Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies
Netrition Logo Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout Account Settings Ordering Policies Netrition Netrition Home
Flat $4.99 Shipping in 48 States
Popular Categories
• All Categories
• Low Carb Products
• Gluten Free Products
• Bariatric Approved
• Bars
• Diet and Weight Loss
• Herbs
• Minerals
• Muscle Builders
• Protein
• Vitamins
• Best Sellers
• Customer Reviews

Popular Brands
• Atkins Nutritionals
• BSN
• Designer Whey Protein
• EAS
• MHP
• Muscle Meds
• Muscle Pharm
• MuscleTech
• NOW
• Optimum Nutrition
• Ultimate Nutrition
• Universal Nutrition
• USP Labs

Deals!
• Sale Items
• Clearance Sale
• Promotions
• Freebies

Information
• Product Analyzer
• Message Boards
• Food Nutrients
• Recall Notices

Ordering
• My Account
• Shopping Cart
• Checkout
• Policies

Help
• New Customer Help
• Contact Us
• About Us

Join Netrition on Facebook! Join us on Facebook!


Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report. Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report.

Walden Farms
Sauce  Buy Sauce

Write an online review for
Sauce (Walden Farms)

49 Reviews
Average rating
(19)
(3)
(5)
(3)
(19)

Customer Reviews  

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful.
November 01, 2006
Reviewer: Anna in Colorado
Oh My! This is the best! Since starting Nutrisystems 6 months ago I thought Alfredo Sauce was a thing of the past, but now that I have successfully been on maintenance for over a month I thought I would give this sauce a try. I loved it. My husband, who is totally against anything sugar free or low fat, didn't know it was Walden's and gobbled it right up. He even commented that it tasted better than other Alfredo Sauces that seem so heavy. I am buying more of it today!
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Alfredo
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful.
July 29, 2009
Reviewer: Jeff in Florida
I was thoroughly surprised at how delicious this sauce was. I mix half a jar with no cal noodles and it is a meal in itself. Perfect for a low calorie diet or for those times when you are on Atkins and feel like you just have to have some kind of sauce to break up the monotony of protein by itself. For breakfast, I have a no carb, no fat protein shake, for lunch, I have half a jar of either the alfredo or marinara sauce with either 4-6 oz. ground beef or skinless, boneless chicken, or a can of water packed tuna. Add the no calorie noodles and I'm good to go. Very filling and delicious. The the same for dinner. I'm losing about 1 lb. per day on this system.(It works out to less than 300 calories per meal with everything I mentioned.)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
August 04, 2009
Reviewer: Nancy in Pennsylvania
I absolutely love Walden Farms Marinara Sauce. I serve it over shirataki noodles for a delicious, no calorie meal! How great is that!!
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Tomato & Basil
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
October 15, 2007
Reviewer: Robert in New Jersey
I would easily rate the Alfredo and Scampi with 5 stars but only 4 for the Marinara because it's too spicy for me. Heck, black pepper is too spicy for me. The Scampi is so good that I often put it on toast instead of butter. It's amazing that these sauces are sugar free, fat free, and calorie free. I've also tried many of the salad dressings and, again, the ones I love are due to my own personal tastes. This is a fine product.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful.
May 12, 2007
Reviewer: David in Florida
The Alfredo is fantastic. Put it over Dreamfields, add some low carb cheese, GREAT!
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Alfredo
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 07, 2014
Reviewer: Susan in Maryland
This sauce is terrific. I love cooking with tomato flavor, but other products have too many carbs. This is the perfect solution. I use it in casseroles, on lavash bread for "pizza", in chicken parmesan, and everything where I want a nice tomato flavor.
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Tomato & Basil
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 13, 2014
Reviewer: Karleen in Minnesota
Fry up some shrimp with a little olive oil, add the sauce when the shrimp is almost done - cook the sauce down to your desired thickness. Serve with spaghetti squash - voila! Low Carb Shrimp Scampi - delicious!
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Garlic & Herb
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 24, 2013
Reviewer: Barbara in Florida
This is sooo good. I use it on a low carb tortilla to make pizza. Add low carb cheese some veggies like red pepper and sliced plum tomato and sliced mushrooms. Excellent satisfying pizza.
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Tomato & Basil
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 08, 2012
Reviewer: melanie in Maryland
So good you can eat it from the jar! I don't know how Walden Farms does it - but I'm worshiping at their doorstep. I just ordered another 200$ worth of their products because I CANNOT do without. These sauces, like all their items, are absolutely delicious and a life saver for those of us on strict life-long diets.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 21, 2012
Reviewer: Sarah in Massachusetts
I have tried many Walden Farms products, and honestly, most of the time they are so bad that they end up in the garbage. The Alfredo Sauce pleasantly surprised me. It has a mildly sweet, peppery flavor, which compliments everything from low-carb pasta to steamed broccoli. I've also mixed it with weight watchers cream cheese (low fat/high fiber) to make a slightly richer sauce that's still way lower in fat and calories than regular alfredo sauce. It definitely needs the addition of salt, and adding other herbs, spices, and garlic would be yummy as well. I went through 4 jars in a week, and I'll definitely be back for more!
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Alfredo
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 09, 2011
Reviewer: Kenneth in Illinois
Great with vegetables.
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Tomato & Basil
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 04, 2011
Reviewer: April in Oklahoma
I was really surprised how good this actually was. I sauteed up some mushrooms, peppers, onions, garlic & broccoli and added about a half jar of Alfredo sauce. I ate it on Miracle Noodles with a bit of parmesan cheese. I was completely STUFFED for less than 100 calories!
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Alfredo
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 04, 2009
Reviewer: Wendie in Maine
I have purchased several types of the Walden Farms sauces. I have used the Alfredo sauce in the dishes I make. I use the tofu Shirataki noodles [20 cal/serving] and add cooked chicken or turkey, some veggies [onions, garlic, peppers, broccoli] stir fry it, then add the WF Alfredo sauce. Amazing! Add a little light parmesan cheese, and I have a great tasting [generous serving] of pasta alfredo. The calories are extremely low, as the sauce has ZERO calories, the noodles have 20 cal/serving, and the veggies are very low in calories. Only the meat is the big ticket item. So I get a nice serving of dinner for under 200 calories. Excellent!
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Alfredo
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 07, 2009
Reviewer: A customer in Illinois
I just used the marinara with some low carb shirataki noodles..added in some Italian sausage, some parm cheese and mushrooms. It was great!
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Tomato & Basil
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 17, 2008
Reviewer: Lauren in Illinois
The Alfredo is amazing with all things considered. I whipped up a fantastic dinner for my boyfriend and I using Dreamfields Spaghetti, this Alfredo, and some Chicken and it was great. I added some garlic powder to give it some more flavor and my boyfriend who usually hates all my diet food said 'Oh, I can definitely eat this!'
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Alfredo
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 06, 2007
Reviewer: Janice in Florida
These are great.. can't ask for any better!
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Garlic & Herb
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 30, 2007
Reviewer: Wendy in Florida
I was very impressed with the marinara sauce. I used it as pizza sauce on a low carb crust I made with CarbQuick, and it was fantastic!
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Tomato & Basil
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 01, 2007
Reviewer: A customer in Delaware
I would definitely recommend this item to anyone who is looking for that "real" flavor. This is one of my favorites! Besides pasta, I've used it on chicken, fish & vegetables (tastes really great on grilled vegetables)!
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Alfredo
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 03, 2007
Reviewer: pamela in Texas
I found it thin, but once heated up it thickened quickly. It was WONDERFUL!! Would recommend to everyone.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 13, 2013
Reviewer: Isabelle in New York
I enjoy Walden farm products but some of their products can use some doctoring up. This is one of them. The texture is okay but the taste is on the bland side. I will stir in a bit of WF thick and spicy BBQ sauce to give it a little kick or for a more pronounced cheese taste, will add nutritional yeast, adding a bit of reduced fat Parmesan cheese has been successful. Adding salt and garlic powder has proven effective in creating a taste closer to the real Alfredo flavor. Given this product is calorie free and allows me to have a pasta inspired dish(I use spaghetti squash or julienned zucchini) is a huge plus. Worth trying and experimenting with.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 22, 2011
Reviewer: Wendy in Pennsylvania
I use the Alfredo and Tomato & Basil Pasta Sauces. Both add welcome flavor at just the cost of some sodium, to some of my more bland veggie heavy meals. I don't need to add salt, or much else, in the way of condiments.

The Tomato & Basil Sauce is a shade that is into the pink range. That put me off the first time I used it. Upon reflection, I decided that the addition of it's taste trumped the visual aspect.

The Alfredo Sauce taste is a little strong for my palate, but it still adds welcome flavoring.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 06, 2007
Reviewer: Helen in Washington
We tasted the Alfredo Sauce cold in the jar and were skeptical, but added it to steamed broccoli with cooked chicken breast strips & whole grain pasta, warmed it up and it was great. We did top it with a little parmesan cheese. It seemed to taste even better after sitting for a couple of minutes on the plate. My hubby says do it again, and the lack of calories and carbs was a real plus! It's best to keep an open mind when trying new items such as this. You shouldn't expect it to be exactly like whatever you were using before because it's not, but this is pretty close.
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Alfredo
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 01, 2011
Reviewer: Elizabeth in Indiana
Heavy on the garlic, light on the butter.

I was so happy that I got my order in! I wanted to try this right away. I am a big fan of Walden Farms foods, however I do take them with a grain of salt, and other additives. The trick with Walden Farms products is to know that they aren't the real deal and to not expect them to be, and to be creative once you have them. I would never eat anything by Walden on its own...the products aren't meant to fly solo (for example, the peanut spread....alone, very questionable, a little dab on celery, and it's perfectly fine).

The Scampi sauce was very garlicky, not so buttery, which isn't a big surprise. The alfredo lacked that creamy butter part too. So, like the alfredo, I added no calorie butter spray, and in the scampi's case, served it with broccoli, spinach and shirataki noodles. Still heavy on the garlic, but I definitely get that scampi fix.

I'd recommend the product, just remember, like all Walden Products, you might need to spruce it up to make it passable in your own book.

This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Garlic & Herb
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 25, 2011
Reviewer: Elizabeth in Indiana
I tried this today, and it's not alfredo. It has that sweet taste most Walden Farms products have. That said, it isn't entirely unpalatable, especially if you spruce it up. I added that zero calorie butter spray and voila, passable alfredo. The faux butter spray helped remove the sweet taste, and added that butter flavor with negligible calories. If it weren't for the pasta, I'd be relatively happy with the final calorie count.
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Alfredo
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 09, 2008
Reviewer: Jennifer in North Carolina
The marinara sauce is not bad. It's very thin and has a bit of a chemical taste, but if you add in some of your own spices it's okay. The alfredo sauce is revolting.
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Tomato & Basil
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 21, 2008
Reviewer: Lauren in Georgia
The Marinara was almost inedible...tastes like a mix of french dressing and ketchup. Even when I added some regular marinara to it, the WF overpowered it and it tasted the same! It has the consistency of water. I give the marinara a 1.

On the other hand, I like the Alfredo ok. It has a bit too much of a tangy/sweet flavor and needs more of a creamy/cheesy taste. It tastes better with some grated Parmesan and pepper. It is pretty thin too but after heating it thickens up as it sets. I would give the Alfredo a 4.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 14, 2007
Reviewer: Kim in France
Doesn't really taste good, but considering it's calorie & carb-free, it can be a good alternative if really you need one. A bit thin, has that specific weird-sour taste all the Walden Farm calorie-free products have, but it is bearable. I would use this product again, unless others of this range (marshmallow dip, salad dressing) I tried.
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Alfredo
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 16, 2009
Reviewer: gina in Michigan
It tasted like an artificial butter sauce (alfredo). But not a good one. Wouldn't recommend.
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Alfredo
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 23, 2009
Reviewer: Jenifer in Tennessee
I tried the marinara and didn't care for it. It is a lot thinner/runnier than a normal marinara and doesn't leave a terribly delightful aftertaste, either.
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Tomato & Basil
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
February 01, 2008
Reviewer: A customer in Texas
I didn't like it.
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Alfredo
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful.
November 29, 2008
Reviewer: dorothea in Rhode Island
GOD AWFUL! ABSOLUTELY VILE! My tongue may never recover! I like a few of the Walden products and then I tried the Alfredo Pasta sauce. The people who gave this a rating above a star are obviously delirious from hunger, have a genetic defect in their taste buds or work for Walden Farms and were paid. This is swill in a jar! I am pretty sure I will bring that smell and taste to my grave...yes, it is that bad! It was a bit thin so I heated it up with some grilled chicken breast and it congealed into a revolting goo. I actually spit it out after the first bite. I could not wash the flavor off the chicken so we tossed it! I now think I am suffering from PTSS as I keep having flavor flash-backs. My dog Puggy, who has been known to eat his own poo, took one sniff and walked away! Try it at your own risk.
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Alfredo
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful.
March 05, 2007
Reviewer: Alana in Nevada
Gave it a one because there was no 0.

This alfredo sauce was completely inedible, one taste and I threw it out. Truly awful, to the point where I am now afraid to try other Walden products.

Ick.

This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Alfredo
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
October 05, 2008
Reviewer: Antoinette in Louisiana
I have not tried the Marinara or Scampi sauces, but I have tried the Alfredo. Whoever said it was toxic waste was right on the money. The sauce was so horrible I threw out the entire meal, and the rest of the jar. I expect a certain "give" with diet foods, I know they usually don't taste like their full calorie/carb/fat counterparts, but the taste of this product was unforgivable. A real shame because I generally like Walden Farms products.
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Alfredo
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 02, 2014
Reviewer: Thomas in California
Are you sure this is pasta sauce? It tastes like dessert topping. This stuff is super sweet (made with sucralose) and has a syrupy texture. It doesn't taste much like tomato or basil and did I mention it is sweet? Like barbecue sauce kind of sweet, except none of the tangy vinegar flavor to balance it out. Hmmm... Maybe that's what I'll do. I'll add some vinegar and seasonings and use it on barbecue.
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Tomato & Basil
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 18, 2013
Reviewer: Marcy in Texas
Walden Farms tomato & basil pasta sauce is possibly the worst-tasting product I've ever had in my mouth, a combination of rancid ketchup and crankcase oil. I actually detected a licorice flavor in there somewhere. Awful.
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Tomato & Basil
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 08, 2012
Reviewer: Colleen in Virginia
I am so sorry to have to write this review - but I purchased this sauce after having read several positive reviews & I must offer the opposite viewpoint. This was so bad I poured it down the drain. Taste: awful. Walden Farms makes loads of wonderful products so don't let this sauce put you off them. (especially the salad dressings & the fruit spreads - oh yes, and the syrups - excellent)
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Tomato & Basil
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 21, 2012
Reviewer: A customer in North Carolina
vile isn't a strong enough word for how horrible, disgusting, wretched and inedible Walden Farms alfredo sauce is. I wish I had read the negative reviews before trying. I don't so much care about wasting the money, but I could have gone my whole life without tasting THAT taste...
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Alfredo
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 03, 2012
Reviewer: nicole in Illinois
yuck! has a horrible chemical/sweet flavor to it. tried adding garlic powder,parmesan, and butter and that did not help. would not reccomend buying this if you are wanting it to taste anything remotely close to alfredo.
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Alfredo
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 13, 2009
Reviewer: Angie in Texas
Unfortunately, the Alfredo Sauce didn't measure up. It tasted very sweet and had a bad after taste. Angie in Texas
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Alfredo
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 03, 2009
Reviewer: Kally in Oregon
I CANT EVEN BEGIN TO EXPLAIN THE TASTE OF THIS PRODUCT! THE WORST THING IVE EVER TASTED! NO EXAGGERATION! HONESTLY DONT THINK YOU COULD ADD A THING TO COVER UP THE AWFUL TASTE! I CANT GET IT OUT OF MY MOUTH!
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Alfredo
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 23, 2009
Reviewer: A customer in Kansas
I cannot possibly begin to describe the taste as I never tasted anything like it. It certainly is not Alfredo I am tasting! It has a disgusting type of twang. I ordered 2 bottles after having such luck with the seafood sauce, ketchup, and syrups. Big mistake! It is just nasty.
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Alfredo
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
December 29, 2008
Reviewer: Mary Jo in Minnesota
I got the alfredo and the marina sauce The alfredo is terrible. Haven't tried the marina yet to scared haha It has a weird taste like chemical/bitter taste not good Didn't want to waste any cheese on it in case that didn't work so just didn't eat it I love everything else I have tried just not this............
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Alfredo
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 07, 2008
Reviewer: MARCIA in Wisconsin
Tried the Alfredo sauce, yuck. I threw the rest of the jar in the trash. Make your own with cream, parm cheese and butter.
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Alfredo
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 25, 2008
Reviewer: Amanda in Indiana
Did not like the Alfredo. It was thin at first but congealed when I heated it. I tried mixing it with other things, but nothing worked. Don't try it!
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Alfredo
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 11, 2008
Reviewer: kathy in Pennsylvania
I tried the Alfredo sauce and sorry to say it was terrible.

I tried to add cheese and butter to make it better and it didn't help. I usually love Walden Farms but this time they missed the mark on this one!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 07, 2007
Reviewer: Jennifer in New York
Oh my Heavens........ ICK!! UGH! I tried the Walden Farms Alfredo and Marinara via my local grocery market. I was honestly nauseous from even the aroma and then the FLAVOR..?..?.. GAG - GAG - GAG!!! No exaggeration what so ever!! I couldn't throw it out fast enough. The Alfredo is the absolute WORST thing you could possibly buy. Thanks for trying, Walden Farms, but please TRY AGAIN.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 27, 2007
Reviewer: Joseph in Louisiana
I tasted the alfredo sauce and actually gagged. I refused to serve it to my family and instead gave it to my dog. He wouldn't eat it either. I ended up making a sauce from scratch, and eating two hours late. Maybe the sauce recipe has changed. I'm almost certain mine was labelled "Lo Carb" and not "Calorie Free". Still, I don't think I'll buy any Walden Farms product again.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 11, 2007
Reviewer: A customer in New Jersey
I thought I'd give the scampi sauce a try...first of all it's pricey, for something I could have made with butter, herbs & some garlic. Second of all, the taste was horrid, totally reaked chemical flavor. I immediately threw it out. Don't waste your money. Make homemade.
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Garlic & Herb
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 16, 2007
Reviewer: Rachel in Wisconsin
I tried the Alfredo and found it to be thin, and it also had way too much black pepper for my taste. I threw it out.
This review is specific to Pasta Sauce, Alfredo
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Hot Products













Shop quickly using your personal Order History! View prior purchases to re-order the same products! $4.99 shipping charge for the entire order within the contiguous 48 United States. 5% Discount on Orders of $200 or more! Retailers: Volume Discounts Available. All Products Are In Stock Unless Marked Out Of Stock. Really! Don't Settle for Less. Learn how to get FREE stuff! - T-Shirts, Shaker Bottles, and More! Go To Top of Page

Ordering Instructions
Display Shopping Cart
Checkout
Update Account / Order History
Subscribe to our Mailing Lists
Links To Other Sites
Home
Frequently Asked Questions
Contact Us
Food Nutrients
Affiliate Program
Gift Certificates
Secure Ordering

If you have a website, blog or facebook page, join
Netrition's Affiliate Program* and start earning cash today! Now paying 20%*


Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.

Copyright © 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement