Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies
Netrition Logo Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout Account Settings Ordering Policies Netrition Netrition Home
Flat $4.95 Shipping in 48 States
Popular Categories
• All Categories
• Low Carb Products
• Gluten Free Products
• Bariatric Approved
• Bars
• Diet and Weight Loss
• Herbs
• Minerals
• Muscle Builders
• Protein
• Vitamins
• Best Sellers
• Customer Reviews

Popular Brands
• Atkins Nutritionals
• BSN
• Designer Whey Protein
• EAS
• MHP
• Muscle Meds
• Muscle Pharm
• MuscleTech
• NOW
• Optimum Nutrition
• Ultimate Nutrition
• Universal Nutrition
• USP Labs

Deals!
• Sale Items
• Clearance Sale
• Promotions
• Freebies

Information
• Product Analyzer
• Message Boards
• Food Nutrients

Ordering
• My Account
• Shopping Cart
• Checkout
• Policies

Help
• New Customer Help
• Contact Us
• About Us

Join Netrition on Facebook! Join us on Facebook!


Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report. Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report.

Dixie Diner
Carb Counters Muffin Mix

 
Write an online review for
Carb Counters Muffin Mix (Dixie Diner)

253 Reviews
Average rating
(181)
(34)
(17)
(11)
(10)

Customer Reviews  

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful.
August 15, 2006
Reviewer: Mary in Nevada
These are fine muffin mixes! BUT - they are very bland. I buy them for my husband, primarily, who is on a low carb diet as a result of diabetes. I modify the recipe only slightly and end up with a very tasty muffin! As these muffins end up being around 1 carb serving, my modifications make them slightly over 1 carb serving. I add 8 packets of Equal to the mix, and about 1/4 cup of walnuts for more texture! I do not use sour cream - I use IMO, and I do not use butter - I use Enola. On the Apple Cinnamon muffins, I add a peeled & chopped half an apple. On the Cranberry Orange, I add 1/4 cup of whole cranberries, cut in half. My hubby loves these - and they are a perfect snack to help keep his blood sugars level. It's hard to find low-carb mixes like this any more - store managers think the low-carb diet was "just a fad", and now it's gone. With the obesity epidemic in this country - maybe they'll rethink this idea - if they get smarter!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.
November 12, 2006
Reviewer: Lisa in Ohio
The Blueberry Cream muffin mix is good, but these aren't your mama's muffins. I like them, but my children think they taste "funny". I've tried making muffins using soy flour, and even Carbquik, and these are way better. They are moister than ones I made using carbquik, and I think they are pretty good for a low carb product. They are moist muffins and I do enjoy eating them for breakfast!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Blueberry Cream
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
January 02, 2011
Reviewer: Robert in Texas
These were really good but, not as good as the Dixie Diner Carb Counters Cookie Mix, Chocolate Chip Pecan but they were very satisfying... I have been on this diet for almost 1 year and I have lost 103lb... I still have 27lbs to go and Iíll be 130lbs.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Banana Nut
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
April 26, 2009
Reviewer: Emily in Maryland
Love this muffin mix - would have given it a 5, but I normally make a couple modifications before baking. I add a couple tablespoons of extra dark cocoa (net 1 carb per serving) and an extra teaspoon or so of vanilla. This time I'm also trying substituting 1/2 cup of the water with coffee. I wish the muffins were a little bigger or a little less carbs, but overall, very tasty and a nice treat.

Oh, also, in general, I've found these cook in 16-17 minutes in my oven and if you leave them in much more (instructions say 18-20) they get dried out.

This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Chocolate Chocolate Chip
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
April 05, 2007
Reviewer: Tony in Nevada
These muffins are fairly good. A bit better than the old Atkins mix. The honey bran, banana nut, and apple cinnamon are favorites. The corn was disappointing. The blueberry cream is so-so. The cranberry orange is ok.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Honey Bran
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 26, 2013
Reviewer: Paula in New Jersey
If you make this expecting a genuine cinn streusal muffin you will be disappointed, any Dixie diner muffin tends to come out dry- HOWEVER this time I made this flavor as a loaf cake, slightly underbaked it and cut up same number of portions as muffin recipe. This make each piece much more moist and muffin like, hence much more enjoyable to eat!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Cinnamon Streusel Swirl
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 04, 2012
Reviewer: Marcy in Texas
I'm a low-carb dieter (and diabetic) and definitely appreciate homemade muffins yummy enough to share with my non-diabetic husband. I think he actually liked these better than I did! I added a flavor boost to mine by replacing 1/4 cup of the required water with DaVinci's sugar-free blueberry syrup. Outstanding! Next time I'll make only 10 muffins instead of 12 so they won't be quite so small. We ate them all in one day.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Blueberry Cream
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 10, 2011
Reviewer: Elizabeth in Georgia
I tried two flavors, apple cinnamon and golden vanilla almond. Loved the apple cinnamon! I put some cream cheese on them and they were great. On the other hand the almond muffins were not good. They tasted all wrong. Not quite sure how to describe them!! The raw batter was delicious mmmmm but after baking it was not tasty. I will continue to order these in different flavors, though! It's a nice treat for a low carber like me.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 27, 2011
Reviewer: William in Washington
I have tried many of the flavors and have found them all to be really good: apple cinnamon, banana nut, blueberry cream, classic carrot, coconut cream, cranberry orange. The corn were not my favorite, but definitely not bad. They are very moist and flavorful and as good as any muffin mix you would buy. They do not taste low carb. My only criticism as far as flavor is that they are not sweet enough. I have made it a habit of adding 10 drops of EZ-SWEETZ to every batch and they come out perfect. Also, the package says that they make 12 muffins, but those would be very small. So, I double the amount in each muffin paper and make 6 normal-size muffins. You have to bake a little longer (add about 10 mins.) but they come out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 18, 2011
Reviewer: Barbara in Texas
As close to real corn muffins as anything I've tried; even my daughter liked them & didn't ask questions!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Corn
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 09, 2010
Reviewer: Catherine in Massachusetts
love the muffin mixes but I tend to add more Splenda and spices like cinnamon, nutmeg etc. Freeze muffins that you won't be eating quickly, they tend to mold easily. All in all the size is right and the flavor is very good. You can sprinkle brown sugar Splenda on top of muffins before baking giving added flavor and by adding extract flavors really jazz them up.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 21, 2010
Reviewer: Kristen in Arizona
Bought the chocolate chip, cinnamon streusel and classic carrot out of the 3 my favorite was cinnamon streusel, it is SOOOOO yummy! My dad and I love it! We've been on and off low carb for 7 years and I can't believe we've survived without this stuff! Chocolate had a kind of chalky taste and feel making us cough and choke from what felt like dust in our lungs but maybe if I took them out like a minute earlier it would have been ok but either way they are all pretty good especially cinnamon!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Cinnamon Streusel Swirl
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 27, 2010
Reviewer: D K in Texas
Had the choc chip, and they were really good. My daughter loves the Betty Crocker choc muffins, and ate these for a couple of mornings -- not "exactly" like the BC muffins, but close enough that she ate them, and my wife and I loved 'em!

We added extra sugar-free choc chips, and a tsp of splenda...

This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Chocolate Chocolate Chip
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 11, 2009
Reviewer: Barbara in Oklahoma
I like to convenience of having a quick muffin mix to make when time is short. They are a tiny bit dry but I will still continue to keep a package or two on hand. I use DaVinci flavored syrups as part of the required liquid when I make these muffins. I frequently add walnuts or pecans. Sometimes I make them in my mini muffin tins and freeze them for quick snacks. Just wish they were a bit more moist. Wouldn't trade that for an increased carb count though. Our favorite is the apple/cinnamon and the chocolate chip.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 05, 2009
Reviewer: A customer in Texas
OOOO are they good! Great texture, great flavor, great aroma too! May want to make your own icing to top it off. Careful they can be addicting ;P
This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Apple Cinnamon
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 06, 2009
Reviewer: Patricia in California
Unusual and very tasty.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Chocolate Orange Ginger
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 05, 2009
Reviewer: Carol in California
Very good consistency and flavor. I have been using DD muffin mixes for a couple of years (or more)and the cranberry orange is my favorite. I do add a little lo-carb bake mix and an extra egg to make bigger muffins...
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 13, 2008
Reviewer: Tina in California
I bought the Carrot Muffins and although they are good, they do have a very strong sugar substitute taste. Now it's not an after taste it's more like tasting it while your eating the muffin. I still think they're good but the chocolate chocolate chip muffins have to be my favorite
This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Classic Carrot
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 24, 2008
Reviewer: Jennifer in Tennessee
These muffins are pretty good. To me, they taste better when eaten warm, especially with a little butter.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 13, 2008
Reviewer: Debra in Indiana
This muffin has flavor! It was easy to make and easy to forget it is low in carbs and sugars. I am ordering more!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Apple Cinnamon
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 02, 2008
Reviewer: William in Wisconsin
Not the lowest carb muffin, but the best tasting and not hard to make - bachelor simple.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix Select, Golden Vanilla Almond
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 07, 2008
Reviewer: Lisa in Texas
The Blueberry Cream muffins turned out pretty good. Not like my favorite high carb version, but still good. The first second or two in your mouth they're a little odd, but that quickly goes away and turns into a pleasant taste. They remind me a little bit of corn bread, which I like. My three children and husband also liked them and wanted seconds. I'll buy these again.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Blueberry Cream
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 17, 2008
Reviewer: Dorothy N in Virginia
I tried many brands and homemade recipes for cornbread to try and find a good one to use for cornbread dressing during holidays. I have found THIS brand to be the best. I even made some today just to eat with my turnip greens. :-)
This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Corn
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 13, 2008
Reviewer: A customer in Kentucky
Knowing these are low carb, I had to give them a four. I love all things banana nut. These kind of still made me feel as if I was dieting but they were more than edible.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Banana Nut
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 30, 2008
Reviewer: Natalie in California
Yum! I've been low carbing for a week and I was really craving a muffin...these really hit the spot! The Banana Nut muffins are so satisfying...very buttery! No need to put butter on them...it's already in the batter.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Banana Nut
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 06, 2007
Reviewer: Colleen in Missouri
Tried the Banana nut mix. Very pleasing taste, freeze well and can just pop in the microwave for 30 seconds right out of the freezer each morning. No funny aftertastes.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Banana Nut
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 19, 2007
Reviewer: Melissa in Florida
I have tried almost all of the muffin mix flavors. I think the best one is banana nut because it tastes like real fruit and nuts. Apple cinnamon is also really good. I did not think the blueberry ones tasted like real blueberries. The muffins are easy to make and convenient to bring with you anywhere for a snack. I store them in the fridge because when you don't they are only good for a few days (I think its the artificial sugar that makes them go bad faster) I do not like the brownies by this brand. The aftertaste of all of the artificial sugar is overwhelming.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 24, 2007
Reviewer: Sarah in Texas
Muffins were good and tasty. I added some extra cranberries which added a few extra carbs but nothing significant. I liked it so well I'm ordering more of the cranberry orange and apple cinnamon. Good product!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Cranberry Orange
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 28, 2007
Reviewer: Jean in Michigan
This product has a nice, moist texture when baked according to directions. It does have a bit of a "sweetener" aftertaste, so next time I make them, I will doctor them up a bit.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Classic Carrot
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 25, 2007
Reviewer: Kandy in New York
I was pleasantly surprised by the texture and taste of these muffins. They are sweeter than what I am used to but as a diabetic I am very pleased to find these. There is no soy aftertaste with them and I will be ordering again and again. The Classic Carrot is great.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Classic Carrot
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 15, 2007
Reviewer: A customer in Michigan
They taste great and only contain 1 net carb per muffin.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Classic Carrot
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 04, 2007
Reviewer: Lorilei in Wisconsin
Great low carb alternative to muffins. Easy to make. I have tried all of the flavors and like them all....but carrot is my fave. The only complaint I have with this product is that you can really only make a normal, small size muffin. If you try to make less oversized muffins, it is difficult to get the center baked without the outside being overcooked.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 25, 2007
Reviewer: A customer in California
Purchased the corn muffin mix and they were not bad, at all. I made according to pkg directions except that I added 2 oz. cheddar cheese. Still a little bland for my taste, but will tweak a little more next time. The texture was fantastic and with a dollop of gourmet butter ... YUMMY!!!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Corn
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 13, 2006
Reviewer: Luis in California
First of all, I would give the Banana Nut Mix a 4.5. I really liked it right out of the oven. Being low tolerant of sugar and carbs, this is the best alternative for my situation. I made them as instructed, but I replaced the heavy cream or sour cream (I forgot which) with a can of evaporated milk, slightly cold, and it worked really good. I also added ground cinnamon because of how good it is for sugar control and it tasted very good. So good, in fact, that I am ordering more. At almost 5 dollars for 12 it is a little on the expensive side, but for 12 of these muffins I am sold. Been thinking about adding some real bananas for the next batch. Have not tried their other kinds, might just try one different and see how it goes (probably pretty good). I am thinking the Apple Cinnamon might be this time around choice but after reading about the chocolate chip. Who really knows, perhaps both... I must be hungry! Thank you for taking the time to read this and have the best Holidays possible!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Banana Nut
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Hot Products













Shop quickly using your personal Order History! View prior purchases to re-order the same products! $4.95 shipping charge for the entire order within the contiguous 48 United States. 5% Discount on Orders of $200 or more! Retailers: Volume Discounts Available. All Products Are In Stock Unless Marked Out Of Stock. Really! Don't Settle for Less. Learn how to get FREE stuff! - T-Shirts, Shaker Bottles, and More! Go To Top of Page

Ordering Instructions
Display Shopping Cart
Checkout
Update Account / Order History
Subscribe to our Mailing Lists
Links To Other Sites
Home
Frequently Asked Questions
Contact Us
Food Nutrients
Affiliate Program
Gift Certificates
Secure Ordering

If you have a website, blog or facebook page, join
Netrition's Affiliate Program* and start earning cash today! Now paying 20%*


Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.

Copyright © 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement