Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 January 08, 2012
    Reviewer: Linda in North Carolina
    * Oh my goodness. This pancake mix is unbelievably delicious. Super easy to make, these pancakes are light and fluffy. They are also super friendly to my blood sugar (I am diabetic). I eat them with sugar free blueberry syrup and it is like eating dessert for dinner. Cannot recommend this product enough and I do not like most low carb products. One tip----I added a little extra water to thin out the batter---first time I made these I followed the instructions exactly and my pancakes were large and thick---and did not cook completely in the middle. I added a little extra water next time which gave me more pancakes and they cooked through perfectly. I am now ordering 4 more packages!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 November 23, 2008
    Reviewer: Lori in Kansas
    * Excellent pancakes! These are much better than the pancakes using Carbquick mix.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 February 02, 2007
    Reviewer: JoAnne in New Jersey
    * Great product. I'm on low carb diet and made waffles. So incredibly light. They also can be refrigerated and used next day in toaster and still taste great. It's a nice breakfast treat and also great with low carb ice cream!!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 April 13, 2014
    Reviewer: John in South Carolina
    * Here's how to make a mix appear to be low-carb. On the package, show a serving size that would leave a mouse hungry after eating it. The package displays carb levels for a serving of "3" pancakes. However, mixing the amount of flour for that serving yields barely enough batter to make 3 "silver dollar" pancakes -- nowhere near 3 normal-sized ones.

    Taste wasn't bad, but the texture was spongy. Will not buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 December 15, 2013
    Reviewer: Pamela in Illinois
    * I LOVE this stuff. I usually passed up on pancakes in the restaurants to begin with, but then I turned to the low carb lifestyle and you know what they say. You always want what you can't have. I decided to give this a try and oh my! Am I glad I did! I use equal amounts of heavy cream vs water and butter vs oil, to give it a 'buttermilk' taste and it does the trick! If you can use cream/butter instead I recommend that. Great pancake substitute!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 October 01, 2012
    Reviewer: Kerry in Texas
    * Amazing! Bought this last week and had my first pancakes since starting Atkins in Jan 2012. Added fresh blueberries and 1 tsp of that Maltitol syrup and real butter. Tasted like homemade organic whole wheat pancakes you might get at your local earthy organic cafe. I'm buying MORE!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    4/5 November 09, 2011
    Reviewer: Merry in Utah
    * I tried these pancakes for the first time today, and would like to share a few observations. On the whole, they are good, particularly for folks like me who cannot eat "regular" pancakes any more.

    The batter behaved very well, holding its texture long enough for me to cook a double batch--I did not have to keep thinning it as I have had to do with other LC pancake mixes.

    I thought that the taste was a little bit bland, so I added a dash of salt to the batter after the first batch. I also found the pancake texture to be a little on the dry side. This might have been because I didn't adjust for high altitude (about 4,250' in Salt Lake City). I am not a fan of syrup, so instead, I used butter and SF jam. Next time I will try making the batter with buttermilk, half & half, or with Hood's Calorie Countdown (aka Carb Countdown) "milk."

    One thing to be aware of is that my pancakes didn't develop bubbles on the top surface while the first side was cooking. Normally these bubbles are a sign that the cakes are ready to flip. The lack of bubbles might also be due to the altitude, but first time users should do fine if they keep an eye out for burning on the underside, and just flip when golden brown.

    All in all, a very pleasant change from eggs and bacon, for someone on a very carb-restricted diet. I will make them again, and will probably buy the mix again, too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    4/5 August 24, 2008
    Reviewer: Jason in Georgia
    * I like these waffles. I added cinnamon, and 1 tbsp of vanilla extract to boost the flavor a bit.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 April 04, 2016
    Reviewer: michael in Massachusetts
    * Wow this pancake mix is great. Had pancakes for breakfast yesterday first time I had pancakes in months.Outstanding! Went great with the Joesphs Sugar-free Maple syrup. Now I can look forward to a nice change of pace for breakfast occasionally.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 April 21, 2012
    Reviewer: Alan in Ohio
    * Here's the deal: Does Big Train taste exactly like regular pancakes? No, they don't. But, boy, it's close enough for me, a long-time low carber, to enjoy the heck out of my weekly pancake breakfast. I would recommend Big Train mix to anyone needing an occasional pancake/waffle treat without the guilt. Just ordered more and imagine I will continue ordering more well into the future.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 March 14, 2012
    Reviewer: Carol in North Carolina
    * OM-Gosh!! You Nailed it Big Train. I order the Pancake Mix to make Low Carb Pancakes. I gave Big Train a try ..... OMG, I could not believe how amazing they were. I added a few blueberries to the mix and some Syrup. I still have a Smile on my face and breakfast was hours ago!! This product won't disappoint the low-carbers. I just ordered 5 more bags!!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 March 10, 2011
    Reviewer: A customer in New York
    * I never write product reviews, but as soon as I ate these pancakes I had to sit down and recommend them to everyone else. These pancakes taste 99% like the real deal - I doubt I could tell the difference if a diner served them as real, high-carb pancakes. I eat them with Maple Grove syrup. Amazing!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 February 04, 2011
    Reviewer: Abigail in Massachusetts
    * Best pancake/waffle mix I have found. I haven't made pancakes with it, I make waffles. If I make the whole bag it will make 12 big Belgian waffles. I freeze the extras and then when I want one I just put it in the toaster. These are the best low carb waffles I have found. My five year old loves them and he doesn't put anything on them just eats them plain. I have the worlds pickiest five year old but when it comes to these waffles he loves them!! I order these every time I place a order. It is nice to eat waffles with my family and Big Train products have made it very easy to stick to my low carb lifestyle!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 August 23, 2010
    Reviewer: Alicia in Ohio
    * This stuff is just great! As a recently diagnosed diabetic I cannot tell you how happy I am to have found this product. I just tested my post-breakfast blood sugar and I'm at 121. That sold me on this product. I promptly bought 2 more packages. Thanks so much to the makers of this product. I felt a bit overwhelmed by my diagnosis but with yummy items like this I can eat low carb, not feel deprived and not worry about my blood sugar!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 February 01, 2008
    Reviewer: Lynn in Florida
    * Outstanding light, fluffy waffles and pancakes; no low-carb aftertaste that I (or my brunch guests) could detect. Make an extra batch and freeze them. They are just as good from the toaster oven days, weeks, even months later.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 March 31, 2007
    Reviewer: Diane in New Hampshire
    * These are the best low carb pancakes out there. I add a little bit of cinnamon to the mix and eat them with sugar free syrup. They taste just like high carb pancakes and the batter cooks up nicely as well...not too thick. I highly recommend this product, personally I can't live without it - it's my weekend treat from cereal.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    4/5 August 14, 2009
    Reviewer: Mary in Arkansas
    * This product makes very good pancakes, but after mixing up the mix, it needs to sit for a minute to thicken. This should be on the instructions because it makes a difference. The flavor and texture of the pancakes are just like regular pancakes. The reason the product gets a 4 is because there are a lot of carbs (7) per serving. I'd like to see it down to under 5 per serving.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    3/5 July 21, 2007
    Reviewer: A customer in Arkansas
    * These pancake were ok, but they were kind of tasteless.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    2/5 January 07, 2012
    Reviewer: Amy in Tennessee
    * Man i was so looking forward to liking these but i'm with the crowd that these tasted horrible to. It was actually the initial taste when you first put in your mouth- cant decribe it but almost made me want to gag. After a couple chews it tastes ok, i guess- mostly b\c of the butter & syrup covering up the taste. Bummer......
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 June 05, 2015
    Reviewer: Laurie in Colorado
    * Tastes like the way cardboard smells. Texture is like moist cardboard. It is better than pancakes made with Carbquik, but that's not saying much...
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 June 08, 2010
    Reviewer: A customer in California
    * Ok, I think there are people writing fake reviews for this product. There is no way that only 2 people gave this mix 1 star.

    The Maple Grove mix taste like regular waffles whereas Big Train taste really wrong.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 January 01, 2010
    Reviewer: sheila in California
    * Just horrible!! They look nice when you make them, but the taste is just awful. I can't explain it...it is like this doughy aftertaste that makes taking another bite pure misery. I didn't want to waste the pancakes, but I ended up throwing them away.

    I can't believe other people gave 5 stars...

    Stay Away!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 September 30, 2008
    Reviewer: A customer in New Jersey
    * I bought this based on reviews on this site. Unfortunately I found them to be very wrong. Although the pancakes looked like the proper consistency, they were awful! I put a very small amount of the sugar free syrup on the side and only dipped the pancakes into the syrup and it still didn't help. The consistency is like wet foam! I threw the pancakes away. I have been on low-carb for 5 years and still couldn't stomach these.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 September 17, 2007
    Reviewer: patricia in Maryland
    * Read the reviews so thought I'd give it a try. Cannot believe people thought this was good. Awful taste. I eat sugar free low carb all the time and this was bad. Oh well, maybe I got a couple bad batches. Hushpuppie mix makes much better pancakes using only water and the mix.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 02, 2016
    Reviewer: Sharon in Louisiana
    * I make waffles with this product and use the Walden Farms pancake syrup on them. They are fantastic! I make one package at a time and freeze them which makes for a quick breakfast that lasts a long time.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 27, 2016
    Reviewer: David in Michigan
    * These are the best low carb pancake and waffle mix. Tastes just like the high carb pancake and waffles.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 12, 2016
    Reviewer: Dianna in Minnesota
    * Absolutely delicious. Couldn't tell it was low in carb. Definitely worth the money.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 04, 2016
    Reviewer: Linda in North Carolina
    * These were actually good to my surprise since many low carb products are terrible. Just felt they were lacking salt so next time I'll add 1/4 tsp. But they were worth buying!!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 14, 2016
    Reviewer: Lydia in Florida
    * I have tried several brands of low carb mix and this is the best! I just ordered 4 more bags and will order more! Love Love Love!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 12, 2016
    Reviewer: Karoline in Texas
    * These make the BEST low carb pancakes hands down. I've tried so many other things, like almond/coconut flour so I was skeptical if I was ever going to find a good pancake mix and alas I did! They don't taste 100% like pancakes, but they are very similar and have the same texture! Maybe a little rubbery but I love them. I top them with 1-2 tsp of agave nectar, whip cream, and strawberries. The only thing I would change about the product is the price. It should be cheaper or the package should be bigger.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 20, 2016
    Reviewer: Angela in Florida
    * I love this pancake mix! It comes out so perfect you wouldn't know the difference between this and any other regular mix. This is my go to when I need a special treat and pray they never discontinue!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 11, 2015
    Reviewer: Kelley in Florida
    * Absolutely yummy!!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 21, 2015
    Reviewer: Carole in Florida
    * These pancakes are delicious! Use sugar-free syrup and you have a great low carb breakfast. Great with blueberries added too.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 20, 2015
    Reviewer: A customer in New York
    * I love this pancake mix. I have made almond meal, and regular pancakes from scratch but this mix really is a life saver. Quick and easy tastes great and reheat wonderfully the next day. They make great "faux" mcgriddles!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 15, 2015
    Reviewer: Terre in Washington
    * This mix is light and filling. I love the taste. My husband is now eating them, and he stated this morning that "these are quite tasty my dear"! If he likes them it is a winner. the flavor and texture are so good, and I am a real carb watcher so I am thrilled that there is only 7 carbs per serving.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 21, 2015
    Reviewer: irma in Georgia
    * Great product....light and fluffy. Very filling. One of the best low carb pancake mixtures out there.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 17, 2015
    Reviewer: A customer in Georgia
    * These taste amazing, and I actually prefer them to regular pancakes...regardless of carbs! My 4 year old son thinks they are delicious too. I found them to be surprisingly moist, with a very fluffy but substantial texture. Best low carb product I have found lately, and I just ordered 3 more of them! Highly recommend!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 22, 2015
    Reviewer: NANCY in California
    * Bought this product some time ago and just decided to try it after trying a low carb bisquick type product (that never cooked fully)

    These were the BEST pancakes ever and no one would ever know they are low carb.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 11, 2015
    Reviewer: Nancy in Indiana
    * Love these pancakes!! I've been buying this pancake mix for about three years now. Like others have said, they taste just as good as regular pancakes. I add a teaspoon of vanilla to the mix. I also use half water and half cream.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 16, 2015
    Reviewer: Elaine in Illinois
    * Wow, Did I say WOW! Tastes BETTER than the real non lo carb pancake. I will be ordering this again. I cannot believe this is Lo Carb!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 17, 2015
    Reviewer: doug in California
    * These are very good for low carb pancakes then put use some Walden Farms syrup and you have a winner.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 16, 2015
    Reviewer: Elaine in Florida
    * Bought this pancake mix with great trepidation. But to my great & happy surprise, it is delicious. One would never know that the mix is a low-carb product. Am buying more so we don't run out.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 01, 2015
    Reviewer: Larissa in Virginia
    * I've tried so many different low carb pancake recipes and mixes. None of them compare to the real thing.... Until now! This is the best!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 16, 2015
    Reviewer: Amy in Illinois
    * Even better than the regular mixes. Light and fluffy - Great with sugar free Hershey chocolate chips in them with a side of sliced strawberries.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 10, 2015
    Reviewer: cynthia in Massachusetts
    * I have not had pancakes for years! These mix easy and taste great with a low carb maple syrup. I was able to get three meals for two people out of each bag. I added bananas to a batch for my partner who needs the carbs and he loved them. I take two bags for a 10 day boat trip for two and use them for second breakfast at 0930 after 2 hours of snorkling so I burn up the carbs.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 08, 2015
    Reviewer: Mattie in Florida
    * I tried the Low Carb Buttermilk Pancake and Waffle Mix (Big Train) and shared it with my sister-in-laws who loved it as much as I did. The taste and texture is great. The amazing thing about this pancake experience is I have never used low carb pancake mix.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 07, 2015
    Reviewer: Bonnie in Kansas
    * Delicious pancakes! I would never guess this was a low carb product.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 06, 2015
    Reviewer: Alieka in Georgia
    * These were the best pancakes. I added some vanilla extract, cinnamon, and a little baking powder to them to make them light and flavorful. Even my 15 year old son liked them and he is the Aunt Jemima pancake King but he enjoyed these delicious low carb pancakes. These pancakes are by far the best I have ever made!!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 03, 2015
    Reviewer: Rosalie in Maryland
    * Wow this made such light and fluffy belgian waffles! The package made 8 for me and they are delicious! I froze most of them and just pop them in the toaster oven and they taste fresh made. I've found that I enjoy them for lunch with just some butter on them.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 23, 2015
    Reviewer: Allana in Minnesota
    * These are so good! Yum yum.. I missed pancakes. I don't necessarily do low carb (I carb cycle so some days low and some days high) but its nice to know if I'm craving pancakes on a low day I can have some!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 21, 2015
    Reviewer: JP in North Carolina
    * I have tried just about every pancake mix (low carb) that I could have possibly tried and this one is the absolute best hands down. I could have eaten the entire package in one sitting. I even left out the oil when making them and it still was just delicious. I have never, and I mean never tasted a low carb mix this good. It is absolutely wonderful and doesn't make me miss those high carb breakfast foods at all. Love it.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 15, 2015
    Reviewer: DOLORES in New Jersey
    * This product is the best I have found. It is truly like regular pancakes. Try it, you will like it.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 17, 2014
    Reviewer: Wendy in Florida
    * One word....D=E=L=I=C=I=O=U=S !!!!!....worth every penny!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 19, 2014
    Reviewer: Anne in Minnesota
    * This arrived in the mail only 3 days ago and I have already used it twice. These pancakes are amazing! Light, fluffy, easy to make and taste yummy! No "diet" or "healthy" taste at all. I added a packet of Stevia to both batches and also dressed one of the batches up with some cinnamon.. AWESOME! I'm ordering more of these today!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 06, 2014
    Reviewer: A customer in Ohio
    * Yummy. I am finicky about pancakes. These are really good. I like mine sweet, to I added a bit of splenda to the batter. Have not made the waffles yet.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 05, 2014
    Reviewer: Maralyn in California
    * Wow! My husband, a southerner, a diabetic, new to low carbing, and resident skeptic, gave these pancakes 6 stars!!! I was floored! He said that they were light, tasty, a little crispy around the edges, and better than the pancakes he'd had the day before (that he shouldn't have). I was even leary when he tried his first one without any of the Sugar Free Nature's Hollow syrup (which we absolutely love...no funny aftertaste)! I did take to heart the other reviewers and added some baking powder and subbed the butter for the oil. Now, he wants me to order a case...go figure!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 14, 2014
    Reviewer: Melody in Pennsylvania
    * This product is FANTASTIC!!! I added cinnamon to the mix and used Mrs. Butterworth's Sugar Free Syrup (which I also by on this site)! NEEDS 10 STARS!!! PLEASE...do not discontinue!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 24, 2014
    Reviewer: A customer in Wisconsin
    * These were great. They were so much better than other low carb recipes we have tried.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 07, 2014
    Reviewer: Jane in Florida
    * The pancakes are super easy and very good. I throw in some sugar free chocolate chips and use sugar free syrup and it is a terrific breakfast.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 04, 2014
    Reviewer: Mary in Rhode Island
    * I loved these pancakes. I did however, adjust a bit. I added 1 tsp of baking powder and used milk (or half cream half water), instead of water. I think this made them much lighter (the baking soda), and more flavorful with the milk. We also added fresh raspberries. YUM!

    They taste delicious, crispy edges..a lot like homemade from scratch with regular flour. I would recommend these to anyone and am off to buy more right now! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 29, 2014
    Reviewer: Mary in Rhode Island
    * I just tried these for breakfast this morning and they were really delicious! I added a touch of baking powder which made the mix puff up. The pancakes were very light and fluffy and tasted like my homemade. I will definitely buy this mix again. Loved it!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 30, 2014
    Reviewer: DeMarla in Michigan
    * This is my second time ordering it. It tastes GREAT, you can not tell it is low carb!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 04, 2014
    Reviewer: Jan in Washington
    * Our Family is doing a low-carb diet and these pancakes tasted just like regular pancakes. We enjoyed with sugar-free maple syrup and had 2 3" pancakes for a great tasting low-carb breakfast.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 26, 2014
    Reviewer: michael in Wisconsin
    * We tried a bag of this mix as a test...we both love pancakes but due to my health we had given up eating pancakes. When I came across this low carb mix I was somewhat skeptical but we decided to give it a try and today I put in an order for 6 more bags of mix. These are good and now we get to enjoy occasional pancake breakfast again. We enjoy these with the Walden Farm syrup which is also very good.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 21, 2014
    Reviewer: Sally in California
    * Best low-carb pancake mix I have tried. Looks & tastes great!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 01, 2014
    Reviewer: Faye in Oregon
    * I've been doing low carb for a year now and seen an episode on food network about pancakes. From that moment on I was CRAVING pancakes. I ordered the big train brand and they were very good. The sugar free maple syrup on top was incredible. I felt guilty like I was cheating but the scale still went down. I just ordered my second bag. Yay! Thanks big train!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 12, 2014
    Reviewer: Gladys in North Carolina
    * These pancakes are great, I loved them
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 02, 2014
    Reviewer: steve in California
    * Great tasting. They cook up nice and fluffy. I gave some to my mom and wife and they could not tell that they were low carb. This will be the only pancake I will use as I love pancakes and waffles. I bought 3 more packages.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 06, 2013
    Reviewer: J in Virginia
    * A very good mix for both pancakes and waffles. The flavor is excellent, the texture pretty good, compared to a flour/buttermilk scratch waffle or pancake. I "cut" it a bit sometimes with Carbquik (never more than 25%) to extend the bag, and it doesn't hurt the flavor much.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 22, 2013
    Reviewer: Lorraine in Colorado
    * These are wonderful! They taste just like traditional pancakes. The texture is a bit thinner and dryer, but even my husband thought they were great.

    Perfect with Walden Farms Pancake Syrup.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 24, 2013
    Reviewer: Barbara in Florida
    * Absolutely delicious pancakes. I don't add the oil. For 4 pancakes I use 1/4 cup mix 1/8 cup egg beaters or (Great Value Egg Makers) and 1/4 Cup water. I mix with a small whisk and use spray oil on griddle. Easy Fast and good. Add walden farms pancake syrup for a low cal breakfast.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 23, 2013
    Reviewer: casey in Louisiana
    * Awesome! Made only pancakes but great. Good thing is you can cook them ahead of time, and heat them up the next day. They still taste great!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 08, 2013
    Reviewer: MIchael in Louisiana
    * So easy and so good.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 14, 2013
    Reviewer: J Ron in California
    * Great tasting pancakes! I am on a low carb diet and now I can enjoy good tasting pancakes again for breakfast!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 31, 2013
    Reviewer: stella in Michigan
    * This is a great product, I have been buying it for a long time. It tastes just like regular pancakes to me. I do add a lot more water to mix as I prefer thin, light pancakes. I also use Walden Farms pancake syrup, it's almost as thick as regular syrup and very tasty. and zero carbs.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 23, 2013
    Reviewer: jessica in California
    * Makes excellent fluffy pancakes! I wish they had a larger sized bag.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 14, 2013
    Reviewer: Janet in Illinois
    * I just made some blueberry pancakes with this mix and it was wonderful. As good as any pancake mix I have ever had. I am usually very wary of any of these low carb mixes as they usually remind me of glue or styrofoam. This mix is great and I am a professional cook.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 21, 2013
    Reviewer: Christine in Nevada
    * My boyfriend surprised me with pancakes. I did not know they were Big Train. They were the lightest, fluffiest, tastiest pancakes I have EVER had. That is saying alot. Amazing!!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 02, 2013
    Reviewer: theresa in New York
    * I ordered this because my boyfriend has diabetes and I wanted him to still be able to have pancakes. I am happy to say that this pancake mix is great. Tastes as good as any regular pancake mix. 5 stars *****
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 03, 2013
    Reviewer: Dolores in New York
    * I have attempted to make my own low carb pancakes, Not very successful.. I found & ordered Big train. I am completely impressed and love this mix. Waffles are terrific, same with pancakes. Have just ordered 6 more bags. So happy to have found the Big Train products and your web site.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 02, 2013
    Reviewer: Susan in Illinois
    * Big Train pancake and waffle mix tastes great! I add a little extra salt though. The pancakes are just like regular pancakes. The waffle mix can be made lighter if you separate the egg whites and whip them separately to form peaks. Then fold the whites into the batter which was prepared with the remaining ingredients.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 18, 2013
    Reviewer: Randy in West Virginia
    * I've bought this product several times. My son who is not on a low carb diet can't tell the difference. Pancakes are amazing, the waffles are really good too. A little pricey, but most low carb products are.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 17, 2013
    Reviewer: Brenda in Washington
    * My husband and I love this pancake mix! Filling and satisfying!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 15, 2013
    Reviewer: Virginia in Georgia
    * This is awesome!!!! Tastes just like regular pancakes when you make them. I add almond flour to mine to make the carb count even lower; and I think it tastes even better...kind of nutty. Thanks for letting me experience pancakes again! I'm fixing waffles for breakfast tomorrow!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 12, 2013
    Reviewer: Bonita in Florida
    * The best! My husband and I are on a low carb diet and this product is great. We fix the pancakes with banana flavoring and pecan pieces. Add sugar free syrup and YUM!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 11, 2013
    Reviewer: Marilyn in Illinois
    * The pancakes are great! I ordered this product for the second time and know I will again.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 01, 2013
    Reviewer: Pamela in Louisiana
    * Excellent product. We have purchased this several times.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 25, 2012
    Reviewer: Deanna in Tennessee
    * Wow......hard to believe this is low carb, tastes like you are eating "real" pancakes.....wonderful!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 13, 2012
    Reviewer: A customer in New Mexico
    * These are so good and so easy to make!!! Did I mention these were so good?! Taste just like high-carb pancakes!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 31, 2012
    Reviewer: Dale in Montana
    * This is by far the best low carb pancake mix on the market. It has the right texture and taste. The batter is really indistinguishable from regular pancake batter and the pancakes and waffles come out perfect.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 10, 2012
    Reviewer: Barbara in Oklahoma
    * Great waffles! Have added things like the organic pumpkin found here, sugar free versions of choc chips, peanut butter, cherry and apple pie fillings. Haven't had a bad waffle yet. Love this mix! As good as any waffle you would find anywhere. Never tried making pancakes. Just a waffle person at heart.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 05, 2012
    Reviewer: Mark in California
    * After testing out several low carb pancake mixes, I find this the best by far. Easy to prepare and comes out delicious every time!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 28, 2012
    Reviewer: Debra in Texas
    * When my husband started on insulin, I bought him this mix, some sugar-free maple syrup, and a waffle maker. He thought it would taste like "diet food", but boy was he surprised! Now it's his go-to daily breakfast meal.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 04, 2012
    Reviewer: Donald in New York
    * One of the better low-carb pancake mixes out there.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 15, 2012
    Reviewer: Elana in Florida
    * I can't help but think that the few people who gave this product a bad review did something wrong in the cooking process. These pancakes are fantastic. If you are low carbing and want pancakes, try these!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 30, 2012
    Reviewer: vesta in Ohio
    * I love the pancake's. They are better than any pancake I have ever had. I can't wait till my day off so I can make pancakes. Have lost 25 lbs so far.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 02, 2012
    Reviewer: Don in Arkansas
    * Great tasting, easy to prepare.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 25, 2012
    Reviewer: Laura in Georgia
    * Delicious! My kids eat them as the regular ones. In fact, my 3 year old little girl prefers "Mommy's pancakes" (Big Train). I use sugar-free maple syrup. We just ordered 3 more packages for our Sunday's breakfast.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 17, 2012
    Reviewer: A customer in Ohio
    * I love this product. I substitute the oil for applesauce and the eggs for egg whites, and the recipe is extremely low calorie for pancakes. The texture inside is different than your classic pancake, but tastes incredible.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 13, 2012
    Reviewer: Yvonne in Minnesota
    * These are absolutely amazing! I have always been a pancake/waffle/french toast lover, and this low-carb lifestyle really curbed my breakfast options. I tried this, with Walden's syrup, and I just about cried with delight. Okay, I'm a little more in control of my emotions than that, but even my husband loved them. We pankcaked the first day (I added an extra egg and one extra egg yolk because I prefer the chewy German-style pfannekuchen), and we waffled it day two (I added a heaping tablespoon of sour cream and vanilla). I'm drooling just thinking about them. When I ran low, I added a little Carbo Quick and decided I'd never do that again. Part of the concoction is stuck to my waffle maker. The part that I ate convinced me I'll never insult Big Train with it again. I buy this stuff in bulk now. (I wouldn't mind if they'd lower the price. OUCH!)
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 21, 2012
    Reviewer: Patricia in South Carolina
    * Wonderful taste and fluffy like we like them. I added a little vanilla flavoring for extra flavor. Highly recommend!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 17, 2012
    Reviewer: Sarah in Illinois
    * These are an awesome breakfast. Something other than EGGS!!! They are light and fluffy great with sugarfree syrup!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 28, 2012
    Reviewer: SHIRLEY in California
    * This was the best low carb pancake mix I have tried and I have tried quite a few!! Most like the real thing. I have recommended this to all of my family looking for low carb alternatives.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 15, 2012
    Reviewer: Gina in Maine
    * I really like this mix, much better than anything I have tried yet.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 06, 2011
    Reviewer: Nia in New York
    * We went low carb in June. We have been pretty good (except for Moscato which put 3 pounds of fat on me before I figured it out), but with young children in the house sometimes you just want some pancakes. These were just as delicious as say, Bisquik, but won't do Bisquik damage to my waistline. The only thing to be aware of is the serving size is only three 3" pancakes (9 servings per package), but I was full on that amount and with the addition of sausage, eggs or bacon anyone who needs a lot of food to feel full should be content. I will try Carbquik next to see if pancakes made from that mix are as delicious.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 04, 2011
    Reviewer: Charisse in Arizona
    * All I can say is Low Carbing just got easier. I made pancakes and they were outstanding. The appearance, taste, texture were dead on for regular pancakes. I will make sure to always keep a supply on hand.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 10, 2011
    Reviewer: Elizabeth in Georgia
    * Yummm! These are great. I wasn't paying attention and dumped the whole box in the mixing bowl, so I ended up making a full batch (the instructions are for small servings) and froze them. They held up great in the freezer! According to my husband who can eat whatever he likes, they don't taste like his real buttermilk pancakes ( and I have to agree ) but for a low carb substitute this is great!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 04, 2011
    Reviewer: Douglas in Texas
    * Taste better than regular pancakes.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 30, 2011
    Reviewer: JOHN in Illinois
    * Very, very good, and the recipe is simple. I cut the calories by 20% by substituting 2 egg whites for one egg, and by reducing the oil from 1 tablespoon to 2 teaspoons - with no difference in taste that I can detect.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 25, 2011
    Reviewer: A customer in California
    * Actually has no taste, but cooks up like flour type. No weird after taste.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 04, 2011
    Reviewer: Diana in North Carolina
    * I only make pancakes when we have company, so I finish the cooking with a little batch of these for me. Sometimes hubby sneaks over and grabs a couple of mine-- he says they're better than the regular high carb ones! (and yes, I love them,too!)
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 20, 2011
    Reviewer: Kevin in South Carolina
    * These are the best low-carb pancakes I've tried. They aren't quite as 'fluffy' as the real deal but they defiantly tickle my pancake funny bone.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 12, 2011
    Reviewer: Barry in New York
    * This mix makes great pancakes. I can not tell the difference between Big Train and a non low carb mix. They are smooth and fluffy, ad quite easy to make. I usually use half the amount of oil that the recipe calls for, and I use Egg Beaters instead of a real egg, and they are still really good, but less fat and cholesterol.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 03, 2011
    Reviewer: Judy in California
    * Only bought one package of this mix to try it out, and it was EXCELLENT! I will definitely buy this again. Made blueberry pancakes and even my husband absolutely loved them. Highly recommended!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 29, 2011
    Reviewer: Susan in Delaware
    * I tried this today for the first time and am so happy I did. The pancakes are good! Not a dead ringer for the old high carb version but very, very good nonetheless! I will be ordering these again no question!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 15, 2011
    Reviewer: Holly in California
    * These pancakes were simply amazing! The batter allowed me to make them paper thin which gave them a great browning effect. They didn't even need any syrup- and left me feeling full. I would highly recommend!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 23, 2011
    Reviewer: Melissa in Ohio
    * This mix makes WONDERFUL pancakes!! I make the entire package at one time, and then have pancakes to keep in the refrigerator for the week. They reheat very well in the microwave. This has been a great find for me; I had been missing pancakes and waffles so much, and these are great!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 20, 2011
    Reviewer: A customer in California
    * Tastes much better than carb quick. In fact, you don't have to be a low carber to eat them. They taste great to everyone!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 15, 2011
    Reviewer: Matthew in Idaho
    * This stuff is great. Cardboard, NO, tasty, YES!! Seriously, it tastes like the real thing and is easy to mix up. I usually cook up the whole bag, makes about 9 waffles and freeze the left overs so I can have waffles on the go. I have even used them as a low carb bread substitute for a sandwich - tastes like a Monte Cristo. I've tried just about everything associated with this brand name and believe me - you can't go wrong.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 30, 2011
    Reviewer: Tara in Illinois
    * Awesome taste and makes fantastic waffles. They are nice and crisp like a "real" waffle. They don't crumble like some other low carb waffle/pancake mixes I have tried.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 27, 2011
    Reviewer: Christina in New York
    * These taste just like regular pancakes!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 24, 2011
    Reviewer: Taylor in Illinois
    * love this product. I haven't had pancakes in three years until i tried this product and they are just what I was missing!! I recommend making them a little thinner and cook them on a lower heat than you would with regular pancakes. enjoy!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 20, 2011
    Reviewer: Terry in Illinois
    * What a treat!!! My family loved these. We used the Maple Grove butter, maple syrup with it and we thought they were delicious. Ordered 4 more today!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 14, 2011
    Reviewer: Jacquqeline in Missouri
    * This is the best low-carb pancake mix I've tried. Make exactly as package directions ask and you will have light, fluffy pancakes. I add frozen blueberries right before cooking, bananas and fresh strawberries. Really yummy. Just wish the mix came in larger amounts.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 04, 2011
    Reviewer: Paul in Florida
    * The one thing I was worried about in taking on a low carb diet was my pancakes for breakfast. Well, that concern has now been relieved thanks to this pancake mix. For being low carb, they are delicious! They rise nicely, and the consistency is that of a real pancake! Pair it with Joseph's sugar free syrup, and you have one heck of a yummy pancake breakfast. I will definitely be buying more!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 20, 2010
    Reviewer: A customer in Washington
    * Add my vote for these. They make the best, authentic tasting pancakes. No hint of odd flavors or aftertaste. It tastes and feels every bit as good as traditional pancakes and fills that craving for me very nicely. I also noticed that they settled well for me, where as traditional pancakes always were difficult for me to digest. Love, love, love these things and will certainly buy more.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 12, 2010
    Reviewer: Nikki in New Mexico
    * If you didn't read the package you wouldn't think these were low carb. My husband even liked them and he is super picky and doesn't like "diet" foods. This is his first time to try the low carb diet and he is doing well.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 09, 2010
    Reviewer: A customer in Virginia
    * AWESOME! Tastes just like regular pancakes if you put syrup on them. I almost feel guilty eating them!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 07, 2010
    Reviewer: David in Colorado
    * Fantastic product. Far better than the competition. Gives a similar texture and lacy cooking pattern of regular pancakes. This is the ONLY pancake product I would recommend.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 26, 2010
    Reviewer: Colette C in Florida
    * I thought I'd have to give up pancakes with low-carbing but these are absolutely wonderful and don't spike my blood sugar. I always make the entire package at once, then freeze them and just reheat in the microwave. Excellent!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 18, 2010
    Reviewer: Lynne in Wisconsin
    * I have been buying these for a year. They taste just like regular pancakes! Put it with Mrs. Butterworth's SF Syrup and you have a great meal. We make the whole package (makes about 10 pancakes) and refrigerate the extra. My husband warms them in the toaster for breakfast.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 15, 2010
    Reviewer: ELIZABETH in Arizona
    * This is the best low carb pancake we have found. Both of us need to limit our carb intake and this is a delicious way to fulfill our cravings for pancakes for breakfast
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 02, 2010
    Reviewer: A customer in Pennsylvania
    * Tastes good!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 01, 2010
    Reviewer: trravis in Florida
    * Great mix. I substituted the whole egg and oil for two egg whites and turned out great, just another way to cut fat and cholesterol out.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 01, 2010
    Reviewer: Donna in Michigan
    * This is a must have for low carbers. We have tried soooo many pancake recipes, whey, almond, ricotta...nothing compares to these. Very much like the real thing. My kids love them too.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 24, 2010
    Reviewer: Barry in New York
    * These pancakes are great. I have served them to my wife and kids and they had no idea they were low carb, and they loved them. I am very picky about my pancakes and they are just very good. If you make too many, you can put them in the fridge and have them a few days later and they still taste great. Can also freeze them as well.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 21, 2010
    Reviewer: Sue in Tennessee
    * We make a very thin crepe with this once a week and use ricotta and goat cheese filling with Splenda, excellent light texture of the mix, works great. Only thing I wish it were available in larger quantities at a time.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 27, 2010
    Reviewer: Cheryl in Florida
    * I was skeptical but as it turned out, there was no need. Even my husband, who is not a diabetic, enjoyed these pancakes.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 14, 2010
    Reviewer: A customer in Arizona
    * Very good product. Wish they sold it in a bigger package.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 10, 2010
    Reviewer: A customer in Missouri
    * This makes a great waffle, better than full-carb waffles I previously made at home from scratch. Please note - the recipe on the back of the package makes TWO servings, but it doesn't specifically state that. So keep that in mind.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 05, 2010
    Reviewer: Beverly in Massachusetts
    * Excellent product. My trainer advised me to add thinly sliced apples, cinnamon and vanilla to the pancake batter and it was just delicious. But I truly like it plain as it has a great taste and texture..
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 16, 2010
    Reviewer: Catherine in Michigan
    * I just ordered and tried this product for the first time today. I was very pleasantly surprised at how good these pancakes tasted! No weird aftertaste or smell. I think I even like them better than some regular pancake mixes I've tried in the past. I added a bit of vanilla extract for more flavor. I wouldn't have known they were low carb if I wasn't told. I love that I didn't feel overly full after eating them, either. I would definitely recommend these. Great product!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 21, 2010
    Reviewer: Dave in Florida
    * So far the best Pancake and Waffle mix I've found. Everything else I've tried has that card board taste, or is spongy like in texture. This mix is pretty close to traditional flour pancakes.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 30, 2010
    Reviewer: Laura in New Hampshire
    * Absolutely Fabulous!~ How can 111 reviews be wrong..... Thanks Big train for your most excellent product. Yes.... I already ordered two more.... and will continue to order more as I run out. EXCELLENT TASTE, EXCELLENT TEXTURE, EXCELLENT PERIOD!~ My husband loves these pancakes!~
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 28, 2010
    Reviewer: A customer in Idaho
    * FAB U LOUS! light and fluffy. You can definitely taste the buttermilk- not bland at all! Couldn't tell the difference between this mix and regular carb loaded buttermilk mixes. Try them with a little sugar free raspberry DaVinci or Torani syrup and whipped topping for a low carb treat- YUM!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 28, 2010
    Reviewer: Katarina in Pennsylvania
    * I have been on a Low Carb Diet for a few years now, and Big Train Low Carb Buttermilk Pancake and Waffle Mix tastes better then any other pancakes I have ever eaten. Ever since I have been on the Low Carb Diet, I have craved sweet foods. I also got really sick of eating eggs and bacon or sausage for breakfast! The first time I ordered any type of pancake mix I got one package of Maple Grove Farms Sugar Free Pancake and Waffle Mix, and one package of Big Train. I ate the Maple Grove first and they were okay but did not taste anything like how delicious your normal pancakes are. But when I tried the Big Train, I was hooked. I think that they taste better then a box of pancake mix from the grocery store or your favorite diner. I can use as much butter and Sugar Free maple Syrup as I want! I thought I would never be able to eat sweets for breakfast again once on a Low Carb Diet, but this was the best. I put chocolate chips in them one morning, delicious! Blueberries, anything I could think of and they kept getting better and better! I ordered 10 packages this time and I am very excited to buy a waffle maker to try this Mix and make some hearty waffles. I would recommend this product for any Low Carber. Big Train, don't even waste your time on other mixes, just load up on Big Train Pancake and Waffle Mix!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 07, 2010
    Reviewer: Michelle in Oklahoma
    * I have tried other Low Carb Mixes and I have to say this is the BEST! Great flavor and no after taste.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 05, 2010
    Reviewer: Sara in Minnesota
    * Very good especially with Walden Farms Syrup yummy!! Now I can have my pancakes too!! 1999 was the first time I low carbed and stayed low carb for 3 years. This is the second time I have been doing low carb and this time around it's so much easier with all the foods available now. I see that I can really make this a life time change, as with all the low carb cook books out there as well. Thank you.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 29, 2010
    Reviewer: Christina in California
    * Absolutely delicious....tastes fluffy and just like the real thing. Big Train has def renewed my faith in low carb products. The cookies are YUM,, too!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 28, 2010
    Reviewer: laura in Pennsylvania
    * This was great. Beyond my expectations. The waffles were light and fluffy and really satisfied my desire to eat off-plan - best part is I didn't have to! I'm back for more of this. Even my daughter liked them :)
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 20, 2010
    Reviewer: janet in Missouri
    * When I started eating the low carb- low sugar diet, I thought I would have to say goodbye to my beloved pancakes.. The very thought of this, made my heart SINK! THEN along came the BIG TRAIN Pancake Mix and now... My heart SINGS!! Thank you! Thank you! I absolutely recommend this Pancake Mix! so easy, light and fluffy! Taste like the real thang! We LOVE IT! Gotta feeling you will too!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 06, 2010
    Reviewer: Kathy in New Jersey
    * I tried this just recently and loved it. I made pancakes for me, my husband and my diabetic mother. Of course I didn't tell my husband what product I was using! lolol..but both he and mom loved the pancakes. So quick and easy to make and DE-LICIOUS! Next, the choco-chip cookies!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 02, 2010
    Reviewer: Ralph in West Virginia
    * I find these pancakes very good. I find using "Club Soda" in place of water results in a fluffier cake but just as delicious. Adding cinnamon or other flavoring is also a nice change.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 20, 2010
    Reviewer: Inger in Pennsylvania
    * This mix makes fabulous, tasty pancakes. Tastes as good as the "real" thing but the best thing, for me, is... NO SOY!!! I'm hypothyroid and won't go near stuff that contains soy. THANK YOU BIG TRAIN!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 12, 2010
    Reviewer: Kathryn in Wisconsin
    * There are the best! Either Waffles or pancakes. I have tried other low carb pancake mixes but like these the best.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 09, 2010
    Reviewer: Nancy in Maryland
    * This mix makes excellent pancakes. They were light and fluffy and the taste was comparable to any other high-carb mix. I added a little vanilla in the mix. Each serving is 1/2 cup of mix, and it made 3 large pancakes, more than enough for a breakfast. There are 3 servings in the package. I will definitely keep this in stock!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 08, 2010
    Reviewer: Olga in Washington
    * Very great tasting, definitely taste like real pancakes..and I didn't even put any oil in, Ha! Very great and filling with all the fiber :):) I just wish I got a bigger package...if they had one. Oh and some advice with these: use two table spoons per pancake, not 1/4 cup. Also, *make sure* not to over cook them or they will lose their heavenly taste :)
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 06, 2010
    Reviewer: brook in Virginia
    * These are great. I make up the whole package at once and freeze them for the week. Pop them in the toaster and I'm gone. This is the 1st pancake mix that is "JUST GOOD"
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 31, 2010
    Reviewer: Terry in Minnesota
    * These are the best. The waffles are light and very tasty. Will surely order more.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 28, 2010
    Reviewer: Anisa in Florida
    * THIS IS THE BEST PANCAKE MIX I HAVE TRIED!!! CAN'T BELIEVE IT'S LOW IN CARBS... THE BEST!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 23, 2010
    Reviewer: A customer in Tennessee
    * Excellent mix! I couldn't tell the difference in taste or texture between these and full carb pancakes. They taste as well as regular pancakes even without syrup. The directions were easy to follow and not very different from making regular pancakes from a mix. I use low carb milk instead of water with mine.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 13, 2010
    Reviewer: dorothea in Rhode Island
    * Wonderful! I cannot tell difference from regular high carb pancakes. I added a little half and half to the water and I used Maple Grove Farms Vermont Sugar-free Syrup, Maple Flavor low carb maple syrup which is sweetened with sorbitol to top them with....yum! Very comforting to have these again!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 13, 2009
    Reviewer: Robin in Alabama
    * The BEST low carb pancakes EVER
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 20, 2009
    Reviewer: Jerold in Pennsylvania
    * This pancake mix is awesome, never thought I'd eat a pancake again, until this.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 11, 2009
    Reviewer: A customer in Michigan
    * Best low carb pancake mix I have every tried. Just ordered some more.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 01, 2009
    Reviewer: Donna in Florida
    * This is the very best tasting low carb pancake and waffle mix I've ever tasted! It's easy to prepare and makes six pancakes using only one-half cup of mix. The price is an added plus.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 30, 2009
    Reviewer: Shannon in Arizona
    * I ordered a couple different low carb pancake mixes from Netrition.com to compare. Big Train is fabulous! They have the fluffy consistency of regular high carb pancakes and taste great. I also order Dixie Diner low carb pancake mix based entirely on the reviews, and they were very grainy and crepe-like in comparison. Try the Big Train. You won't be disappointed.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 20, 2009
    Reviewer: Betty in Texas
    * The best pancake and waffle mix I've tried.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 13, 2009
    Reviewer: Corliss in Tennessee
    * Great pancake mix. Tastes as good as high carb products.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 07, 2009
    Reviewer: Tara in California
    * The best pancake mix ever! I tried Big Train, Maple Grove Farms (very good also/very similar) and New Hope Mills (good), and this one is by far the best. I make it with egg whites, a little applesauce instead of oil & add a bit of cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice. The key for me is to make sure I lower the heat & cook a bit longer so they cook all the way through without burning. I am so happy to have my pancakes back!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 October 05, 2009
    Reviewer: Irina in Ohio
    * Absolutely delicious, tasted better than regular pancakes, easy to make , melted in my mouth.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 14, 2009
    Reviewer: Marilyn in Kentucky
    * Being new to the world of low carb eating, I've tried many new products in the past two months. I had originally tried making pancakes with Carbquick, and while they were okay, these are soooo much better! I actually look forward to mornings with these on the menu!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 04, 2009
    Reviewer: JEAN in Arizona
    * This mix is delicious! The pancakes were tasty - not bland like other low carb mixes I have tried.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 29, 2009
    Reviewer: Jessica in New York
    * The best pancake mix. I never miss regular pancakes when I make these.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 03, 2009
    Reviewer: eric in Kansas
    * I have tried so many low carb pancake mixes and recipes it is not funny. Never scratched my itch though. I gave up on pancakes and do not know if these make good ones or not. I instead bought a waffle iron and decided to go that route. I am so happy I did! These came out crispy and had the perfect texture. A kind of low carb flavor I keep coming across but not too bad. This is on the keeper list for sure right along with Dixie's low carb chocolate cake with frosting. I am stocking up on both.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 27, 2009
    Reviewer: Deb in West Virginia
    * I made the Low Carb Buttermilk Pancakes early on a Sunday morning for my husband. That morning, our son decided to join us early for breakfast. Knowing he would refuse to try it, I just put a pancake on a plate. He loved it!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 18, 2009
    Reviewer: Amanda in Illinois
    * I can't tell you how much I love that I can eat these pancakes. The taste and texture exceeded my expectations, and I don't feel deprived at all.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 05, 2009
    Reviewer: A customer in Texas
    * Great product! Light and fluffy, not dense and stale, compared to all the other breakfast mixes I've tried. Always a wonderful alternative to mundane mornings.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 03, 2009
    Reviewer: gabrielle in Florida
    * This product is really delish!! The best low carb pancakes I have ever tasted. Yum.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 27, 2009
    Reviewer: Marshall in Oklahoma
    * This stuff is GREAT!!! Low calorie with great taste. I have used it every morning for over a year and I still love it.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 18, 2009
    Reviewer: Natalie in Illinois
    * I could not believe how good these pancakes were! I just ordered two more bags. I was worried I would not be able to eat these anymore so when I saw this product I said well can't hurt to try them. I am SO glad I did. :)

    Thank you!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 05, 2009
    Reviewer: A customer in Alabama
    * These are a great treat for any low-carb dieter. They are easy to make and taste great.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 01, 2009
    Reviewer: Kathlene in Pennsylvania
    * Makes excellent pancakes.. the right consistency.. great taste. I eat them plain and most low carb mixes just won't do.. but Big Train tastes just like regular mixes, my finicky son (who absolutely refuses to eat any of my low carb stuff) doesn't know he is eating low carb and liking it!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 01, 2009
    Reviewer: Beverly in Indiana
    * This product is wonderful. I have tried 2 or 3 other low carb pancake mixes and Big Train is the best I have tried. They come out light and fluffy. I add a little cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter. GREAT
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 03, 2009
    Reviewer: Linda in Minnesota
    * Yes, very yummy. I will definitely reorder.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 03, 2009
    Reviewer: michael in New York
    * Excellent tasting pancakes; cooked the same as high carb pancakes and were light and fluffy - not grainy as in some low carb products. Looking forward to making waffles.

    Filled a breakfast niche that was sorely missed! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 01, 2009
    Reviewer: Shawn in New Jersey
    * Awesome pancake mix!!! The pancakes are light and fluffy. They taste just as good as (I think they taste even better than) regular pancakes. I found myself eating them twice a day. Once for breakfast with eggs and sausage and then at night when I wanted a sweet snack. Very satisfying!!! Love it!!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 28, 2009
    Reviewer: Christine in Maryland
    * Best endorsement you can ever get- My 15 year old son, who has always been a HUGE pancake fan, LOVED them.. He said they were better than Bisquick... I was amazed they were that good... Can't get better than that.. Get them and enjoy!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 07, 2009
    Reviewer: Bonnie in South Carolina
    * I only ordered one package, and knew when I tried it I should have ordered more. It has a very hardy, robust taste, and my husband, and I both loved it. I've just ordered more. You really need to have this on hand.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 06, 2009
    Reviewer: theresa in Maryland
    * These pancakes were the best I have had so far. I have been low carbing for about 5 years and I have tried many others and by far these were the best.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 26, 2009
    Reviewer: Tina in California
    * Boy have I missed pancakes. YUM! is all I can say.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 19, 2009
    Reviewer: Leslie in New Jersey
    * This was my first try with a low-carb pancake mix, and I just ordered more. The pancakes are delicious and it felt good to "have my pancakes and eat them too!" Even better, I wasn't hungry for more 10 minutes later AND my husband liked them. Excellent!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 05, 2009
    Reviewer: j.t. in Nebraska
    * The closest taste to real pancakes. Very good.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 04, 2009
    Reviewer: Cori in New York
    * The reviews are not lying, the pancakes taste fantastic. I put a sprinkle of cinnamon in them, they are perfect.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 22, 2009
    Reviewer: Richard J in Michigan
    * I made my first pancakes with it today and was very pleased. The were fluffy and tasted as good as any buttermilk pancake I've ever had. And all with so few non fibre carbs.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 07, 2008
    Reviewer: Dewey in Montana
    * Excellent product! I'm ordering more!!

    Dewey

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 20, 2008
    Reviewer: Lucille in California
    * Awesome product... when you get tired of eggs for breakfast, or tasteless low-carb cereal, these pancakes are great ... especially with the Walden Farms Syrup!!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 18, 2008
    Reviewer: A customer in California
    * I tried it both as a pancake and as a waffle - they taste really good, you can't even tell they're low carb! I topped it off with some sugar free syrup-just like the real thing!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 31, 2008
    Reviewer: Debra in Indiana
    * I LOVE these pancakes. I don't know what the rest of the world thinks about them and I have been basically sugar free, low carb for over 5 months but I think these would be good no matter what. I won't let my husband eat them. They're mine! What a treat! I am ordering again.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 22, 2008
    Reviewer: Carlene in Texas
    * This pancake mix is absolutely wonderful. I make them several at a time and freeze them. I put them in the microwave and they are wonderful!! I add a little cinnamon and they're really good. This last batch that I made, I used half water and half whipping cream. You will Love this product.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 05, 2008
    Reviewer: Kellie in Arkansas
    * Delicious. My husband and I like these just as well or better than regular pancakes!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 10, 2008
    Reviewer: Jan in Washington
    * Best Low-Carb Pancake & Waffle mix available. I prefer it to all regular mixes as well. I use it to make waffles on my George Foreman grill and they come out perfect every time.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 28, 2008
    Reviewer: Mel in Virginia
    * Absolutely delicious!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 07, 2008
    Reviewer: Joseph in Connecticut
    * Big Train pancake mix makes absolutely delicious pancakes that you have to check the box to make sure that they are low-carbohydrate. Make sure not to overcook and enjoy, I certainly did. :)
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 26, 2008
    Reviewer: A customer in New Mexico
    * Best low carb pancake mix available. Doesn't get lumpy or thick.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 23, 2008
    Reviewer: Janice in Texas
    * This is the best low carb pancake mix I have ever used. In fact it is as good, if not better, than top brands of regular pancake mixes. Not only is it easy to use, but the pancakes are light and fluffy. Add sugar free syrup and you can enjoy delicious pancakes without any of the guilt. We love them!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 21, 2008
    Reviewer: Robert in Utah
    * This is absolutely the BEST!! Fluffy and delicious---- Welcome pancakes back into your diet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 18, 2008
    Reviewer: Teresa in Alabama
    * I was really surprised by how good these pancakes were. I loved them. I just put in a order for 2 more bags! They taste just like regular pancakes.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 11, 2008
    Reviewer: Amber in Texas
    * I made waffles with this mix. I can't say what the mix tastes like on it's own, because I made the waffles like I do with normal waffle mix: add sweetener, cinnamon, and vanilla. The waffles were Great! My husband said they tasted like they were homemade.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 12, 2008
    Reviewer: edythe in Kentucky
    * To Angela in Canada, about the low carb syrup, try Walden Farms no calorie, no carb, no fat syrup. you can buy it here at this site. it is awesome! edy
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 01, 2008
    Reviewer: Susanne in Utah
    * This product is just what my husband needed. Each pkg. supply's him with 3 breakfasts & he says they are delicious. He is a diabetic & has to watch his carbs.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 25, 2008
    Reviewer: Melissa in Australia
    * These pancakes are really yummy - taste just like the normal pancakes I used to whip up before my low-carb lifestyle.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 04, 2008
    Reviewer: judy in Florida
    * I have (stupidly) tried other products. NONE of them could stand up to the excellent taste of Big Train
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 31, 2008
    Reviewer: maria in New Jersey
    * This is the best low carb pancake mix I ever tasted... light and fluffy.... smooth going down... have to portion out or you can very easily overeat since they are so good.... simple preparation.... reheats well... I am buying 6 with my next order!!! great price netrition!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 30, 2008
    Reviewer: Linda in Maryland
    * Very good. Tasted like pancakes -- what more can you ask?
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 30, 2008
    Reviewer: Terri in North Carolina
    * Excellent product. Best low carb pancakes we have ever tried. Great texture and taste.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 16, 2008
    Reviewer: robin in Virginia
    * I have used low carb products for a while now but I believe this is best pancake and waffle mix i have ever eaten.I would recommend to anyone who is on a low carb diet to try it.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 17, 2008
    Reviewer: Morla in Oklahoma
    * I am sitting here in disbelief regarding how good this product is. I have tried many mixes like this and been disappointed every time, though Krusteas had one that wasn't terrible. These are fabulous. I was able to get seven pancakes out of the 1/2 cup recipe on the back, making it 2 net carbs per pancake. Topped it off with some 0 carb syrup, two eggs and a couple slices of bacon and I just had the best breakfast I've had since I started the low carb lifestyle years ago. Next weekend I will try making waffles with it...I am very sure that this will make excellent Belgian waffles, and I can top it with a couple strawberries and some sugar free whipped cream and have a luxurious breakfast I never thought I would have again. I hope this brand sticks around...so many don't.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 15, 2008
    Reviewer: Anne in North Carolina
    * The pancake/waffle mix was outstanding. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed adding another option to our meal plan. I wholeheartedly recommend the mix and the Vermont syrup. A real hit!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 26, 2008
    Reviewer: Tammy in Florida
    * My pancakes came out a little flat the first time so I decided to make crepes with sugar free jelly. An accidental recipe that was so good, I made more pancakes "too flat" on purpose. I found to make them a little bit fluffier, I sprinkled a teaspoon of egg white powder in the mix. The tastes is great. I still haven't found a really good syrup that's sugar free or low carb that isn't watery.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 28, 2007
    Reviewer: Margaret in Illinois
    * This is the easiest mix to prepare and taste great.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 07, 2007
    Reviewer: TAMMIE in Indiana
    * This is the easiest, best tasting pancake product I have found!! The entire line of Big Train products are the best tasting!!!!! Enjoy!!!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 02, 2007
    Reviewer: Vicky in Oklahoma
    * By far the best low-carb pancake mix. Very satisfying.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 23, 2007
    Reviewer: Tami in Oklahoma
    * This pancake mix is very good. I really missed pancakes and was happy to find this product. It "hits" the spot. I add a packet or two of Splenda, a little vanilla, and some blueberries. It's so good.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 29, 2007
    Reviewer: bret in California
    * We make Belgian waffles on Sunday morning. This stuff is unbelievably good. Guests never even know it's low carb!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 20, 2007
    Reviewer: Janice in Canada
    * I've been on low-carb lifestyle for over 6 years, and these are the best pancakes / waffles I've yet to discover! Now if I could only find a good pancake syrup (I can't eat Splenda).
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 02, 2007
    Reviewer: Dave in California
    * You can't go wrong with this pancake mix. It's great! I've been purchasing this for nearly two years now and it is consistently good. I've tried other low-carb varieties but this is hands-down the best.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 25, 2007
    Reviewer: Timothy in California
    * Disgusting stuff....but send me 6 more bags.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 29, 2007
    Reviewer: Brian in California
    * I've tried several of the low carb waffle and pancake mixes. Big Train is by far the best.

    And it's surprisingly close to regular waffles and pancakes. You'd be hard pressed to tell the difference !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 22, 2007
    Reviewer: Catherine in Nevada
    * Agree with posters' comments made between Oct '06 & Feb '07. They're indeed tasty, light, fluffy, easy to make, cook quickly, & come out perfect every time. Haven't tried to reheat or modify the recipe yet, but, I'll be adding Splenda, vanilla, or cinnamon soon to experiment. Originally, I bought only 1 package, being hesitant about new lo-carb products I haven't tried, but after the first taste, I knew I wanted more. I'm buying 4 more packages because I don't mind having these everyday! They're awesome with the Jok n Al Raspberry Fruit Topping w/ fresh raspberries: Item #11-0014.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 27, 2007
    Reviewer: Mary in Iowa
    * We have tried many different low carb pancake mixes. My husband is a diabetic and loves this mix. He says it is the best!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 21, 2007
    Reviewer: Andrea in California
    * This and the Ketogenics buttermilk-flavored pancake mix are my favorites of all the different low-carb pancake mixes (and I've tried a lot of them!). Makes tasty, fluffy pancakes which are not rubbery like some and don't fall apart when you turn them, and the taste is just like regular pancakes. My favorite way to fix them is by adding one packet of sweetener and a capful of lemon extract to the batter, and scattering frozen blueberries on top as the first side is cooking. Pancakes from this mix also reheat nicely in the microwave without losing their texture.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 20, 2007
    Reviewer: Gloria in Florida
    * This mix is great for pancakes and waffles. I had weight loss surgery and now must control my fat and carb intake. These are perfect. Sometimes I make the smallest batch and add 1/8 of a cup of slivered almonds to the mix and make 3" pancakes. I can only eat two of them so, I package them for breakfasts at work during the week. I eat them with sugar free maple syrup. They taste great! I don't feel like I'm at all deprived. Awesome!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 16, 2007
    Reviewer: Jennifer in California
    * These waffles were excellent! They tasted just like the "regular" ones. I put the extra ones in the fridge and heated them up in the toaster oven the next day and they tasted just as good as when I first made them.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 02, 2007
    Reviewer: Melody in Arizona
    * This is an excellent pancake product. I add a tsp of vanilla and follow the directions. It's hard to believe these pancakes are low carb. Lite, fluffy and tasty...no one will know your secret.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 18, 2007
    Reviewer: Craig in Texas
    * Makes perfect waffles! Better than regular Krusteaz waffle mix. When I first mixed the batter, I was worried because I could smell a distinct scent that reminded me of those nasty protein shakes. But once I cooked the batter in the waffle maker, the taste was great. The waffles were crisp on the outside and soft and moist on the inside. I would buy these even if I wasn't on the low carb diet because they're better tasting than the regular hi carb mixes.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 30, 2007
    Reviewer: Alan in New Jersey
    * Been low carb, low sugar for 3 years due to high triglycerides. Big Train makes light, fluffy and very tasty pancakes. I just love this stuff. Highly recommended.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 04, 2006
    Reviewer: Jennifer in Maine
    * I have tried most of the low carb pancake mixes and this one is quite superior. Tastes like the real thing and has no soy or artificial sweeteners. I often mix in a little coconut flour and berries for delicious pancakes.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 23, 2006
    Reviewer: Amy in Minnesota
    * These are just like regular pancakes! Just add some sugar free raspberry topping and some sugar free whipped cream! Or even sugar free syrup - I used my sandwich maker to make them- and they come out great!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 November 20, 2015
    Reviewer: Gregory in Illinois
    * Just got finished using this product for the first time: Taste- quite good. Texture- excellent. Satisfied?- very!

    I used MCT oil in the mix, and fried them with a bit of grass-fed ghee in the pan. Topped with sugar-free maple syrup? Super!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 July 31, 2015
    Reviewer: Laura in Florida
    * A bit expensive for the size package, so it won't be a frequent buy. The taste is good but mine were really thin so I had to add more mix. Also used cinnamon and vanilla extract. Will try with sugar free chocolate chips and banana extract next.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 January 17, 2014
    Reviewer: A customer in Pennsylvania
    * This Big Train Pancake mix is heaven! I really enjoy pasta, baked goods, bread, etc. Pancakes are absolutely hands-down my all-time favorite meal. I have become an aficionado of all the items on the market. I came across this product, tried it and I was smiling ear to ear! This tastes like a good custom ordered pancake from a nice hotel restaurant. These are fantastic.

    The flavor is great, but w/7 carbs it is a bit high so I have to use these as a treat. Also the price is ~double on an ounce per ounce comparison with other mixes out there. I would give these a 5-star rating, except for the price and carbs/serving. But as a special meal these are great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 August 12, 2013
    Reviewer: A customer in Florida
    * I'm very picky about my meals. My father owned a restaurant. These pancakes were really great for low-carb pancakes. It makes low carb eating much more enjoyable! Add some blueberries sometimes...mmmmm!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 February 07, 2013
    Reviewer: Lara Natasha in Washington
    * Excellent product. Real ingredients, not funny stuff. While some low-carb products still trigger a "carb" reaction from me, these pancakes were yummy and I felt full and satisfied. I will order again. Eaten with whipped butter and sugarfree pancake syrup. Thanks!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 April 08, 2011
    Reviewer: Katelyn in Minnesota
    * When I used traditional pancake mix I could eat them with just butter and they'd still be great. These pancakes however, really need something on them or you get an odd flavor. As long as you have something on them, they're excellent!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 March 24, 2011
    Reviewer: Marsha in Florida
    * Trust the reviews for this product!! Just made my first batch of waffles today with this. Waffles were the best low carb waffles I've had to date!! I don't write reviews usually but, this may help someone who is on the fence about this product. The other reviews are what made me try it. We all have spent money on products that don't satisfy once we get them home; you won't have that here. No after carb taste, light and fluffy, no wheat flour smell, look and feel like the real thing. Just ordered two more bags, this stuff is great.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 March 09, 2011
    Reviewer: Byron in North Carolina
    * The only reason this isn't a 5 is because there are 9 1/4 cup servings in the bag, but the instructions for making it does it by the 1/2 cup. Therefore, making the entire bag comes up with awkward measurements (like 1/2 an egg).

    The pancakes taste great. I added 8 drops of sucralose to the batter since it didn't taste sweet enough.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 January 03, 2011
    Reviewer: Rebecca in Oregon
    * Great pancakes!! Waffles are better with Carbquick...
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 January 29, 2010
    Reviewer: Lynda in Texas
    * When you are just sick of eggs, this is a nice change. I can enjoy a few small pancakes and sausage for breakfast on a Saturday morning and stay on my low-carb diet! The serving size is smaller than the way I used to eat pancakes, but still filling. They are different than regular pancakes (flatter, smaller) but the taste is pretty good.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 October 17, 2009
    Reviewer: A customer in Louisiana
    * I have made two batches of pancakes with this mix so far. They cook nicely with the edges a little difficult to cook through. Make sure the griddle is hot enough and not too hot. I found the thicker pancakes tasted better. And they taste best to me with a healthy butter type spread on top. For someone counting carbs and newly diagnosed Type 2 diabetic, having good pancakes is a dream! These were good not great. They are a little bland so the second time I added cinnamon and frozen blueberries. oh so good. Best of all, very little rise in my blood glucose at 2 hours! I bought more mix and recommend this mix. I would prefer a larger box of it and a lower price. But I'm happy at breakfast for now.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 August 15, 2009
    Reviewer: Diana in New York
    * These are delicious and very filling after just two, and definitely deliver what they claim! The only thing is, they are not sweet in the least bit, and they claim this by saying there is no artificial sweeteners in the mix. You will need to sweeten them up either with low carb syrup or by adding some splenda to the mix. I just ate them with some butter and a touch of sugar free preserves. yum!! Definitely a must for breakfast, if you're sick of eating bacon and eggs every morning!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 January 09, 2009
    Reviewer: Sara in Maryland
    * This is a good low-carb product... but I would suggest not letting it get too thick because the pancakes will taste gross and probably too salty. That's my personal assessment. Add some sugar free syrup or preserves, and you have a yummy treat!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 September 02, 2008
    Reviewer: Bernadette in New York
    * The pancakes are ok, but I think it is because of the Vermont sugar-free syrup.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 March 09, 2008
    Reviewer: mike in Pennsylvania
    * Best I've tasted-- consistency is hit or miss- otherwise-- a sunday standard.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 October 08, 2014
    Reviewer: Steve in Mississippi
    * I'm new to the LC world so maybe it's just me, but I found the pancakes to have a poor taste and be a bit on the chewy side. OK, more than a bit. I'll experiment with a few things such as vanilla extract to at least improve the taste. If they taste good I'll overlook the chewy part. They didn't taste so bad that the eggs wanted a separate plate but even a good soak in butter and syrup didn't help much. I'll be trying another brand this evening and will post my experiences afterward. While I don't recommend this product, a lot of people have given it high marks and taste is, after all, subjective.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 September 15, 2012
    Reviewer: Susan in Virginia
    * After all the great reviews, I must say I was disappointed. The pancakes cook up nicely, but have no flavor. I tried adding a single serving packet of ground flax seed, which did help, just not enough. I will try it again, this time adding some Butter/Vanilla/Nut flavoring. Keeping my fingers crossed this will help since I really would like to enjoy something closer to the real thing.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 October 25, 2011
    Reviewer: A customer in Connecticut
    * Horrible. Tastes like soy. threw the whole thing out.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2016 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.