Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies
Netrition Logo Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout Account Settings Ordering Policies Netrition Netrition Home
Flat $4.95 Shipping in 48 States
Popular Categories
• All Categories
• Low Carb Products
• Gluten Free Products
• Bariatric Approved
• Bars
• Diet and Weight Loss
• Herbs
• Minerals
• Muscle Builders
• Protein
• Vitamins
• Best Sellers
• Customer Reviews

Popular Brands
• Atkins Nutritionals
• BSN
• Designer Whey Protein
• EAS
• MHP
• Muscle Meds
• Muscle Pharm
• MuscleTech
• NOW
• Optimum Nutrition
• Ultimate Nutrition
• Universal Nutrition
• USP Labs

Deals!
• Sale Items
• Clearance Sale
• Promotions
• Freebies

Information
• Product Analyzer
• Message Boards
• Food Nutrients

Ordering
• My Account
• Shopping Cart
• Checkout
• Policies

Help
• New Customer Help
• Contact Us
• About Us

Join Netrition on Facebook! Join us on Facebook!


Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report. Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report.

Dixie Diner
Smaps Cereal

 
Write an online review for
Smaps Cereal (Dixie Diner)

52 Reviews
Average rating
(30)
(8)
(5)
(3)
(6)

Customer Reviews  
< Previous     |  1 2  |     Next >

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful.
December 09, 2006
Reviewer: Rebecca in Maryland
Amazing high protein, low carb cereal. It's very crunchy and tastes like sweet maple. We love it, it's a staple in our home!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.
November 14, 2008
Reviewer: Amber in Washington
This is my new favorite snack! I eat it every night with Almond Breeze milk and a splash of SF DaVinci pancake syrup. It looks like Rice Krispies, but has a taste and texture closer to lightly sweetened Cheerios. I am so glad I tried Smaps!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
August 02, 2013
Reviewer: Michael in Ohio
Excellent product. Best low carb cereal and pie crust, on the market.
This review is specific to Smaps Cereal, Sweet Maple
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
July 22, 2013
Reviewer: NORMAN in Texas
When I first got the package - i put two servings in a big bowl and put some lc milk and sweetener and the first couple of bites were great but as i kept chewing - yuck. It took me forever to eat.. I almost threw it away. The next day I tried it again but only using 1/2 cup serving and putting in much more lc milk and blueberries and sweetener and wow - it actually tasted much better. I am glad I did not throw it away. This is an acquired taste as it keeps tasting better and better each time I use it.
This review is specific to Smaps Cereal, Sweet Maple
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 25, 2013
Reviewer: Janice in Florida
I love this cereal...I eat it dry as a snack or with some almond milk...I buy it in the 8 pound sack at this point! Note to self: it does give you gas if you eat too much!
This review is specific to Smaps Cereal, Sweet Maple
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 25, 2013
Reviewer: Teresa in Texas
I like this cereal! It looks like Sugar Smacks but has the crunch of grape nuts. I add a little Splenda with some unsweetened Almond milk. I have been on a strict low-carb diet and miss grains and breads. This gives me the craving I want.
This review is specific to Smaps Cereal, Sweet Maple
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 27, 2013
Reviewer: Alison in North Carolina
I can not say enough about these! They are so satisfying. I eat them every day- sometimes twice a day! No rise in blood sugar!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 12, 2012
Reviewer: Andrea C in New York
Snaps Cereal is not only gluten free - it's also low carb and delicious!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 08, 2012
Reviewer: Burma in North Carolina
These are great sprinkled on my home-made yogurt!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 05, 2011
Reviewer: Chris in Missouri
My husband LOVES this cereal and I also love to use it in recipes. I make some really good, low carb cookies using Tova's Carbquik Bake Mix and Smaps cereal (follow the recipe on the cereal package). They are low carb and great since my husband is diabetic. Using low carb products has helped bring my husband's diabetes under control. I use Splenda for the sweetener. In cooking/baking I use NO white flour. It has made a BIG difference in my husband's blood work. This cereal is also a great topping for my cereal too.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 03, 2011
Reviewer: A customer in North Carolina
This cereal is awesome! Eat it with Unsweetened Almond Milk and you are all set!! Thanks Dixie!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 06, 2011
Reviewer: Debra in Maryland
Yummy! I love this cereal. Being a self-proclaimed cereal addict, I am unable to go without cereal. When I went on the Ideal Protein diet I really missed real cereal. I thought I would give this a try and am so glad that I did. Sometimes I mix it with Hi-Life, but usually just eat it on it's own. I do eat it as a snack, without milk, and it fills me up. My usual afternoon snack.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 08, 2011
Reviewer: Gigi in Ohio
When I read the reviews for this product, I was a little worried that I wouldn't like it. However, I'm glad I took the risk. While Smaps are more expensive than other low carb cereals, they are by far the yummiest. I love that they give the traditional crunch of cereal that I was missing in other low carb cereals. Also, they have just the right amount of maple flavoring. I eat this with unsweetened almond milk for breakfast almost every morning. You can't beat the taste or the fact that it is truly LOW carb...only 2 net grams!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 08, 2011
Reviewer: Crofton in Canada
This is a great low carb breakfast. I add a couple tablespoons of plain yogurt and a few strawberries or raspberries and I'm good til lunch, on less than 10 grams of carbs.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 18, 2010
Reviewer: JEAN in Arizona
Yum! Crispy, crunchy - a real treat. I like to mix it in with the High Lo cereal for added crunch to them.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 02, 2010
Reviewer: Sheldon in Texas
Great Product. You will not be sorry if you order this.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 10, 2010
Reviewer: A customer in Connecticut
I am a cereal killer and I really like this cereal. It is great that it is low in carbs, high in fiber and big on flavor. I typically do not like cereals that are too sweet and this one is just right for me. Also perfect when mixed with GG Scandinavian Bran flakes. Very Crunchy and filling. Although a little pricey I think that it is worth it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 23, 2010
Reviewer: Susan in California
I tried the Smaps sweet maple cereal for the first time a couple of weeks ago and now I just ordered two more boxes! I really loved the flavor and the texture was fine. The cereal maintained its crunch even when in milk and didn't become soggy. I used unsweetened vanilla flavored almond milk and along with the maple flavor it was a real taste treat. As a low carb dieter I haven't had any cereal in a long time and since the decrease of low carb dieters has led to difficulty finding low carb products I am especially grateful to have discovered the many products carried by Netrition. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 12, 2010
Reviewer: Linda in Texas
My taste buds have not outgrown the childhood "Krispies" cereals...but as an adult, I realized that traditional cereal just made me hungrier. Finally, with Smaps, I have found a product with that strange, crackling texture that is good for me and, surprise, is higher in protein per serving than any other cereal I've seen. It has not a bit of sweetness so I can sweeten it to suit my grown-up taste since I don't like sugar quite as much any more.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 03, 2010
Reviewer: Christine in New York
I was craving cereal and decided to try this. Was I pleasantly surprised! Not only is it very low in net carbs, but it's filling, satisfying and delicious. I used a blend of heavy cream and water to really keep the carb count low. Will definitely purchase this again!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 11, 2010
Reviewer: Morgan in Oregon
It's hard to find lower-carb cereal that isn't secretly harboring sugar or really high fat/calorie content. So I tried this, and ya know what it, it IS really crunchy. If it's raw, it's kinda hard...but with milk/liquid, it's great. And the most amazing thing happened: for regular cereal one bowl makes me want more and more and MORE, but with Smaps I was actually really satisfied.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 30, 2009
Reviewer: Garry in Michigan
Looks just like a famous 'Crispy Rice' cereal but with way more crisp! Stays crunchy in milk. Just the right amount of maple flavor - tastes great.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 20, 2009
Reviewer: Jennifer in Missouri
Great high fiber, high protein, low carb cereal replacement. It is a bit crunchy at first but if you let it sit in milk for a few minutes it softens up.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 26, 2009
Reviewer: Stephen in New Jersey
This is an excellent cereal and great for bodybuilding. I can eat this plain with Truvia on top or with a milk like unsweetened almond breeze or soyslender (I like soyslender better because of the protein). Even though this cereal is a little pricey, it's worth it for the health benefits. This cereal and hi-lo are my two favorites.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 09, 2009
Reviewer: Angela in North Carolina
This is the absolute best low carb cereal I have ever purchased. I keep a stock of it. No other cereal on the market compares to it, in my opinion when it comes to carb and calorie counts. The flavor is mild and it is just sweet enough. Very high in protein,this cereal sticks with you. It is good for those in OWL-Maintnance levels of Atkins. I enjoy it with unsweetened almond breeze milk.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 07, 2008
Reviewer: Mr. & Mrs. in Illinois
Smaps is my "Yummy Food." Sometimes it's really nice to have something (besides raw vegetables) that I can have and Eat All I Want of It. I like the high protein and low carb of Smaps. I add water, Stevia, and Erythritol to it, & sometimes I also add one of the SweetLeaf Liquid Stevia flavors (the English Toffee they make is a great flavor). The Smaps cereal, Stevia, Erythritol, and SweetLeaf Liquid Stevia flavors are all here at Netrition, so it's easy to put them all on one order. With Smaps, for me, there's None of those tummy problems like so many soy products cause. (I cannot eat Nutlettes cereal at all because Nutlettes disagrees with my tummy even though both Smaps and Nutlettes cereals are made by Dixie Diner.) So far, I've liked most of the things Dixie Diner makes. Somehow, I just seem to not ever get tired of Smaps. Smaps is easy to store in the pantry, and it still is good even after a long time.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 17, 2008
Reviewer: ashley in California
This stuff is great, Rice Krispies only better--stays crisp and crunchy in (low-carb Hood's) milk, has a hint of maple sweetness but doesn't mask the taste of your berries--also good alone. I've been living the low carb lifestyle for a long time--this cereal is my breakfast mainstay. Love it!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 13, 2008
Reviewer: Betsy in North Carolina
---A bit hard and crunchy, but fine nonetheless. However, with the very low carb count, we mix this 50-50 with the Hi-Lo Cereals, especially the box of plain Hi-Lo Cereal. We use with a milk product, usually Hood's Calorie Countdown "milk" (fka "Carb Countdown"). ---Kudos for the TWO pouches of cereal in each box; -helps retain extra freshness. ---Here's an idea: I haven't tried this, but I'd recommend this for recipe experimentation, i.e. for a cookie, maybe partially crushed, mixed with an egg and softened cream (and maybe a bit of butter) cheese to a proper consistency for cookie dough. Could add any number of the following: cinnamon, freshly-grated ginger, pecans, or maybe even lightly-crushed blueberries... -Might also experiment for a pie crust, i.e. with Comstock sugar-free cherry or apple fillings. Signing off; I've got some experimentation to do!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 29, 2008
Reviewer: Kelly in West Virginia
Very Crunchy, but VERY Good. Worth the price to have cereal again.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 03, 2007
Reviewer: A customer in Massachusetts
This cereal adds the "crunch" back to the low carb diet. Love the fiber content with the high protein per serving. We enjoy it as a breakfast food or mixed with low carb yogurt for a quick snack!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 11, 2013
Reviewer: James in Texas
A pretty good low carb cereal. Out of the box (dry) is better tasting than with almond milk but I think (per these reviews) that I need to add something sweet when using almond milk.

I was surprised by the serving size ( cup) and took a full cup on my first try - a mistake. With all the fiber (I guess) cup is plenty!

It's not Honeynut Cheerios but it is a nice break from the normal bacon and egg breakfasts I do on low carb.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 28, 2013
Reviewer: Jay in Connecticut
If you need a real low carb morning cereal then this is your cereal! Its a bit of an acquired taste, but now I eat it every morning with sugar free almond milk (slightly sweetened with Splenda). It makes for a very low carb breakfast.
This review is specific to Smaps Cereal, Sweet Maple
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 21, 2012
Reviewer: Morgan D in West Virginia
I liked this product much better eating it out of the bag, rather than mixing with milk like breakfast cereal. In milk (almond milk) it became too chewy (and more bland as I chewed and chewed and chewed...). Eating my serving dry was like a sweet crunchy snack.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 03, 2010
Reviewer: Michael in California
This cereal is not as tasty as the Hi-LO cereal, but because both brands are maple (Hi-Lo has other flavors too as most of you know), I mix them together, for the smaps has much lower carbs. Together they taste excellent, and the lower carb count means I can sneak in carbs elsewhere. Smaps are also very crunchy, which alone is a bore but mixed with the Hi-Lo the crunch factor is welcome because the Hi-Lo is actually a bit too soft.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 31, 2009
Reviewer: Elizabeth in Idaho
It was really great to discover a cereal product I can eat, gluten-free and low carb. The nuggets are really hard and crunchy at first, but if they soak in the bowl for a minute become easier to chew. A small serving "goes a long way" as far as being filling, also. I plan to keep buying these.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 24, 2009
Reviewer: Jessica in Virginia
I love Smaps cereal, maple flavor. I combine it with Calorie Countdown dairy beverage and get a meal that meets my caloric, protein, and carb requirements. The cereal actually has a good flavor to it, but the flavor could be stronger. It doesn't taste like I'm eating cardboard. The cereal is also very hard and I recommend letting it soak in the milk for a few minutes to soften it up. I think it's a little pricey, but I'm willing to pay that amount because it's very difficult to find a low calorie, low carb, high protein cereal that it tasty. HiLo cereals are cheaper and taste good, but they are much higher in carbs.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 06, 2009
Reviewer: Monica in Maryland
This cereal is a nice substitute for high carb cereals. It does have a different texture than regular cereal. It's not quite as crunchy, but it's great for when you miss cereal and milk in the morning. Sometimes I cut up a banana in it and it's delicious. I made a cookie recipe shown on the back of the box today and they were quite good. I would definitely recommend these to anyone on a low carb diet.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 29, 2008
Reviewer: stacie in Connecticut
Very good - considering on a low carb diet I thought I would never be able to have cereal again. I just add a few blueberries or strawberries and enjoy the crunch.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 26, 2013
Reviewer: Doug in Michigan
It has a definite "low carb" taste. If you are sensitive to it, you know what I mean. But, by adding some cinnamon and sweetening it with sugar free maple syrup, it becomes pretty palatable. Not great, but OK.

On the plus side, it is very crunchy and quite filling. When not low carbing, I will usually eat 2-3 big bowls of cereal before I am full. With this stuff, 1/2 cup along with some Almond Milk is plenty.

So, I do recommend the product, but with reservations. I will probably buy it again when I have run out.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 10, 2012
Reviewer: A customer in Texas
The taste was okay but it gave me BAD GAS!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 01, 2012
Reviewer: Terry in Illinois
Okay as far as low carb cereals go. Not much flavor and you feel like your chewing a long time. Mediocre.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 22, 2008
Reviewer: Craig in Florida
Very crunchy and average substitute for cereal. Needs lots of milk.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 06, 2007
Reviewer: Laura in Illinois
This cereal is definitely hard and crunchy! If you like your cereal more like ones on the grocery store shelf, you will have to soak the cereal in milk for at least 10 minutes to get it to an acceptable crunch level. I was surprised at how hard it was, but the taste is good. I do bake with it on occasion, and use the Smaps in place of nuts. Cuts down on the fat and give the baked goods a nice crunch. :--)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 28, 2010
Reviewer: Yaira in Virginia
I gave it a two rating because it is barely edible after all... what can I say? It's sort of like chewing on gravel. The crisps are so small and crunchy they might as well be little rocks and the after taste is not good either. I ate about half a cup and kept the rest for baking... maybe I'll mix it in some cookies to mimic nuts... and gravel.

My favorite Dixie Diner product is the Hot Cereal by far, I eat it every single day with a touch of Splenda and DaVinci flavoring syrups. Haven't found another product from the same brand that's quite as good even though I keep trying and hoping.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 22, 2009
Reviewer: A customer in Texas
Come on, the cereal is very hard and when you put it in milk all of the flavor comes off and it tastes like cardboard. I know it is hard to find cereal but this is not the answer. Maybe you can put it with berries on low carb yogurt and be ok.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 16, 2009
Reviewer: Carolyn in New Jersey
I bought the maple flavor and found it tasted good at first, but then it actually started to taste salty as it was chewed. It is very crunchy so you do have to chew it quite a bit, but instead of dissolving it felt as if it was expanding in to a mound of sawdust. Maybe this takes getting used to, but with the $10 price tag I will stick with Atkins cranberry breakfast bars to satisfy my crunchy, cereal craving in the morning.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
July 16, 2010
Reviewer: Bruce in California
Completely inedible. Even with milk it's hard to swallow. Dumped bowl in sink, bag in trash. Utter waste.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
May 22, 2007
Reviewer: Randy in New York
Very bland and very hard - like chewing a mouthful of gravel.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 10, 2012
Reviewer: A customer in Texas
Tried this cereal based on the good reviews I had seen. Unfortunately, the product does not live up to those reviews. This cereal is really awful. Tried one bowl and couldn't even finish it. Threw the rest of the bag in the garbage. Tastes like a mouthful of soggy cardboard. Netrition offers much better products than this one. Personally, I will not buy this product again.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 08, 2011
Reviewer: Katherine in Massachusetts
Terrible. Turns chewy in milk, texture like old leather. Hard to swallow. The flavor is average. Could taste maple but it was not sweet at all. Definitely not worth the very high price.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

< Previous     |  1 2  |     Next >

Hot Products













Shop quickly using your personal Order History! View prior purchases to re-order the same products! $4.95 shipping charge for the entire order within the contiguous 48 United States. 5% Discount on Orders of $200 or more! Retailers: Volume Discounts Available. All Products Are In Stock Unless Marked Out Of Stock. Really! Don't Settle for Less. Learn how to get FREE stuff! - T-Shirts, Shaker Bottles, and More! Go To Top of Page

Ordering Instructions
Display Shopping Cart
Checkout
Update Account / Order History
Subscribe to our Mailing Lists
Links To Other Sites
Home
Frequently Asked Questions
Contact Us
Food Nutrients
Affiliate Program
Gift Certificates
Secure Ordering

If you have a website, blog or facebook page, join
Netrition's Affiliate Program* and start earning cash today! Now paying 20%*


Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.

Copyright © 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement