Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 February 25, 2007
    Reviewer: Terri in Texas
    * I ordered this cake to prepare for my birthday. I'm huge on birthday cakes. I have to be honest...I was ready to be disappointed. I am happy to say that I was pleasantly surprised! The cake was VERY good prepared as per basic package instructions. (There are alternate instructions to add canned pineapple & nuts to the cake and butter and extra lc sweetener to the frosting. I always prepare a recipe as instructed first, and tweak it later - I am looking VERY forward to tweaking this one!!!) Even my children liked this cake! It will be even better with the changes. As an embarrassing, but important, side note - my dh bought donuts for breakfast on my b-day. I ate one that morning, then prepared the cake in the afternoon and ate a piece in the evening. You know how sometimes lc sweets taste less than sweet when compared to "main-stream" products? This was not the case with this cake. Dixie Diner's motto is "Health Food That Tastes Like Junk Food." For this particular cake, at least, it's true. I can't wait to try their other products. Thank you Dixie Diner and Netrition for this wonderful product!!!!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Carrot
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 December 26, 2006
    Reviewer: Jean in Tennessee
    * Love this company & their products! Made the applesauce snack cake tonight and it was superb. Thanks Dixie Diner.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Applesauce
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 November 01, 2006
    Reviewer: Darlene in California
    * The Cinnamon Swirl Snackin' Cake is so light and delicious, it tastes and feels like it was made with white wheat flour. But it obviously isn't, since my BGL stays low after eating it.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Cinnamon Swirl
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 May 26, 2012
    Reviewer: Jackie in Kansas
    * Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Molten Chocolate Royale is SOOO good! The best chocolate cake I've had! I made them in 6 silicone muffin cups. They were very good hot and gooey from the oven but FANTASTIC the next day at room temp. They were not as gooey as when they were hot, but the texture and flavor was even better! The texture was very very moist and the flavor was deep rich REAL chocolate with no chemical or weird after taste.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Molten Chocolate Royale
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 January 14, 2012
    Reviewer: A customer in Tennessee
    * I've tried the chocolate cake with frosting and the Molten Chocolate Royale. The chocolate cake was decent, but I really like the Molten Chocolate Royale.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Molten Chocolate Royale
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 August 20, 2011
    Reviewer: A customer in New York
    * After trying a few of the other low carb products, I was worried that the Molten Chocolate Royale would be disappointing but was very pleasantly surprised. It tasted delicious and is a great way to satisfy a chocolate craving on a low carb diet especially if you are avoiding artificial sweeteners as well. (Be sure when you cook them to use cupcake liners and follow the cooking directions exactly - you don't want to scorch the chocolate or over bake the cakes).
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Molten Chocolate Royale
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 April 24, 2011
    Reviewer: Mary M in Maryland
    * Here I thought I could never have a piece of cake again. This product is fantastic, tastes terrific, and is so easy to bake. I'll be back for more!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Yellow Cake with Frosting
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 January 04, 2011
    Reviewer: Kim in Virginia
    * My husband and I LOVE these cakes. Our favorite is the yellow and then the chocolate. My only recommendation would be to watch the cooking time. We prefer to cook approx 5 less then recommended time to keep the cake moist as it tends to be dry if you cook as long as recipe calls for.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Chocolate Cake with Frosting
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 September 18, 2009
    Reviewer: Donna in Florida
    * This is the absolute best low carb desert I have ever found. I have given pieces of this cake to friends and they cannot believe it is low carb. The best thing about the chocolate cake with frosting is that the frosting is included and you don't have to order it separately. I make sure I always have at least one on my shelf. I like this one so much I am afraid to try the other ones because I don't think they will be as good.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Chocolate Cake with Frosting
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 July 03, 2009
    Reviewer: eric in Kansas
    * I had very low expectations. I am not a fan of most of the Dixie Diner products though I keep trying them for the kids sake. I am so happy I did!

    I added 1/2 of a bakers unsweetened chocolate square to the chocolate in the package. Cooked the cake for 15 - 16 minutes and it was completely done. It appeared over cooked still. I thought it was a goner but iced it anyway and let the kids have it. They said how good it was so I tried it. It was AWESOME! Better than any other high carb cake mix. Won't beat homemade high carb but blows Betty Crocker out of the water. It was so moist!

    I am going to get more for sure. I am not sure I will try any of the others because the chocolate is great. The icing is a bit too artificially sweet but that is hardly a bad thing as far as the kids go. I think I would prefer to try a homemade cream cheese icing but the kids do not like that.

    Thank you Dixie Diner.

    This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Chocolate Cake with Frosting
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 December 02, 2008
    Reviewer: Michael in New York
    * Too good to be true. Considering the extremely low net carbohydrates, I was expecting this to be just barely tolerable. To my surprise, my spouse and I both found the Snackin' Cake Mixes to be surprisingly good. We have reordered them and have tried different flavors.

    A couple of notes: 1) do not overcook them - they get dried out easily and 2) if you can be patient enough, they are definitely better the second day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 November 18, 2008
    Reviewer: Dana in Alabama
    * The molten chocolate Royal cake tastes so great my husband never knew it was low carb. Easy to make and comes out perfect. Love it!!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Molten Chocolate Royale
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 June 17, 2007
    Reviewer: Deana in Nebraska
    * It doesn't even taste like it is diet! My 13 year old daughter had no idea that she was eating something healthy for her and she ate them up! She even shared them with friends at school! Outstanding reviews!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 May 20, 2007
    Reviewer: Leslie in Illinois
    * I highly recommend this product. It was quite delicious -- significantly better than other low-carb cake mixes I have tried. Compared to real carrot cake, its texture was more homogeneous but not objectionable and it was, a little dry. The dryness was not significant enough to warrant complaint (from me, anyway) but definitely noticeable in contrast to how moist normal carrot cake generally is. As a simply delicious, low-carb dessert, however, it is first-rate.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Carrot
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 22, 2016
    Reviewer: Frances in Massachusetts
    * So far I've had only the Molten Chocolate Royale, but am looking forward to trying the others. I cut them in half and heap whipped heavy cream (w/almond extract and liquid sucralose) on each half. Tastes better than Hostess cupcakes. Very satisfying!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Molten Chocolate Royale
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 11, 2013
    Reviewer: James in Texas
    * I've been disappointed in some Dixie Diner products (e.g. meatloaf mix) but these cakes are terrific. The carrot cake is my favorite and I have it in my refrigerator constantly.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 19, 2013
    Reviewer: Karen in New Hampshire
    * The carrot cake is to die for. Everyone who has tried it has loved it. I just ordered a couple more (the holidays are coming!) and had to order one for a non-low carb friend. I make it and cut it into serving size pieces and freeze it. It freezes very well. I thaw it and microwave it for about 15 seconds before eating. Delicious and very filling. Carrot cake was always one of my favorites and I tearfully kissed it goodbye when I went low carb but have welcomed it back with open arms since I first tried this one. If you like carrot cake don't pass this up. You won't be sorry.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Carrot
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 10, 2013
    Reviewer: James in Texas
    * The Carrot Cake mix is fabulous. I made this for my low carb diet but my family also enjoyed it. After one day (the cake seems to moisten more with a delay) we continued to eat the cake until it was completely gone... everyone enjoyed this. There is a small texture difference between this cake and a "real" carrot cake but not much.

    Make and enjoy! This is a fabulous (and welcome) addition to a low carbohydrate regimen.

    This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Carrot
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 24, 2012
    Reviewer: Beth in Texas
    * These Dixie Diner Snackin' Cakes are (as my dad would say) FANTABULOUS!!! They are so moist, quick to prepare, and it almost makes you feel guilty to have something so tasty, yet so low in calories and carbs. I've been a customer of Dixie Diner products for over a decade and have had great luck with probably 90% of their items. I highly recommend these if you have a sweet tooth and are looking for just the right thing with all the right stuff to help keep you on the right path health wise.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 27, 2012
    Reviewer: Brandi in Colorado
    * These cakes are delicious. A little small for what you pay, but delicious. I recommend these when you want cake.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Molten Chocolate Royale
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 22, 2011
    Reviewer: Adriana in California
    * This was my first low carb dessert and it was delicious. I made it into cupcakes with fresh strawberry's on top of each one and it was a hit. I highly recommend this.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Chocolate Cake with Frosting
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 15, 2010
    Reviewer: Tammy in North Carolina
    * I love the Snakin cake Carrot mix. I want to try the Molten chocolate royale, but I keep going back to the carrot cake.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Carrot
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 08, 2010
    Reviewer: Amy in Montana
    * I got the German Chocolate Cake Mix. What a pleasant surprise! The cake is very good - moist and tasty. I had to let the frosting sit for about 10 minutes before the consistency was right and the frosting is not the same as the full-sugar version. That being said, this is still an excellent low-carb dessert.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, German Chocolate
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 09, 2010
    Reviewer: Marshall in Oklahoma
    * Very moist and delicious.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 26, 2009
    Reviewer: sherry in Arkansas
    * This was a treat to me on the low carb diet. If you really like chocolate this is for you.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Chocolate Cake with Frosting
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 24, 2009
    Reviewer: MB in California
    * Easy to make, love it!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Cinnamon Swirl
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 14, 2009
    Reviewer: Mary in Oklahoma
    * I wasn't sure what to expect because as a long-time low carber, this is my first time to try any of these Carb Counters Snackin' Cake mixes. It was surprisingly easy - not the consistency I expected and more like a brownie, but delicious. I made it for company who has been low carbing for just a few months and was she ever surprised how good it was and so low carb. I will definitely order other kinds to try!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Chocolate Cake with Frosting
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 08, 2008
    Reviewer: Taya in Virginia
    * After not having any sort of cake, cookies, candy or anything sweet for months, I fixed the yellow snackin cake with frosting. If you miss cake, you're sure to love this! I added orange extract to the frosting to give it a flavor other than "sugar." I am just now ordering another kind, German Chocolate and am anxious to try it (I waited weeks before ordering one of the cakes again for fear I might eat the whole cake it was so good!). Try it, you'll like it!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Yellow Cake with Frosting
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 03, 2008
    Reviewer: Tony in Nevada
    * The carrot cake mix is very good for a low carb cake. I keep ordering it each month. Seems to have coconut in it, but does have a carrot cake flavor. This one seems better than the other Dixie cake mixes I have tried. None are really bad, but this one stands out as better.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Carrot
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 27, 2008
    Reviewer: Amber in Washington
    * This was my first experience with Dixie Diner and I am completely sold! The carrot snack cake is absolutely delicious - even my husband fell in love with it and he's not a low carber. I'm going to keep my pantry stocked with this brand. Thanks Netrition!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Carrot
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 29, 2007
    Reviewer: laura in Illinois
    * BOY! Are these yummy! You'd NEVER know it's good for you! How I wish regular grocery stores would carry these! They're easy to prep, put the mixture in an 8X8,bake & enjoy! We LOVE the Carrot the best, although the others are tasty as well. Try them. You will like them!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Carrot
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 10, 2007
    Reviewer: Nita in Georgia
    * Banana Nut Snackin Cake is just like the cakes with carbs and sugar, just a little bit more firm. I added about 1/3 cup of crushed nuts to iceing and W O W, it was wonderful and I could eat the whole cake and not felt bad... except my husband would have been mad.... We loved it and I ordered more today.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Banana Nut
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 08, 2007
    Reviewer: A customer in New York
    * The German Chocolate cake is great! The cake itself is moist and has just the right texture. The topping won't fool anyone looking for "real" German chocolate cake, but it still tastes good.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, German Chocolate
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 03, 2007
    Reviewer: Elizabeth in New York
    * The devils food chocolate cake mix is best.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Molten Chocolate Royale
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 10, 2007
    Reviewer: Sandy in North Carolina
    * Just had my first bite and the Banana Nut is yummy. Very moist and tasty. Will buy again.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Banana Nut
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 06, 2007
    Reviewer: A customer in Florida
    * Very good - will order again!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Snackin' Cake Mix, Molten Chocolate Royale
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2016 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.