• 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    4/5 December 29, 2006
    Reviewer: Elisabeth in Virginia
    Well they're not the "real" thing obviously, and I did used to like the Ketatoes better (more flavor and firmer texture), but I so miss mashed potatoes that I am grateful the Mashers exist and I enjoy them very much. I find that the garlicky parmesan flavor is by far the best and really very good and full of flavor (if you happen to like garlic that is. I do.)

    The regular flavor is kind of bland but can be greatly enhanced by either adding some mayo (not mixed in but a dollop on top so you can get a little with every bite), or a few drops of truffle oil (ditto). Okay, so the truffle oil is kind of pricey (about $10 for a smallish bottle) but a little goes a long way so it lasts a long time. Oh, and adding butter (or butter flavor) helps too!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 April 24, 2016
    Reviewer: Mara in Arizona
    Okay first, these are sort of close to mashed potatoes although the texture is highly dependent on how it is prepared. I have so far made these using the microwave method and have enjoyed the sour cream and chive flavor and cheddar bacon. I will eventually get to the classic and garlic but for now, I realized a very good whisk is needed along with some slight modifications for a better texture. I used heavy cream, almond milk and about 2 tablespoons of full fat mayo. That made these smooth and creamy. Without the heavy cream and a good whisk the texture can be more like cream of wheat so just be aware of how its prepared. Adding cream cheese and/or sour cream may also be good. These are really good and will be using these as the replacement for mashed potatoes during holidays and more. There is only a slight blood sugar impact which makes these perfect for us Type 1 Diabetics.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 April 04, 2015
    Reviewer: James in Tennessee
    Okay. If you want low carb mashed potatoes, your really out of luck. There's no such thing. But if you want something to use in place of mashed potatoes, and you think of them as replacements, not low-carb versions of the real thing (our strategy with almost all such foods), these are great! Their biggest problem is texture. They are dry, floury, and pasty. That's the only reason they aren't rated 5.

    But it gets better. They grow on you. I'm used to them now and eat them when my wife wants the real thing. I sometimes will have a little of the "real thing" mixed in with them, which raises the carbs a bit but raises the flavor/texture quality even more, and it only takes a little of the other to make a great compromise. I have them mixed with mashed cauliflower, which is great.

    I also find that some cheese or something that serves in place of gravy makes them much better and have topped them with BBQ, chili, sloppy Joe-type stuff, ground turkey/beef in low-carb spaghetti sauce or Walden Farms BBQ sauce, to create a much better meal. This is the best way!!! Put some grilled veggies around it all and you have a meal. Open-face roast beef (traditionally served over mashed potatoes)? Yeah baby!

    I do think the flavor of the sour cream-chive best (I haven't tried the bacon-cheddar yet but just ordered some) but it does have a slight green color. Not a problem for me, but worth noting. If you are willing to get used to them, as we usually have to with low-carb foods, and be creative if you have a problem with them you can't get used to, they are definitely worth it, in my view.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 December 06, 2014
    Reviewer: Brandy in Texas
    These definitely saved me over the Thanksgiving holiday! They do have a "powdery" after taste (not sure how else to describe this) but still yummy!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 June 25, 2014
    Reviewer: Amanda in Minnesota
    Real potatoes are better, these stand up to all the other instant/flake brands though. I tried the garlic, made it with butter flavoring instead of butter and plain almond milk instead of cream. Came out maybe a little on the gritty side? But the taste is good. Not sure it is worth the price to purchase again...
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Garlicky Parmesan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 April 06, 2013
    Reviewer: Jennifer in Maryland
    These have been great! We used them to help keep Thanksgiving low carb and they were a hit. I've also used them to make shepherds pie and other such dishes. My husband actually liked the shepherds pie better with this then with normal instant mashed potatoes.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Sour Cream & Chive
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 March 14, 2013
    Reviewer: Maureen in Alabama
    Okay, these were pretty good. I ate them with an Atkins chopped steak and gravy. Good comfort food :) I love reading reviews here for the creative suggestions and recipes for using some of the products. So I made the mashers with chicken broth, the butter spray pumps BUT added some FF cream cheese and a bit of greek yogurt instead of heavy cream and butter. I sauteed chopped garlic and stirred that in. Turned out creamy and like others say good for "instant potatoes". I THINK I liked these better than the Carb Counters but only had them once. I'd like to try the garlicky parmesean next!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 September 13, 2012
    Reviewer: Lisa in Colorado
    I love this product. It fulfills my craving for potatoes in my low carb world. It never impacts my weight-loss or maintenance.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Cheddar and Bacon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 February 09, 2012
    Reviewer: Lisa in Georgia
    These mashers are a PERFECT substitute for the real thing. They keep me from craving or giving in to temptation by providing a good l/c alternative that satisfies! They can taste a wee bit dry or chalky, for lack of a better term, but a little tweaking usually takes care of that. Add a little more liquid, or butter, sour cream, cheese...whatever your personal taste desires. After the usual prep I usually just add a little smart balance to mine, and they're great.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 January 19, 2012
    Reviewer: Marty in California
    We're doing the Dukan Diet, and though the preparation instructions called for heavy cream (no-no) and butter (double no-no), we were able to substitute with pretty excellent results. We sauteed some minced garlic, and added a third of a cup of fat-free sour cream and about 6 I-Can't-Believe-It's-Not-Butter spray pumps. Stirred in a cup of boiling water and a masher packet, mixing until smooth. Then we mixed in some shredded soy cheddar cheese, and a handful of diced green onion, and served immediately. It was actually a pretty decent baked potato mash, though it did dry out as the meal progressed. It's definitely the best Dukan-friendly (if not explicitly Dukan-approved) carb-replacement we've found so far.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 June 28, 2011
    Reviewer: Timothy in New York
    The texture is just like other instant mashed potatoes. The flavor, as expected, is different. There definitely is the potato taste in these, but there is a bit of a different flavor that was a bit like cornmeal to me. They were still good and I would definitely order them again. I totally expected them to be bad and was very happy they were not.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 September 12, 2009
    Reviewer: Tammy in North Carolina
    I tried the Garlicky Parmesan before and really didn't like it. Then I tried the Classic flavor and I used a little garlic salt in the mix.. I loved it!!! A little pasty, but since I can't have regular potatoes, this is the next best thing.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 October 15, 2008
    Reviewer: John in Wisconsin
    This is a very tasty product and similar to real mashed potatoes. I spice mine up using some garlic, bacon, and cheddar and it is delicious.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 July 29, 2008
    Reviewer: Janet in Ohio
    I really do enjoy these. They do have a slight graininess to them, however they are an excellent substitute for the real thing.

    The regular mashers are my faves because I make low carb gravy with them. Yummy!

    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 April 30, 2008
    Reviewer: Emily in California
    OK, so they're not real mashed potatoes but my husband and I always say you can get used to anything. And, really, these are pretty good, especially if you add some butter, a few fresh herbs... This is my "go to" potato substitute.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 April 09, 2008
    Reviewer: Rhonda in Georgia
    This is pretty decent. I buy the plain ones and add my own seasonings.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 March 07, 2008
    Reviewer: Garry in Michigan
    A nice low carb alternative substitute for mashed potatoes. Good taste, acceptable texture. My favorite is the garlic parmesan but all flavors are top shelf. Reheats well in the microwave too.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 November 09, 2007
    Reviewer: Carolyn in Tennessee
    Very similar in texture and flavor of real mashed potatoes. It does satisfy the craving for potatoes. I give it a thumbs up.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 November 07, 2007
    Reviewer: Tina in Ohio
    Have only tried the classic, and would highly recommend. You need to play with the consistency because they can sometimes come out too runny. I use this for special meals like Thanksgiving dinner. Gravy makes a nice addition. If you ever tried the old Ketatoes, you'd definitely give these a 5! If you are comparing to regular, instant potatoes, you would give them a 4.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 November 07, 2007
    Reviewer: Teresa in California
    My husband loves mashed potatoes/gravy but we considered them off limits on a low carb diet. Not any more! I am very happy that I found this product. It is very tasty and an excellent low carb substitute for the "real thing". Hint - I found that adding a little extra whipping cream and or butter results in a creamier texture.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 July 01, 2007
    Reviewer: Richard in Illinois
    I have eaten the original flavor, and it is the best low carb mashed potato product I've tried. It is made from potatoes. How do they strip the starch (carbs) from the potatoes?
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 June 04, 2007
    Reviewer: cristy in Florida
    I rate this product a 4 out of 5. I believe Dixie Diner's "Instant Mashers" to be the best tasting product, compared to the real thing.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Garlicky Parmesan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 May 13, 2007
    Reviewer: Valerie in Kansas
    As a dedicated low-carber who lost 70 lbs and kept it off for almost two years, I can tell you that these are great! The taste and texture were good and even my husband thought they would be a nice treat once in a while. For people who remember what potatoes actually taste like(!), these might not cut it, however. I will order them again, just for something different.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Garlicky Parmesan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 January 30, 2007
    Reviewer: LeAnn in Oklahoma
    My husband is a potato lover and hates any substitutes. But this one, he actually said it "wasn't that bad". He would eat it again. I, on the other hand can take or leave a real potato. As for me, this is the best low carb potato substitute I have tried in the past 4 years. I will buy this product again.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2016 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.