Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies
Netrition Logo Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout Account Settings Ordering Policies Netrition Netrition Home
Flat $4.95 Shipping in 48 States
Popular Categories
• All Categories
• Low Carb Products
• Gluten Free Products
• Bariatric Approved
• Bars
• Diet and Weight Loss
• Herbs
• Minerals
• Muscle Builders
• Protein
• Vitamins
• Best Sellers
• Customer Reviews

Popular Brands
• Atkins Nutritionals
• BSN
• Designer Whey Protein
• EAS
• MHP
• Muscle Meds
• Muscle Pharm
• MuscleTech
• NOW
• Optimum Nutrition
• Ultimate Nutrition
• Universal Nutrition
• USP Labs

Deals!
• Sale Items
• Clearance Sale
• Promotions
• Freebies

Information
• Product Analyzer
• Message Boards
• Food Nutrients

Ordering
• My Account
• Shopping Cart
• Checkout
• Policies

Help
• New Customer Help
• Contact Us
• About Us

Join Netrition on Facebook! Join us on Facebook!


Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report. Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report.

Dixie Diner
Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix

 
Write an online review for
Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix (Dixie Diner)

48 Reviews
Average rating
(35)
(4)
(1)
(2)
(6)

Customer Reviews  

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful.
February 25, 2007
Reviewer: Terri in Texas
I ordered this cake to prepare for my birthday. I'm huge on birthday cakes. I have to be honest...I was ready to be disappointed. I am happy to say that I was pleasantly surprised! The cake was VERY good prepared as per basic package instructions. (There are alternate instructions to add canned pineapple & nuts to the cake and butter and extra lc sweetener to the frosting. I always prepare a recipe as instructed first, and tweak it later - I am looking VERY forward to tweaking this one!!!) Even my children liked this cake! It will be even better with the changes. As an embarrassing, but important, side note - my dh bought donuts for breakfast on my b-day. I ate one that morning, then prepared the cake in the afternoon and ate a piece in the evening. You know how sometimes lc sweets taste less than sweet when compared to "main-stream" products? This was not the case with this cake. Dixie Diner's motto is "Health Food That Tastes Like Junk Food." For this particular cake, at least, it's true. I can't wait to try their other products. Thank you Dixie Diner and Netrition for this wonderful product!!!!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Carrot
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.
December 26, 2006
Reviewer: Jean in Tennessee
Love this company & their products! Made the applesauce snack cake tonight and it was superb. Thanks Dixie Diner.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Applesauce
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.
November 01, 2006
Reviewer: Darlene in Virginia
The Cinnamon Swirl Snackin' Cake is so light and delicious, it tastes and feels like it was made with white wheat flour. But it obviously isn't, since my BGL stays low after eating it.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Cinnamon Swirl
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
June 17, 2007
Reviewer: Deana in Nebraska
It doesn't even taste like it is diet! My 13 year old daughter had no idea that she was eating something healthy for her and she ate them up! She even shared them with friends at school! Outstanding reviews!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
May 20, 2007
Reviewer: Leslie in Illinois
I highly recommend this product. It was quite delicious -- significantly better than other low-carb cake mixes I have tried. Compared to real carrot cake, its texture was more homogeneous but not objectionable and it was, a little dry. The dryness was not significant enough to warrant complaint (from me, anyway) but definitely noticeable in contrast to how moist normal carrot cake generally is. As a simply delicious, low-carb dessert, however, it is first-rate.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Carrot
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 11, 2013
Reviewer: James in Texas
I've been disappointed in some Dixie Diner products (e.g. meatloaf mix) but these cakes are terrific. The carrot cake is my favorite and I have it in my refrigerator constantly.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 19, 2013
Reviewer: Karen in Virginia
The carrot cake is to die for. Everyone who has tried it has loved it. I just ordered a couple more (the holidays are coming!) and had to order one for a non-low carb friend. I make it and cut it into serving size pieces and freeze it. It freezes very well. I thaw it and microwave it for about 15 seconds before eating. Delicious and very filling. Carrot cake was always one of my favorites and I tearfully kissed it goodbye when I went low carb but have welcomed it back with open arms since I first tried this one. If you like carrot cake don't pass this up. You won't be sorry.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Carrot
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 10, 2013
Reviewer: James in Texas
The Carrot Cake mix is fabulous. I made this for my low carb diet but my family also enjoyed it. After one day (the cake seems to moisten more with a delay) we continued to eat the cake until it was completely gone... everyone enjoyed this. There is a small texture difference between this cake and a "real" carrot cake but not much.

Make and enjoy! This is a fabulous (and welcome) addition to a low carbohydrate regimen.

This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Carrot
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 24, 2012
Reviewer: Beth in Texas
These Dixie Diner Snackin' Cakes are (as my dad would say) FANTABULOUS!!! They are so moist, quick to prepare, and it almost makes you feel guilty to have something so tasty, yet so low in calories and carbs. I've been a customer of Dixie Diner products for over a decade and have had great luck with probably 90% of their items. I highly recommend these if you have a sweet tooth and are looking for just the right thing with all the right stuff to help keep you on the right path health wise.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 26, 2012
Reviewer: Jackie in Kansas
Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Molten Chocolate Royale is SOOO good! The best chocolate cake I've had! I made them in 6 silicone muffin cups. They were very good hot and gooey from the oven but FANTASTIC the next day at room temp. They were not as gooey as when they were hot, but the texture and flavor was even better! The texture was very very moist and the flavor was deep rich REAL chocolate with no chemical or weird after taste.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Molten Chocolate Royale
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 27, 2012
Reviewer: Brandi in Colorado
These cakes are delicious. A little small for what you pay, but delicious. I recommend these when you want cake.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Molten Chocolate Royale
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 14, 2012
Reviewer: A customer in Tennessee
I've tried the chocolate cake with frosting and the Molten Chocolate Royale. The chocolate cake was decent, but I really like the Molten Chocolate Royale.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Molten Chocolate Royale
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 20, 2011
Reviewer: A customer in New York
After trying a few of the other low carb products, I was worried that the Molten Chocolate Royale would be disappointing but was very pleasantly surprised. It tasted delicious and is a great way to satisfy a chocolate craving on a low carb diet especially if you are avoiding artificial sweeteners as well. (Be sure when you cook them to use cupcake liners and follow the cooking directions exactly - you don't want to scorch the chocolate or over bake the cakes).
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Molten Chocolate Royale
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 22, 2011
Reviewer: Adriana in California
This was my first low carb dessert and it was delicious. I made it into cupcakes with fresh strawberry's on top of each one and it was a hit. I highly recommend this.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Chocolate Cake with Frosting
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 24, 2011
Reviewer: Mary in Maryland
Here I thought I could never have a piece of cake again. This product is fantastic, tastes terrific, and is so easy to bake. I'll be back for more!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Yellow Cake with Frosting
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 04, 2011
Reviewer: Kim in Virginia
My husband and I LOVE these cakes. Our favorite is the yellow and then the chocolate. My only recommendation would be to watch the cooking time. We prefer to cook approx 5 less then recommended time to keep the cake moist as it tends to be dry if you cook as long as recipe calls for.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Chocolate Cake with Frosting
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 15, 2010
Reviewer: Tammy in North Carolina
I love the Snakin cake Carrot mix. I want to try the Molten chocolate royale, but I keep going back to the carrot cake.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Carrot
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 08, 2010
Reviewer: Amy in Montana
I got the German Chocolate Cake Mix. What a pleasant surprise! The cake is very good - moist and tasty. I had to let the frosting sit for about 10 minutes before the consistency was right and the frosting is not the same as the full-sugar version. That being said, this is still an excellent low-carb dessert.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, German Chocolate
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 09, 2010
Reviewer: Marshall in Oklahoma
Very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 18, 2009
Reviewer: Donna in Florida
This is the absolute best low carb desert I have ever found. I have given pieces of this cake to friends and they cannot believe it is low carb. The best thing about the chocolate cake with frosting is that the frosting is included and you don't have to order it separately. I make sure I always have at least one on my shelf. I like this one so much I am afraid to try the other ones because I don't think they will be as good.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Chocolate Cake with Frosting
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 26, 2009
Reviewer: sherry in Arkansas
This was a treat to me on the low carb diet. If you really like chocolate this is for you.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Chocolate Cake with Frosting
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 24, 2009
Reviewer: Mary B in California
Easy to make, love it!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Cinnamon Swirl
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 03, 2009
Reviewer: eric in Kansas
I had very low expectations. I am not a fan of most of the Dixie Diner products though I keep trying them for the kids sake. I am so happy I did!

I added 1/2 of a bakers unsweetened chocolate square to the chocolate in the package. Cooked the cake for 15 - 16 minutes and it was completely done. It appeared over cooked still. I thought it was a goner but iced it anyway and let the kids have it. They said how good it was so I tried it. It was AWESOME! Better than any other high carb cake mix. Won't beat homemade high carb but blows Betty Crocker out of the water. It was so moist!

I am going to get more for sure. I am not sure I will try any of the others because the chocolate is great. The icing is a bit too artificially sweet but that is hardly a bad thing as far as the kids go. I think I would prefer to try a homemade cream cheese icing but the kids do not like that.

Thank you Dixie Diner.

This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Chocolate Cake with Frosting
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 14, 2009
Reviewer: Mary in Oklahoma
I wasn't sure what to expect because as a long-time low carber, this is my first time to try any of these Carb Counters Snackin' Cake mixes. It was surprisingly easy - not the consistency I expected and more like a brownie, but delicious. I made it for company who has been low carbing for just a few months and was she ever surprised how good it was and so low carb. I will definitely order other kinds to try!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Chocolate Cake with Frosting
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 02, 2008
Reviewer: Michael in New York
Too good to be true. Considering the extremely low net carbohydrates, I was expecting this to be just barely tolerable. To my surprise, my spouse and I both found the Snackin' Cake Mixes to be surprisingly good. We have reordered them and have tried different flavors.

A couple of notes: 1) do not overcook them - they get dried out easily and 2) if you can be patient enough, they are definitely better the second day.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 18, 2008
Reviewer: Dana in Alabama
The molten chocolate Royal cake tastes so great my husband never knew it was low carb. Easy to make and comes out perfect. Love it!!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Molten Chocolate Royale
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 08, 2008
Reviewer: Taya in Virginia
After not having any sort of cake, cookies, candy or anything sweet for months, I fixed the yellow snackin cake with frosting. If you miss cake, you're sure to love this! I added orange extract to the frosting to give it a flavor other than "sugar." I am just now ordering another kind, German Chocolate and am anxious to try it (I waited weeks before ordering one of the cakes again for fear I might eat the whole cake it was so good!). Try it, you'll like it!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Yellow Cake with Frosting
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 03, 2008
Reviewer: Tony in Nevada
The carrot cake mix is very good for a low carb cake. I keep ordering it each month. Seems to have coconut in it, but does have a carrot cake flavor. This one seems better than the other Dixie cake mixes I have tried. None are really bad, but this one stands out as better.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Carrot
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 27, 2008
Reviewer: Amber in Washington
This was my first experience with Dixie Diner and I am completely sold! The carrot snack cake is absolutely delicious - even my husband fell in love with it and he's not a low carber. I'm going to keep my pantry stocked with this brand. Thanks Netrition!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Carrot
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 29, 2007
Reviewer: laura in Illinois
BOY! Are these yummy! You'd NEVER know it's good for you! How I wish regular grocery stores would carry these! They're easy to prep, put the mixture in an 8X8,bake & enjoy! We LOVE the Carrot the best, although the others are tasty as well. Try them. You will like them!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Carrot
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 10, 2007
Reviewer: Nita in Georgia
Banana Nut Snackin Cake is just like the cakes with carbs and sugar, just a little bit more firm. I added about 1/3 cup of crushed nuts to iceing and W O W, it was wonderful and I could eat the whole cake and not felt bad... except my husband would have been mad.... We loved it and I ordered more today.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Banana Nut
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 08, 2007
Reviewer: A customer in New York
The German Chocolate cake is great! The cake itself is moist and has just the right texture. The topping won't fool anyone looking for "real" German chocolate cake, but it still tastes good.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, German Chocolate
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 03, 2007
Reviewer: Elizabeth in New York
The devils food chocolate cake mix is best.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Molten Chocolate Royale
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 10, 2007
Reviewer: Sandy in North Carolina
Just had my first bite and the Banana Nut is yummy. Very moist and tasty. Will buy again.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Banana Nut
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 06, 2007
Reviewer: A customer in Florida
Very good - will order again!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Molten Chocolate Royale
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 28, 2014
Reviewer: Marina in Maryland
Really satisfies the chocolate craving. Very low carb.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Chocolate Cake with Frosting
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 06, 2013
Reviewer: A customer in Vermont
They were good overall, but had a bit of a strange saltiness to me. I don't recall having seen anyone else mention that, so it must just be that my taste-buds are strange.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Molten Chocolate Royale
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 28, 2007
Reviewer: Allison in Washington
The carrot cake was decent, though a bit too sweet. I wouldn't serve it to company, but for occasional snacks it's good. My frosting packet was entirely missing. I mixed cream cheese with butter and Walden's apple butter and produced a frosting that was probably better than the packet anyway.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 08, 2007
Reviewer: Susan in New Mexico
Delicious! Warm, gooey, and fudgy when done just right (be careful not to overbake). Guilt free with a dollop of whipped cream that has been lightly sweetened with Splenda or your choice of Da Vinci sugarfree syrup. A teaspoon of chopped nuts sprinkled adds richness with and a trace amount of carb.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Molten Chocolate Royale
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 05, 2009
Reviewer: Kimber in New Mexico
It tastes like cornbread with frosting on it. Not exactly what I expected...but wasn't the worst either.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Yellow Cake with Frosting
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
April 03, 2008
Reviewer: Allison in Washington
German Chocolate: Not cake-like (more like steamed pudding), very little chocolate flavor, horrible frosting. Straight to the garbage can.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, German Chocolate
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 15, 2013
Reviewer: Patricia in Texas
This review is for the Cinnamon Swirl only. It was very "eggy" is all I can say. It just reminded me of eggs.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Cinnamon Swirl
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
March 16, 2007
Reviewer: Jessica in California
I tried the applesauce snack cake so maybe the others are better, but this one tasted like the main ingredient was Splenda. I like using Splenda in everything, but you don't need to overwhelm with it, this product tasted drenched in the stuff. Besides that, if you don't mind overwhelming Splenda taste, the texture is superb and it's super easy to make, and I can tell that if the S was cut in half it would be delicious. Too bad.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Applesauce
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 26, 2011
Reviewer: Sally in Ohio
I bought this carrot cake mix thinking it would be a nice treat for the holidays for myself. Little did I know it had a terrible aftertaste once it was cooked. I was so upset and disappointed that I wasted my time and money to make this item. I certainly won't purchase it again. This is the first item from Dixie Diner that didn't work out for me but be warned the aftertaste is AWFUL!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Carrot
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 05, 2011
Reviewer: Randi in Georgia
Easy to make, and easy to bake, BUT...The yellow cake mix tasted like the child of a johnny cake and cornbread. It left a thick coating on the top of the mouth that made it inedible- no one in my house had more than one bite. I had to throw it out. The chocolate icing was okay, but it could not redeem the cake.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Yellow Cake with Frosting
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 19, 2011
Reviewer: Karen in Nebraska
This was the worst product I've ever purchased from netrition.com. Oh my, where do I begin? The smell alone of this "cake" was rancid, and it tasted as foul as it smelled. I can't even accurately describe the taste, perhaps chemical could come close, as it did not remind me of any other food I'd ever eaten. The brownies are good, so don't let this review keep you from trying another flavor, however, I strongly suggest you avoid the "carrot cake".
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Carrot
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 18, 2008
Reviewer: Dana in Alabama
I love Dixie Diner but the carrot snaking cake was so bad I just pitched it. Bad aftertaste and funny smell. Get the molten chocolate royal cake or any of the brownies and yum it up.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Carrot
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 07, 2008
Reviewer: Karen in Wisconsin
I made the Snackin Cake mix in the carrot cake flavor and unless you like the taste of soap DO NOT MAKE IT ! Sorry, but I gagged.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Carrot
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Hot Products













Shop quickly using your personal Order History! View prior purchases to re-order the same products! $4.95 shipping charge for the entire order within the contiguous 48 United States. 5% Discount on Orders of $200 or more! Retailers: Volume Discounts Available. All Products Are In Stock Unless Marked Out Of Stock. Really! Don't Settle for Less. Learn how to get FREE stuff! - T-Shirts, Shaker Bottles, and More! Go To Top of Page

Ordering Instructions
Display Shopping Cart
Checkout
Update Account / Order History
Subscribe to our Mailing Lists
Links To Other Sites
Home
Frequently Asked Questions
Contact Us
Food Nutrients
Affiliate Program
Gift Certificates
Secure Ordering

If you have a website, blog or facebook page, join
Netrition's Affiliate Program* and start earning cash today! Now paying 20%*


Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.

Copyright © 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement