Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies
Netrition Logo Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout Account Settings Ordering Policies Netrition Netrition Home
Flat $4.99 Shipping in 48 States
Popular Categories
• All Categories
• Low Carb Products
• Gluten Free Products
• Bariatric Approved
• Bars
• Diet and Weight Loss
• Herbs
• Minerals
• Muscle Builders
• Protein
• Vitamins
• Best Sellers
• Customer Reviews

Popular Brands
• Atkins Nutritionals
• BSN
• Designer Whey Protein
• EAS
• MHP
• Muscle Meds
• Muscle Pharm
• MuscleTech
• NOW
• Optimum Nutrition
• Ultimate Nutrition
• Universal Nutrition
• USP Labs

Deals!
• Sale Items
• Clearance Sale
• Promotions
• Freebies

Information
• Product Analyzer
• Message Boards
• Food Nutrients
• Recall Notices

Ordering
• My Account
• Shopping Cart
• Checkout
• Policies

Help
• New Customer Help
• Contact Us
• About Us

Join Netrition on Facebook! Join us on Facebook!


Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report. Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report.

Big Train
Low Carb Brownie Mix  Buy Low Carb Brownie Mix

Write an online review for
Low Carb Brownie Mix (Big Train)

98 Reviews
Average rating
(73)
(12)
(5)
(5)
(3)

Customer Reviews  
< Previous     |  1 2  |     Next >

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful.
March 03, 2009
Reviewer: patty in California
Wow, I am a great baker and make my own brownies, but my husband recently had a 4 way by pass operation, and I have to change some things for the better. Yes, we have sweet tooth's. CAN YOU SAY THESE THINGS ARE THE BEST? THEY ARE JUST GREAT. WONDERFUL TASTING, TEXTURE AND MOIST. I do different things to makes them just a bit better, such as my favorite coffee cream. I add a little bit of that to the mixture. Also, just a little bit of something in these brownies adds so much to the already great taste. I melt a little bit of light cream cheese with the coffee cream of my choice and oh my gosh, these are the best tasting brownies, and I mean this. So rich and chocolate. You cannot go wrong with these brownies. If you are some one who has to watch your weight, or a diabetic or have to watch a heart healthy diet, please buy a lot of these, you will be happy you did and so will your stomach.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful.
February 13, 2007
Reviewer: Stephanie in Illinois
Excellent! I absolutely LOVE these. Will be buying lots more. So easy to make - just and egg and stick of butter. HOWEVER I melted a block of Philly Cream Cheese with 2 packets of Splenda and mixed in the top layer of the brownie mix before putting in the oven. I baked for 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful.
September 23, 2006
Reviewer: Fran in Georgia
These brownies are wonderful; not overly sweet but chewy and satisfying. A must to have in the pantry for when a "chocolate attack" occurs!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful.
October 05, 2010
Reviewer: julija in Florida
Amazing! I did everything as the package says and added extra 2 table spoon of sour cream,2 table spoons of Splenda and some walnuts. Taste is great. There is no funny aftertaste that you usually get in low sugar sweets. I saw that some people are baking it for longer than 15 minutes, but there is no need. All you have to do is let it cool and if you eat them at room temperature it will taste more like chocolate cake, but if you store it in the fridge it will get chewy like brownie consistency. Also it says that it will make 16 brownies. I use "As seen on TV" brownie pan (about $20.00)and it makes 18 brownies. It's a perfect size I usually have 2 :) I highly recommend this product. In fact I am getting some more.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.
March 17, 2009
Reviewer: Cheryl in Georgia
OMG!!!!!!!!!! This is the best product I've found for a "brownie fix" since going low carb. Even my husband loved them & he's not on the low carb train! Easy to make, a great value for the money compared to the Dixie Diner version (which, by the way, is awful), yummy taste, excellent brownie texture. I would proudly serve these to anyone. My highest recommendation.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.
May 21, 2007
Reviewer: Laura in Arizona
Big Train makes a lot of great products. I have teenage girls & when we all crave something chocolate, these brownies definitely do the trick! They are great substitutes for the Duncan Heinz that we used to get.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful.
April 01, 2012
Reviewer: Lorraine in Massachusetts
I love these Brownies. I do not love all the butter. Instead I use 2 eggs and 1/2 cup pure pumpkin puree. Everyone Loves them I bring them to parties all the time and non dieters ask me how i get such a great consistency. Cook time will be longer and you will need to insert toothpick to know when done. They are bigger and denser this way and taste great.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
November 15, 2011
Reviewer: Douglas in Texas
I love the brownies served warm with some Bryers CarbSmart Ice Cream on top, and a little sugar free chocolate syrup. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
September 01, 2011
Reviewer: Susan in Tennessee
These brownies are amazing - a perfect treat, great chocolate taste. I bake, cut them into squares and put them in the freezer for an easy snack.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
February 20, 2011
Reviewer: Val in Ohio
Great brownies With modifications to the mix. I added 1 egg, 1/4 Cup highest quality cocoa powder, 1/3 Cup Splenda, 1/4 Cup water, and 1/3 Cup chopped walnuts. With these additions the brownies took close to 30 minutes to bake. Let them cool and enjoy.

I must admit I have never tasted the mix recipe brownies without additions.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
January 20, 2007
Reviewer: Ramona in Washington
We loved these brownies and they were very simple to make. The chocolate chips in the mix are wonderful. The serving size is small, and I challenge anyone to eat only one!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful.
January 07, 2007
Reviewer: A customer in North Carolina
Well for low carb you can't beat the flavor! I added some Soy nuts and chocolate low carb sauce and some added sugar free maple for a Caramel affect. If you like rich Brownies, then this is for you!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 21, 2014
Reviewer: Sally in California
This is an excellent product! I am very picky about baked goods and these are up with some of the best I have ever had! Very chocolatey and satisfying texture, it does not taste like a mix and freezes well so you can stick to your portions. I cut them up when cooled and pop them in the freezer on a cookie sheet, then transfer to zipper bag when frozen, when you want one you can just let it thaw at room temp for a 15 minutes and they are delicious!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 03, 2014
Reviewer: Kerry in Texas
Made these for the first time last night and I'm glad I bought 2 bags of the mix, as these will be gone before the week is out. I didn't add any Splenda, but did add 1/3 cup of the Stevia/No Sugar dark chocolate chips I also bought on Netrition. I baked them for 18 mins @ 350 in a glass pie pan and the bottom is a little too crumbly, but I'm sure they will hold together better once I put them in the frig. Really rich flavor, zero funky diet-y aftertaste. As with the other Big Train items I've tried, they taste like a local organic restaurant's made-from-scratch recipes from my favorite place in Austin. Homemade and never overly sweet. Highly recommend this brand's products!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 18, 2013
Reviewer: Mike in Florida
If you're a chocoholic, then these are the bomb! Made up the first batch per package and WOW. Better then any Duncan/Crocker mix. The next batch I got a little more creative and prepared the same way, 'sept I added a couple of dollops (maybe 2 heaping tbs) of sour cream, 1/2 tsp of baking soda and 1 tbs of instant coffee and DOUBLE WOW! Mocha Cream Brownies that were a little more cakier, but oh so rich and moist and still quite chocolaty to boot. I'll be filling the pantry with these from now on.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 23, 2013
Reviewer: jessica in California
Love it!!! Great price too!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 20, 2013
Reviewer: Sondra in Texas
Great brownies that taste exactly like the real thing.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 09, 2013
Reviewer: Robin in New York
This stuff is amazing for a low carb product. I substitute the entire stick of butter with a half cup of greek yogurt or pumpkin purťe, whatever I have on hand, saving HUNDREDS of calories. Especially helpful when I can easily eat the entire 16 servings in one day (I'm a binge eater ugggh). Brownies still come out deliciously moist and fudgy. The flavor is not cloyingly sweet like how lots of regular boxes mixes can be. If I'm feeling crazy ill throw in pecans and coconut flakes. SO SO SO GOOD.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 12, 2013
Reviewer: TODD in New York
I loved them. I am so satisfied with the taste and texture. My wife did say she had to bake them longer than the suggested time though. They also had a faint taste of coconut.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 08, 2013
Reviewer: Shannon in North Carolina
I love brownies and being on a low carb diet, means no more goodness. That said let me tell you about this brownie mix. Pros,tastes very good and a must have for myself. Cons is on the dry side. That said have no fear and pick some up.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 20, 2013
Reviewer: Barbara in Oklahoma
Update to my earlier 5-star review. I love to experiment with the Big Train baking mixes. As a chocolate lover I recently took this brownie mix and stirred in 1 can of Wilderness no sugar added cherry pie filling. (no egg, no fat) Baked in non-stick sprayed 8x8 glass dish for 40 mins. @350, let it set-up for about 2 hours. Amazing chocolatey, cherry desert. Much like spoon bread or a bread pudding. Everyone loved it. There were little rivers of cherry syrup running through it and the rich chocolate chips held up perfectly. A keeper! Thank you again Big Train!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 25, 2012
Reviewer: Grace in New Mexico
I also love these brownies! I first made them with the 1/2 cup of butter & egg, and although they tasted delicious, I really didn't want all the fat or calories. Likewise, they weren't really something my husband could eat because he's allergic to egg. As I'd used non-fat yogurt as a substitute for fat/egg in another recipe, I thought I'd try it with this mix. Lo and behold, they were PERFECT! Here's how I modified the recipe in case anyone is interested:

- Brownie Mix - 1/2 cup non-fat greek yogurt, - Apx 2 tablespoons of water - just enough to moisten the mix and get it all blended together. It will be very thick and look somewhat lumpy!

Baked in greased glass baking pan at 350 for 25 minutes. They were moist and dense with a little greater "cake-like" quality than the original brownies. In my opinion, they tasted better than the high fat batch!

Because the yogurt only adds a total of 64 calories and 4.5 carbs to the entire mix, the new calories and carbs are practically the same as the mix alone. These are the exact figures:

One serving as prepared w/Fage yogurt Calories 64.19 Fat 2.00 Carb 15.29 Fiber 4.00 Erythritol 3.00 Net Carbs 8.00 Sugars 4.29 Protein 2.74

So even if you cut yourself a big, moist brownie (1/4 of pan) you are only getting 250 calories and 31 carbs. :) Yum Yum!! :)

Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 21, 2012
Reviewer: Jim in California
This mix is excellent. I add walnuts and sugar free marshmallows and make a double batch because as soon as it cools its gone. Great sweet taste with no after taste.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 11, 2012
Reviewer: Barbara in Ohio
Great tasting, I added pecans and a few extra Nevada Manna Sugar Free Choc. Chips. Altogether kind of high in carbs and calories but honest to goodness I would never have known these were sugar free or low carb if I hadn't made them. Everyone liked them and I just made sure only to eat as a treat and in the serving size listed.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 27, 2012
Reviewer: Cheryl in Oregon
I just made these brownies and they are fantastic. I watch calories so instead of butter I used 4 oz of sugar free applesauce and instead of 1 egg I used 1/4 cup of eggbeaters. I cut these into 12 rather than 16 and they were only 87 calories. I got a bigger serving and almost half the calories. My husband loves them too. They are moist and have great chocolate flavor and chocolate chips. We liked these so much that I sent text to family members right away to let them know about this great product and that they need to try it!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 11, 2012
Reviewer: A customer in New Jersey
Great product I need my brownie with coffee every night and I am still able to loose weight on my LC life style. Thank you Big Train!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 22, 2012
Reviewer: Jackie in Louisiana
My family loves this product. I used half the butter, added an egg and a small amount of whipping cream. These were as good as any brownie and so much healthier. I also added 1oz of German chocolate Da Vinci sugar free sweetener.VERY YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 07, 2012
Reviewer: A customer in California
Very good stuff
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 02, 2012
Reviewer: Mark in Massachusetts
It is a very good mix. Made a batch with bud butter and it came out great.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 12, 2012
Reviewer: Elaine in Texas
I'm not on a low carb diet, I just count my calories. I made this with 1 egg and 1/2 cup applesauce and it was DELICIOUS once it cooled off. however, that is why I probably won't be buying it again...it tasted so good I ate almost the whole pan!

Highly recommended if you can control yourself!!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 19, 2011
Reviewer: Wilma in California
DELICIOUS, EASY AND QUICK! My Netrition order just arrived yesterday and hubby surprised me by making these yummy brownies all by himself earlier today. THAT'S A FIRST (he's never before attempted to bake anything in 27+ years of marriage)!

He made the brownies according to instructions on the box and they tasted just like regular sugar and high carb brownies - no one would ever know these aren't the "real" thing. Now if we can just pace ourselves and make them last a couple of days! Will definitely be buying these again as well as trying some other Big Train products.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 10, 2011
Reviewer: Sharon in North Carolina
These brownies do not taste low carb, they taste great! It does not make very many brownies though, and I find myself eating way too many. Even though I eat half a batch at a time, these brownies do not make my blood sugar go up.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 31, 2011
Reviewer: Melissa in Wyoming
Sooooo good and rich. Are you sure this is a low carb product...? Because you could have fooled me ! EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 01, 2011
Reviewer: Barbara in Oklahoma
Big Train Brownie Bites (My Low Fat Version) After reading all the good reviews and suggestions here I finally tried this item. Made the first pan as directed (including ľ c. walnuts) and they were wonderful. Canít really improve on the taste and texture, thatís for sure. However, I do feel the fat content is too high and decided to experiment using pure pumpkin (from a can) instead of that Ĺ c. fat. Also added ľ c. chopped walnuts and egg beaters as suggested by others here. Itís amazing! Canít taste the pumpkin and after they have cooled and chilled they are just as rich, chewy , chocolaty and tasty as the full fat version. I used a small cookie scoop and baked them in foil mini muffin liners. It made exactly 32 so eating 2 would be the same serving size as the recipe suggests. Hereís the basic comparison per serving: Original Calories 139.8 Low Fat calories 76.5, Original Fat 10.5 g. Low Fat 3.2 g., Original Carbs 8.3 Low Fat Carbs 8.5. I used organic pumpkin with very low sodium so that was a drop from 90.3 mg to 51.7. Iím very happy with this product and plan to experiment with the two flavors of cookie mix too.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 06, 2011
Reviewer: Heidi in California
I read the negative reviews for this before making and decided to use an egg white and just enough heavy cream to make the batter smooth instead of butter,they turned out WONDERFUL! They were tender and not greasy at all. I baked them in a mini muffin pan, with mini muffin liners, for about 7 minutes and they were not dry at all. Before removing from the pan I pressed a mini SF Reeses PB cup into a few, a few others got SF peppermint patties cut into quarters, , WOW! They tasted great and froze well to have a variety of treats when they need arises.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 11, 2011
Reviewer: Lisa in Oregon
I am new at the low carb diet and have tried to make brownies on my own. They turned out awful so I thought I would try this mix. It was great, wonderful even. My entire family (including two boys) ate it up. I have just reordered. Love Netrition also.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 09, 2010
Reviewer: A customer in New York
This low carb brownie mix is so moist and yummy! They are better than any other low carb mixes I have tried. I buy at least 4 packages a month!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 07, 2010
Reviewer: LeViis in Illinois
Upon learning that I was a diabetic with high cholesterol, I had to make several lifestyle changes that dramatically changed my diet. Sweets for me are a double no no: sugar and saturated/trans fats. I ordered the Big Train brownies after reading all the reviews, and after trying several other low carb cakes that taste like cardboard. I used egg beaters for the egg, and earth balance butter replacement for the butter which has half the saturated fat content. I baked the brownies for 15 minutes, but the toothpick came out wet so I put it in for another 15 minutes. The brownies were just absolutely delicious! I ate over twice the serving size and figured that I would take a sugar hit for the day. I checked my sugar 1 hour after eating the two pieces, and it actually fell 8 points!! I tested it again a couple of hours later after eating another piece and still, no affect. I don't know how you do it Big Train, but you deserve an award. Thanks for an excellent product.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 05, 2010
Reviewer: Cynthia in South Carolina
Easy to make, great taste. Highly recommended to anyone with a sweet tooth on a Low Carb diet.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 22, 2010
Reviewer: Richard A in Ohio
These are absolutely great. I don't think you will be disappointed with this product.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 21, 2010
Reviewer: Melody in West Virginia
excellent flavor and texture
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 01, 2010
Reviewer: evlyn in Ohio
I have to admit that when I ordered this mix, I was a bit skeptical. Wow, Iím glad that I did! I used Ĺ of the butter that the package called for, and double the eggs. I got a very moist thick brownie that tasted awesome! Even my husband liked it, so believe me, it has to be good.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 21, 2010
Reviewer: Sunil in Florida
Just made a batch of these and I have to say that these brownies are AMAZING!!! I gave one to my husband and he was surprised that they are low carb. . . if you are looking for that chocolate fix that won't undo your low-carb lifestyle. . .you definitely want to buy more than one of these packages =)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 24, 2010
Reviewer: Walter in New Jersey
These brownies are excellent. The batter is a little odd when you're making them, but they come out great. They taste great and create no uncomfortable side effects like some low carb products can do.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 16, 2010
Reviewer: Michael in New Jersey
Excellent Brownies. Great taste, and they deserve a glass of milk to compliment them!

As a Diabetic I must watch my carb intake. These Brownies make a great treat to have each evening prior to going to bed, as they carry me through to the morning. Even if I wasn't Diabetic, I love the taste! And as a former "chocolate nut", I know chocolate!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 10, 2010
Reviewer: A customer in New York
These brownies are SOO good!! Easy instructions; bakes in 15 mins and they taste impeccable, especially when they're still warm.. A little too easy to over-indulge for me though because it's just so tasty!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 29, 2010
Reviewer: Sharon in Arizona
These are the best low carb brownies I have ever had the pleasure of eating. While most low carb sweet treats have an after taste these do not and they are easy to make as well.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 04, 2010
Reviewer: Lori in Arizona
Due to the overall reviews of this product, I bought these and made them today. I'm a big brownie lover and I'm not disappointed! I made according to package, one egg and 1 stick of butter. The batter ended up more like a dough, but I just pressed it into the pan and cooked for 15 minutes. When complete, it looked a bit wet, so I shut off the oven, cracked the door and left the pan in to 'set'. I tried my first one when still warm and OMG! Not too sweet, not dry, they came out perfect and the chocolate chips add a little sweet kick when bit into. I'll definitely try more Big Train items!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 09, 2009
Reviewer: Pamela in New York
I am the happiest of low carb campers!

This mix couldn't be easier, or more tasty. I have a whacky little apartment stove, with a weird oven, but it came out great... and are almost gone.

This is one of the best ways to avoid too much temptation this holiday season. Don't feel deprived. Have a brownie!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 12, 2009
Reviewer: A customer in Utah
This brownie mix is awesome! I used 1/2 a stick of butter and two eggs as opposed to the stated directions, and they turned out wonderfully. I topped a brownie with a scoop of sugar-free vanilla ice cream and cherries and went to cloud nine!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

< Previous     |  1 2  |     Next >

Hot Products













Shop quickly using your personal Order History! View prior purchases to re-order the same products! $4.99 shipping charge for the entire order within the contiguous 48 United States. 5% Discount on Orders of $200 or more! Retailers: Volume Discounts Available. All Products Are In Stock Unless Marked Out Of Stock. Really! Don't Settle for Less. Learn how to get FREE stuff! - T-Shirts, Shaker Bottles, and More! Go To Top of Page

Ordering Instructions
Display Shopping Cart
Checkout
Update Account / Order History
Subscribe to our Mailing Lists
Links To Other Sites
Home
Frequently Asked Questions
Contact Us
Food Nutrients
Affiliate Program
Gift Certificates
Secure Ordering

If you have a website, blog or facebook page, join
Netrition's Affiliate Program* and start earning cash today! Now paying 20%*


Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.

Copyright © 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement