Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies
Netrition Logo Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout Account Settings Ordering Policies Netrition Netrition Home
Flat $4.99 Shipping in 48 States
Popular Categories
• All Categories
• Low Carb Products
• Gluten Free Products
• Bariatric Approved
• Bars
• Diet and Weight Loss
• Herbs
• Minerals
• Muscle Builders
• Protein
• Vitamins
• Best Sellers
• Customer Reviews

Popular Brands
• Atkins Nutritionals
• BSN
• Designer Whey Protein
• EAS
• MHP
• Muscle Meds
• Muscle Pharm
• MuscleTech
• NOW
• Optimum Nutrition
• Ultimate Nutrition
• Universal Nutrition
• USP Labs

Deals!
• Sale Items
• Clearance Sale
• Promotions
• Freebies

Information
• Product Analyzer
• Message Boards
• Food Nutrients
• Recall Notices

Ordering
• My Account
• Shopping Cart
• Checkout
• Policies

Help
• New Customer Help
• Contact Us
• About Us

Join Netrition on Facebook! Join us on Facebook!


Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report. Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report.

Dixie USA
Carb Counters Brownie Mix  Buy Carb Counters Brownie Mix

Write an online review for
Carb Counters Brownie Mix (Dixie USA)

101 Reviews
Average rating
(68)
(14)
(4)
(5)
(10)

Customer Reviews  
< Previous     |  1 2  |     Next >

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful.
November 28, 2006
Reviewer: Floyd in Tennessee
These are GREAT. First time I made them they were bland, so here's how to make them superlative: Use the regular recipe, not the 'cake-like' recipe. To the mix add two packets of Splenda. Substitute plain Yogurt for the sour cream and use a heaping 1/4 cup. If you can, substitute 1/4 of the water using DaVinci's Chocolate syrup, NOT the Chocolate sauce Da Vinci also sells. Add a cup or so chopped pecans or walnuts, a heaping tsp of salt. I use Egg Beaters in place of all eggs called for. As I recall the recipe calls for 1 egg and 1 egg white. I just use Egg Beaters for all eggs called for. Mix well. Let the cooled pan sit in the fridge for a day. The texture and taste is very much like an Italian Chocolate cake, dense yet smooth. Perfect with coffee. I use Sweet N Low Choc. icing but again, add two packets of Splenda to the icing mix as it too is bland without correcting the flavor. I sub. some of the liquid with chocolate syrup, but it's ok without it.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful.
September 15, 2006
Reviewer: Darlene in Virginia
These are so good my 21-year-old (picky eater) son didn't notice he took one of my low carb brownies and not the regular ones I made for the rest of the family. The effect on my BGL is so minimal, I can have several servings at once!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful.
October 10, 2006
Reviewer: Arlene in New Hampshire
I love brownies. These are wonderful. You can even make brownie sundaes with low carb ice cream and melted low carb chocolate bars. I have lost 92 lbs on the low carb diet and I order from this website all the time. Thanks netrition.com
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful.
January 07, 2008
Reviewer: Leslie in Illinois
First, before discussing any sort of brownies, I think it is necessary to establish what one is talking about when one uses the term, brownie. There seem to be two distinct schools of thought on this. One faction holds that a brownie is essentially a rich-chocolate treat with an almost cakelike consistency but dense to the point of being almost like fudge. The other faction differs primarily in that while the interior of the brownie might be as described above, the outside (top and bottom) have a consistency closer to that of a dense, chewy cookie -- crisp in the initial bite but then chewy with the fudginess only in the center. My own preference is toward the latter definition, but in general, if it is chocolate, I am not inclined to complain.

So, which of the definitions fits this product? In my judgment, neither, really. I made the mix according to the standard directions (not the directions for a more cakelike brownie) and frankly, what I got was pretty much a dense chocolate cake. There was no fudgy-quality to it. It is possible that I cooked it too long -- I have a convection oven and some things I need to cook for less time than the recipe calls for, but if I did overcook it, at least what I got was not dried out.

Now, setting aside whether what I got was a brownie or not, it was very good eating. The flavor was definitely the rich-chocolate flavor of a brownie, it was not dry and I would easily recommend this mix on that basis (I did add a little extra Splenda to the mix as the batter did not taste quite sweet enough to me, which is fairly common with Dixie Diner sweets). The caramel topping was also quite good though I would have appreciated a little more generous amount.

I would like to add that I suspect that it may not be possible to do a low-carb version of the crispy/chewy style of brownie as I suspect that texture is dependent on the chemical properties of sugar and how it interacts with the fat and flour under high-heat. It is possible that no artificial sweetener reacts the same way and there may not be any form of substitution which can create that effect.

This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix, Caramel Overload
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful.
April 18, 2007
Reviewer: A customer in Michigan
We really enjoy these brownies. I have a suggestion, too, to add to them and this also makes them moister: we add a quarter tsp. of almond extract to the chocolate batter. Then we make a cream cheese batter out of two 3 oz. packages of cream cheese, 4 T of butter, 1/2 cup of Splenda, two eggs, 2 T of low-carb bake mix, and 1/2 tsp of sugar-free vanilla extract. (cream the cream cheese, Splenda, and butter together first, then add the egg and vanilla. Keep the two batters separate; then layer half the chocolate, spoon the cream cheese batter over the chocolate, and dollop the other half of the chocolate batter on top and swirl. Bake according to the "regular" brownie instructions. Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
September 23, 2013
Reviewer: Keith in Utah
As a Type II diabetic I aim to control my BS by diet and exercise. The Dixie Dinner Carb Counters Brownie Mix is one of the few true treats I can eat guilt free. I love them and they are easy to make. My kids think it is funny that I have a milk shake (protein drink) and brownies for breakfast every morning. But I have found nothing better to start my day. Thanks Dixie Diner for a job well done.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
March 06, 2009
Reviewer: Janet in South Carolina
I found these to be a very good low-carb alternative to the real thing. I've found the key is NOT to overcook them. I even go about 3 min less than recommended and they come out perfect. Cook them too long and they are dry.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
January 16, 2007
Reviewer: merrie in Oregon
The brownies have a rich chocolate taste, without the after taste. The caramel you put on top of the brownies is just wonderful. My family makes up brownie delights, which a lot of the reviewers make also. I really enjoy these brownies. Thank you Netrition for helping all of us reach our goal.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix, Caramel Overload
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
December 14, 2006
Reviewer: Toni in Arizona
My family enjoys these (often!) and especially warmed up with low carb ice cream. I find they have a refined dark chocolate taste to them. I'm thankful for them. They've kept my family happy and content which keeps them from attacking Ding Dongs and chips when away from home. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
September 12, 2006
Reviewer: Nancy in Michigan
Both the regular chocolate brownie and the caramel overload are great tasting brownies. The low carb provides my granddaughter with a dessert without raising her glucose out of sight. It's also great, because for birthdays, we make regular brownies for the rest of the family and she can have her brownie, enabling her to have the same kind of a dessert as everyone else. It' so great you have these low-carb products on your web-site so she is not going without at family gatherings.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 13, 2014
Reviewer: Doug in New Mexico
Simply delicious, and so easy to make!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix, Deluxe Double Fudge
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 24, 2014
Reviewer: Susan in Louisiana
Absolutely love these brownies! Easy to fix, easier to eat! I add chopped nuts and you can't tell the difference from "regular"!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 06, 2013
Reviewer: A customer in Iowa
I bake these a lot, but they are very expensive, so Iíve developed a system to make a double batch with only one package. I double all the added ingredients (eggs, butter, cream, bakerís chocolate Ė Ghirardelli is the best!). I then add a combination of Xylitol and liquid Splenda to taste (usually a quarter or third cup of Xylitol and about the equivalent of 8 Ė 10 t. of sugar with the Splenda). I also add about a quarter cup of Whey Protein concentrate powder. My husband and son like these so much I have to hide them! I also substitute organic coconut oil for some of the butter, just to get the coconut oil in my diet. I try to use cream and butter from only grass fed cows, as well. The brownies rise around the edge of the pan and are very soft in the middle. I cook them for about 14 minutes, rather than 12, using a larger pan.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 23, 2012
Reviewer: Veronica in California
These are very acceptable. I've even served them to guests. They're fairly easy to make, and the caramel overload is an important part of adding sweetness.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix, Caramel Overload
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 22, 2012
Reviewer: Floyd in Tennessee
Ok, I bake these every week. I go for the least expensive bag - I've tried them all and to me the expense isn't worth the extra $. For the Caramel Overload for instance, you just get a squiggle of sauce, good but pricy and another brand makes S.F. caramel you can substitute (with plenty to use also with a few apple slices). The way I bake it: I use Smart Balance instead of butter (the end result is a better brownie without butter clogging up the batch. I use Organic Valley egg whites instead of eggs, again a much better composition results. And a good helping of pecans. The result is more like brownies, indeed, it is a brownie. I bake at 350 instead of 325. Check around at the diabetic counter in your grocery stores for Sweet N' Low S.F. Chocolate whipped frosting - it is the perfect topping, and if it isn't sold perhaps the grocer will order you some.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 13, 2012
Reviewer: Rekka in Connecticut
We made these for ourselves on Mother's day when I knew I'd have to make ghirardelli's double chocolate brownies for the folks. We made the usual faces at the strange ingredients, but the batter we sampled was surprising and set aside our doubts. I list some notes below just to help you get the most out of this $10 mix, based on our not-quite-perfect experience. We'll buy it again for another special occasion but at this price point I'd just eat an alternative on this web site. Notes: 1) You'll need to provide your own unsweetened baker's chocolate (2 oz) along with the wet ingredients, so if you're making a gift basket you may want to toss some of that in along with this mix. 2) We had already used our only 9 x 13 inch bakeware for the ghirardelli brownies, so we made ours in an oval casserole dish. Either because it was ceramic or because the brownie batter ended up deeper, they never completely cooked all the way through. I double the baking time and then still ended up microwaving the individual portions for 20s on high before serving. The next time we make this mix we will definitely be sure to use the typical nonstick 9 x 13 pan. 3) I personally was not a fan of the flavor of the caramel. It's prepared separately, so you may want to taste it on the tip of a finger before you drown your serving in any.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix Select, Caramel Pecan Turtle
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 03, 2012
Reviewer: Terry in West Virginia
Amazing product! After eating low carb for a long time and looking for something chocolate that won't break the diet this is a really rich and good tasting brownie. Yes it is not the real thing but it is really close especially when they come right out of the oven! I topped it off with some carb free chocolate syrup and little heavy whipping cream and I felt I was eating a sundae! It was delicious. Highly recommend this product for those chocolate cravings
This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 22, 2012
Reviewer: A customer in Delaware
I love these brownies! Just the convenience of not having to make it from scratch is good enough but when you do them right they hit the spot. I have not been able to hit that spot for a long time now without sugar and flour. I am extremely Carbohydrate sensitive since my hormones have started to drop off and these again fit the bill. The Carmel overload and the Turtle are the best.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix Select, Caramel Pecan Turtle
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 27, 2012
Reviewer: Brandi in Colorado
These brownies are very good and taste close enough to the real thing for me. Will buy again.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix, Caramel Overload
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 09, 2010
Reviewer: A customer in Delaware
Great product for no gluten, low carb and no sugar. Add a little cream cheese while baking and it will stay moist too.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix Select, Caramel Pecan Turtle
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 10, 2010
Reviewer: A customer in Mississippi
I was thinking this was costly for low carb brownies but it comes with brownie mix, the pecans, and the caramel in 3 different packets. It taste very good too. Totally worth the cost and very moist...just make sure you don't over cook. I plan to use this for my birthday cake this year it was that good:)
This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix Select, Caramel Pecan Turtle
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 04, 2010
Reviewer: Debbie in Utah
I just tried the carb counters brownies! yummm! I added some walnuts on top. I am so thankful for finding products with no gluten, wheat and low carb!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 30, 2010
Reviewer: Lorie in Indiana
These are so moist and delicious. You have to follow the cooking directions. If you overcook them even a little, they are dry. Take them out of the oven, even though they don't look done. I like to add walnuts. Taste like the real thing. Very low carb.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 20, 2010
Reviewer: janet in Missouri
Another easy to make,delicious dessert from Dixie Diner! These Brownies make me HAPPY! One problem is, they don't stick around long! Order em' today- You wont regret it!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 16, 2009
Reviewer: Paula in California
I've been using this product for the past 3-4 years. I use it to make muffins and they come out fluffy and delicious. It allows me to enjoy a breakfast bread without consuming unwanted carbs. It's totally eliminated my desire for pastries.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 25, 2009
Reviewer: Marialanea in New Hampshire
I really enjoyed making and eating the Caramel Overload Brownie mix!! I think it is better then store bought brownies!! The price is a little high...
This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix, Caramel Overload
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 12, 2009
Reviewer: Judith in North Carolina
Delicious and easy to make.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 05, 2009
Reviewer: Suzanne in California
These were really good. I added some vanilla flavored agave nectar to sweeten them up a bit more but had to bake them a little longer. They were delicious.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix Select, Caramel Pecan Turtle
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 11, 2009
Reviewer: Priscilla in Florida
The brownies are amazing! I eat them warm with lo carb vanilla ice cream. They taste sinful!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix, Caramel Overload
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 28, 2009
Reviewer: linda in California
After writing some bad reviews, (like their ready made fudge) and bread sticks and pita chips, I thought I better come in here and say this mix is so good that my 5th grader eats it. I used the extra egg and it was like a piece of fluffy cake and would have been too light if it did not have that yummy caramel topping. I am going to make it the "brownie" way next. This is really good.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix, Caramel Overload
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 15, 2009
Reviewer: A customer in Texas
Wonderful product, rich taste and cake-like texture.

I substituted LaNouba sugar-free marshmallows for marshmallow cream as topping, then spread with Dixie Diner Carb Counters Chocolate Butter Frosting Mix. Sprinkle 1/3 cup ground pecans over frosting. The result: Decadently delicious, guilt-free low carb version of Mississippi Mud Cake.

This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 07, 2009
Reviewer: John in Wisconsin
Great taste, easy to prepare. They have helped out greatly with my low carb diet and weight loss.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 28, 2008
Reviewer: Amy in Missouri
My son loves these with some redi whip on top. They freeze well also.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 16, 2008
Reviewer: Vicki in New Mexico
I have tried this before and I was really surprised that it tasted so good. Most low carb and low sugar products do not taste good.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix, Caramel Overload
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 06, 2008
Reviewer: Sharon in Arizona
Delicious! I made a batch of these today and am so pleased with them I had to make another order.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 30, 2008
Reviewer: Karen in New Jersey
Awesome brownies. Even the kids loved them. We made them with 3 eggs so they were more "cake like" and they were terrific.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 11, 2008
Reviewer: Linda in West Virginia
Although expensive, especially when you add the additional ingredients required, my husband and I really love this brownie mix. We keep them refrigerated and boy are they good like this....almost like fudge.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 11, 2008
Reviewer: Amber in Texas
I made the Caramel Overload brownies; they were wonderful, and I just purchased more. Make sure you do NOT over bake as they can get dry. I remedied this situation by making my take of 'tres leche' by placing the warm brownies on a bed of sweet cream (whipping cream, sweetener, vanilla). The brownies soaked up the cream and my husband and I felt like we were cheating on the diet. They were SOOOO Good!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 10, 2008
Reviewer: Debra in Maine
These are awesome!! I made them with 3 eggs and they were more like cake. Next time I will try 2 eggs to make them more like brownies. But they are really delicious!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 03, 2008
Reviewer: Howard in Pennsylvania
The caramel overload brownies are pure gooey sweetness. I love to eat one while they're still warm. They also taste great later from the refrigerator or microwaved.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix, Caramel Overload
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 29, 2008
Reviewer: A customer in California
Very tasty and good chocolate taste.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix, Caramel Overload
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 20, 2008
Reviewer: Debra in Michigan
The brownies were moist, easy to make and very tasty. A slight "diet" aftertaste lingered, but very tolerable. I made sandwiches with them by taking 2 brownies and placed some frozen low fat whipped topping between them. Reminded me of an ice cream sandwich!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 20, 2008
Reviewer: Madeline in Oklahoma
Really satisfied my chocolate turtle pecan craving! Don't overbake - just delicious!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix Select, Caramel Pecan Turtle
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 01, 2008
Reviewer: Misty in Ohio
I love these brownies! I'm glad I ordered two of them at once because as soon as one pan was gone, I had to make another. Mine came out more like cake- not really fudgy like you would expect a brownie. I thought maybe I overcooked so I cut two minutes off the bake time for the second pan. Still came out like cake - but still so yummy! Good for that chocolate fix and only 1 carb per serving- ROCK ON!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 31, 2008
Reviewer: ann in Texas
This product is great but they have just about priced themselves out for me. A $2.00 increase is way toooo much.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 29, 2008
Reviewer: Cyndi in New Jersey
Yummy Yummy Yummy!!! If you like wet brownies, add in a can of the Instone Chocolate Pudding. These are the best brownies in the world, Low Carb or NOT!!

Make sure not to over cook them. If you do, they are more like a cake and not near as tasty!

This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix, Caramel Overload
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 21, 2007
Reviewer: Julie in Texas
These are excellent and a tasty treat for us low carb dieters. These will go bad in a hurry so follow the directions and put in the fridge or the freezer.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 14, 2007
Reviewer: Linda in Washington
One of the best brownie mixes I have made - would never know it's low carb - Can't miss with this one.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 27, 2007
Reviewer: Debra in Arizona
It was really good, one of the better low carb products I've tried. A bit expensive since you have to add your own eggs, chocolate and heavy cream though.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 02, 2007
Reviewer: Dianne in California
Caramel Overload Brownies are great! Can't keep them in the house (even the time I almost set the microwave on fire heating the caramel sauce -- in a plastic measuring cup-- I know -- FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS! ha -- my fault. But they were still good even without the sauce!). Going to try the Caramel Pecan Turtle Brownies next.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Brownie Mix, Caramel Overload
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

< Previous     |  1 2  |     Next >

Hot Products













Shop quickly using your personal Order History! View prior purchases to re-order the same products! $4.99 shipping charge for the entire order within the contiguous 48 United States. 5% Discount on Orders of $200 or more! Retailers: Volume Discounts Available. All Products Are In Stock Unless Marked Out Of Stock. Really! Don't Settle for Less. Learn how to get FREE stuff! - T-Shirts, Shaker Bottles, and More! Go To Top of Page

Ordering Instructions
Display Shopping Cart
Checkout
Update Account / Order History
Subscribe to our Mailing Lists
Links To Other Sites
Home
Frequently Asked Questions
Contact Us
Food Nutrients
Affiliate Program
Gift Certificates
Secure Ordering

If you have a website, blog or facebook page, join
Netrition's Affiliate Program* and start earning cash today! Now paying 20%*


Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.

Copyright © 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement