and Shortbreads.. just to name a few uses and they ALL tasted as good as if I had used White Flour!! Even my 80 year old mother who loves to cook could not believe that the flour in my recipes is Low Carb with 80% less carbs than reg flour!!

    THIS ONE IS A KEEPER!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 22, 2007
    Reviewer: William in Oregon
    * This is an excellent product for people who need to restrict carbohydrate intake. It needs to be cooked a little hotter and longer than ordinary wheat flour. We make a baking mix by blending baking powder and Smart Balance Buttery spread. We fortify it with flax seed meal and wheat germ or oat bran.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 11, 2007
    Reviewer: Dawn in Minnesota
    * This is the absolute best low carb flour available. You can use it in any recipe as a substitute for regular flour, but start with about 3/4 cup Carbalose flour for every 1 cup regular flour called for, then stir in just enough more to make the batter the correct consistency. Makes great pancakes and waffles, muffins, breading base for fish or chicken, and can even make bread, although it doesn't rise quite the same.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 21, 2007
    Reviewer: Cathy in Maine
    * I don't know where us low-carbers would be without the Carbalose and Carbquik flours from Tova.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 28, 2007
    Reviewer: A customer in Colorado
    * I find this flour really easy to work with. It functions pretty much like regular white flour in making rues and sauces, batters for fried food and dredging. In baking, I too cut the full flour amount with almond or other nut flour, or coconut flour and even whey protein isolate sometimes to add body. I don't detect a taste difference. I'm just so thrilled to have a flour substitute for all of my low carb cooking!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 18, 2007
    Reviewer: karen in Arizona
    * Makes awesome waffles & pancakes!!!! As a low carb dieter, haven't had such good stuff in 4 years! Makes a good pie crust too! Still experimenting with breads... or thinking about experimenting....
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 18, 2007
    Reviewer: Robert in Georgia
    * Marvelous stuff. I use it for pancakes mostly.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2016 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.