Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies
Netrition Logo Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout Account Settings Ordering Policies Netrition Netrition Home
Flat $4.99 Shipping in 48 States
Popular Categories
• All Categories
• Low Carb Products
• Gluten Free Products
• Bariatric Approved
• Bars
• Diet and Weight Loss
• Herbs
• Minerals
• Muscle Builders
• Protein
• Vitamins
• Best Sellers
• Customer Reviews

Popular Brands
• Atkins Nutritionals
• BSN
• Designer Whey Protein
• EAS
• MHP
• Muscle Meds
• Muscle Pharm
• MuscleTech
• NOW
• Optimum Nutrition
• Ultimate Nutrition
• Universal Nutrition
• USP Labs

Deals!
• Sale Items
• Clearance Sale
• Promotions
• Freebies

Information
• Product Analyzer
• Message Boards
• Food Nutrients
• Recall Notices

Ordering
• My Account
• Shopping Cart
• Checkout
• Policies

Help
• New Customer Help
• Contact Us
• About Us

Join Netrition on Facebook! Join us on Facebook!


Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report. Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report.

Big Train
Low Carb Buttermilk Pancake and Waffle Mix  Buy Low Carb Buttermilk Pancake and Waffle Mix

Write an online review for
Low Carb Buttermilk Pancake and Waffle Mix (Big Train)

218 Reviews
Average rating
(193)
(16)
(2)
(1)
(6)

Customer Reviews  

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
November 09, 2011
Reviewer: Merry in Utah
I tried these pancakes for the first time today, and would like to share a few observations. On the whole, they are good, particularly for folks like me who cannot eat "regular" pancakes any more.

The batter behaved very well, holding its texture long enough for me to cook a double batch--I did not have to keep thinning it as I have had to do with other LC pancake mixes.

I thought that the taste was a little bit bland, so I added a dash of salt to the batter after the first batch. I also found the pancake texture to be a little on the dry side. This might have been because I didn't adjust for high altitude (about 4,250' in Salt Lake City). I am not a fan of syrup, so instead, I used butter and SF jam. Next time I will try making the batter with buttermilk, half & half, or with Hood's Calorie Countdown (aka Carb Countdown) "milk."

One thing to be aware of is that my pancakes didn't develop bubbles on the top surface while the first side was cooking. Normally these bubbles are a sign that the cakes are ready to flip. The lack of bubbles might also be due to the altitude, but first time users should do fine if they keep an eye out for burning on the underside, and just flip when golden brown.

All in all, a very pleasant change from eggs and bacon, for someone on a very carb-restricted diet. I will make them again, and will probably buy the mix again, too.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
August 14, 2009
Reviewer: Mary in Arkansas
This product makes very good pancakes, but after mixing up the mix, it needs to sit for a minute to thicken. This should be on the instructions because it makes a difference. The flavor and texture of the pancakes are just like regular pancakes. The reason the product gets a 4 is because there are a lot of carbs (7) per serving. I'd like to see it down to under 5 per serving.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
August 24, 2008
Reviewer: Jason in Georgia
I like these waffles. I added cinnamon, and 1 tbsp of vanilla extract to boost the flavor a bit.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 17, 2014
Reviewer: A customer in Pennsylvania
This Big Train Pancake mix is heaven! I really enjoy pasta, baked goods, bread, etc. Pancakes are absolutely hands-down my all-time favorite meal. I have become an aficionado of all the items on the market. I came across this product, tried it and I was smiling ear to ear! This tastes like a good custom ordered pancake from a nice hotel restaurant. These are fantastic.

The flavor is great, but w/7 carbs it is a bit high so I have to use these as a treat. Also the price is ~double on an ounce per ounce comparison with other mixes out there. I would give these a 5-star rating, except for the price and carbs/serving. But as a special meal these are great.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 12, 2013
Reviewer: A customer in Florida
I'm very picky about my meals. My father owned a restaurant. These pancakes were really great for low-carb pancakes. It makes low carb eating much more enjoyable! Add some blueberries sometimes...mmmmm!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 07, 2013
Reviewer: Lara Natasha in Washington
Excellent product. Real ingredients, not funny stuff. While some low-carb products still trigger a "carb" reaction from me, these pancakes were yummy and I felt full and satisfied. I will order again. Eaten with whipped butter and sugarfree pancake syrup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 08, 2011
Reviewer: Katelyn in Minnesota
When I used traditional pancake mix I could eat them with just butter and they'd still be great. These pancakes however, really need something on them or you get an odd flavor. As long as you have something on them, they're excellent!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 24, 2011
Reviewer: Marsha in Florida
Trust the reviews for this product!! Just made my first batch of waffles today with this. Waffles were the best low carb waffles I've had to date!! I don't write reviews usually but, this may help someone who is on the fence about this product. The other reviews are what made me try it. We all have spent money on products that don't satisfy once we get them home; you won't have that here. No after carb taste, light and fluffy, no wheat flour smell, look and feel like the real thing. Just ordered two more bags, this stuff is great.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 09, 2011
Reviewer: Byron in North Carolina
The only reason this isn't a 5 is because there are 9 1/4 cup servings in the bag, but the instructions for making it does it by the 1/2 cup. Therefore, making the entire bag comes up with awkward measurements (like 1/2 an egg).

The pancakes taste great. I added 8 drops of sucralose to the batter since it didn't taste sweet enough.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 03, 2011
Reviewer: Rebecca in Oregon
Great pancakes!! Waffles are better with Carbquick...
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 29, 2010
Reviewer: Lynda in Texas
When you are just sick of eggs, this is a nice change. I can enjoy a few small pancakes and sausage for breakfast on a Saturday morning and stay on my low-carb diet! The serving size is smaller than the way I used to eat pancakes, but still filling. They are different than regular pancakes (flatter, smaller) but the taste is pretty good.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 17, 2009
Reviewer: A customer in Louisiana
I have made two batches of pancakes with this mix so far. They cook nicely with the edges a little difficult to cook through. Make sure the griddle is hot enough and not too hot. I found the thicker pancakes tasted better. And they taste best to me with a healthy butter type spread on top. For someone counting carbs and newly diagnosed Type 2 diabetic, having good pancakes is a dream! These were good not great. They are a little bland so the second time I added cinnamon and frozen blueberries. oh so good. Best of all, very little rise in my blood glucose at 2 hours! I bought more mix and recommend this mix. I would prefer a larger box of it and a lower price. But I'm happy at breakfast for now.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 15, 2009
Reviewer: Diana in New York
These are delicious and very filling after just two, and definitely deliver what they claim! The only thing is, they are not sweet in the least bit, and they claim this by saying there is no artificial sweeteners in the mix. You will need to sweeten them up either with low carb syrup or by adding some splenda to the mix. I just ate them with some butter and a touch of sugar free preserves. yum!! Definitely a must for breakfast, if you're sick of eating bacon and eggs every morning!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 09, 2009
Reviewer: Sara in Maryland
This is a good low-carb product... but I would suggest not letting it get too thick because the pancakes will taste gross and probably too salty. That's my personal assessment. Add some sugar free syrup or preserves, and you have a yummy treat!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 02, 2008
Reviewer: Bernadette in New York
The pancakes are ok, but I think it is because of the Vermont sugar-free syrup.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 09, 2008
Reviewer: mike in Minnesota
Best I've tasted-- consistency is hit or miss- otherwise-- a sunday standard.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Hot Products













Shop quickly using your personal Order History! View prior purchases to re-order the same products! $4.99 shipping charge for the entire order within the contiguous 48 United States. 5% Discount on Orders of $200 or more! Retailers: Volume Discounts Available. All Products Are In Stock Unless Marked Out Of Stock. Really! Don't Settle for Less. Learn how to get FREE stuff! - T-Shirts, Shaker Bottles, and More! Go To Top of Page

Ordering Instructions
Display Shopping Cart
Checkout
Update Account / Order History
Subscribe to our Mailing Lists
Links To Other Sites
Home
Frequently Asked Questions
Contact Us
Food Nutrients
Affiliate Program
Gift Certificates
Secure Ordering

If you have a website, blog or facebook page, join
Netrition's Affiliate Program* and start earning cash today! Now paying 20%*


Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.

Copyright © 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement