Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 January 24, 2007
    Reviewer: Laura in Illinois
    * This makes a really great pizza if you do it right. The first time I made it the pizza was kind of dry (I followed the directions). The second time I made it I was out of olive oil so I substituted whipped butter. It was REALLY AWESOME. Just like real pizza. Anyway, it worked for me, and I am a total pizza addict. I was really missing my pizza.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
    4/5 May 20, 2007
    Reviewer: Leslie in Illinois
    * There are a few products on the market designed to be a low-carb substitute for pizza crust. Pizza being one of my favorite foods, I have tried most of them and none is really an adequate substitute for the real thing, in my opinion, and some are simply dreadful with severe problems in both texture and flavor. In that context alone my rating would probably be no more than 1 or 2. My rating, however, is primarily based on how the product performs on its own -- I subtracted one point for its inadequacy as a substitute for pizza.

    The fact is, the product produced a pretty tasty crust. Its consistency was quite a bit different from normal pizza crust -- it had no particular crispness to it and overall a slightly spongy feel. The crust mix contains herbs and other flavorings which really work nicely together, however, and the end result is quite tasty. It might not be enough to completely stave off any cravings for pizza but as a vehicle for serving pizza toppings it works pretty well and might at least provide an every day alternative to pizza which one could supplement with the occasional indulgence in the real thing.

    In reheating the slices, I first microwaved them, then fried them briefly in a little olive oil to drive out some of the moisture which microwaving inevitably adds to bread-like products. The resulting texture, I felt, was superior to the product fresh from the oven and the olive oil added to the flavor as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 February 09, 2011
    Reviewer: Michael in North Carolina
    * I only gave this a 1 because the scale does not go to 0. You will think that they mistakenly sent you cornbread mix - except a pizza on cornbread would taste better. I've been low-carbing for over a decade, and this is the worst low-carb product that I have ever tasted. This is a waste of $6+ dollars for the crust mix plus however much extra you will waste on toppings. Oh yeah, I did not care for this product.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    4/5 December 14, 2006
    Reviewer: Brian in Colorado
    * This pizza dough depends on the pizza your making! I've made a couple of pizzas that were awful, dry and chalking tasting. However, I've also made many pizzas that have lots of moisture in the toppings, like lots of cheese and sauce, vegetables, etc. and the pizzas come out great! I've also learned at 5200 ft. elevation, to cook the pizza only 17 minutes at 425F which keeps from drying them out. If your pizzas are tasting dry, cook them a shorter time!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 May 28, 2014
    Reviewer: Terrasa in Massachusetts
    * I made this crust following the directions and it was dry, but I decided to try again, adding butter or butter substitute for the second batch. We have now been eating this crust for almost a year and we absolutely love our pizza nights! So my recommendation is to add butter until you get a nice wet dough consistency, roll/press very thin, use a pizza tray [holes in the bottom], and put the sauce on first.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    4/5 February 13, 2008
    Reviewer: Anne in Pennsylvania
    * Great pantry item - if you have some sauce and cheese on hand. The pizza I make tastes OK if I put on lots of sauce, cheese and spicy vegies or meat. I have trouble getting the dough thin enough without breaking. I can get three good sized servings from one bag - so be careful if you are counting carbs - 1/3 is more than one serving.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 September 21, 2012
    Reviewer: Gregory in California
    * Imagine eating pizza toppings on a dry non-sweet cookie. Not my idea of pizza crust. And, believe me, plenty of sauce and moist toppings were added.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 May 13, 2012
    Reviewer: Dr. Barry in Georgia
    * I was surprised to taste the results. Imagine putting raw flour in your mouth that had just come out of the oven. There was very little body to the baked final product Nothing at all like the pizza dough final product once consumed in the past. Save your money and keep searching for another crust product.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 March 13, 2012
    Reviewer: Mary in New Mexico
    * This pizza crust had the worst taste the dough is seasoned which is what made it so gross and when it is cooked the taste and texture are so bad it does not spread out on the pizza pan very well I will never purchase this item again and I can not return it to much time has passed.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 September 16, 2011
    Reviewer: Barbara in Texas
    * The taste was fine, but after a few bites the crust became not so great! It sucked up my sauce and pretty much just became a means to get pizza toppings in your mouth. There is no after taste, but as I am typing this and had finished eating about 30 mins ago, my mouth has a strange tingle that followed the tickling sensation in the back of my mouth and throat. No, think this is a pass and am glad I just got the one bag, because the other half is going in the trash.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 March 24, 2010
    Reviewer: Howard in Indiana
    * I'm sorry, but this product was terrible. I had no problem mixing with the olive oil, egg and water and I had no problem spreading on the baking pan. I even put the cheese on the crust first so it wouldn't get mushy and then the sauce and then the toppings. I baked it for 20 minutes and the outside crust looked nice and crispy and I thought hurray this is going to be great. What a disappointment. I ended up eating the toppings off of it and throwing out the crust. I have read all the reviews and the people that say this tastes like real pizza or, even a Boboli Wheat Crust would be acceptable, must not have any taste buds.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 August 06, 2009
    Reviewer: Rebecca in Pennsylvania
    * Yuck is all I have to say. My 2 year old granddaughter wouldn't even eat it and she, like me loves any kind of pizza.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 February 13, 2009
    Reviewer: Elizabeth in Ohio
    * I'm sorry if this sounds harsh, but this product is awful. The mix is not the consistency of pizza dough. It is more like wet sawdust...although I think the sawdust may taste better. It does not spread out, it bakes up "mealy" and "crumbly" and now I will be throwing out the second crust for a product that I paid $6 for! This is the most frustrating part of lo-carb eating. Alternatively, try the low-carb tortillas with pizza toppings, or stuff a low-carb Pita bread with Pepperoni, Cheese, and sauce for a pizza pocket. This is much, much better.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 February 22, 2008
    Reviewer: Karol in Maine
    * I read all the reviews before deciding to try this product. We have eaten several other Dixie Dinner products and enjoyed them. We were dieing for pizza! My husband carefully followed directions on the package as was suggested by reviewers and added a simple cheese and sausage topping. We baked it according to directions- it smelled so good! Then we tasted it-YUCK! It had a mealy bread like consistency- totally wrong for pizza. We didn't like the flavor. We tried just eating the toppings but finally threw the whole thing out. We were very disappointed and would not recommend this pizza mix.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 August 27, 2007
    Reviewer: Lyman in Texas
    * This does not make a real pizza crust. It makes a gooey substance that has a terrible texture and I consider it to be inedible. My wife and I took the toppings off after trying it and just threw this product in the garbage. I have tried one other low-carb pizza crust mix of which I cannot recall the name. It was a real crust and delicious.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 November 14, 2006
    Reviewer: Lisa in Ohio
    * Don't waste your money on this stuff. You could never make a pizza with this stuff. I could barely get it to spread out on to my pizza stone, and it was so sticky and moist. I even baked it before adding the sauce, but we just tossed the entire thing. Tried making the flat bread too. It came out really dry and not worth the time or cash.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 October 23, 2006
    Reviewer: Andrea in Iowa
    * This product is terrible! It is overly seasoned and spiced, making it have a salty taste. I add salt to everything and it was too salty for me! I am very disappointed that I wasted all the ingredients to make a pizza and I had to throw it away. It was awful!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 16, 2014
    Reviewer: Dewey in North Carolina
    * Different than store bought but very tasty.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 03, 2011
    Reviewer: Lois in New Jersey
    * I used this product the first and only time so far to make a base for a lasagna-type casserole. I formed it into a focaccia shape on non-stick aluminum foil that was the same dimensions as my 11" x 7" Pyrex dish and baked it, then put it in the bottom of my glass dish (will probably bake it right in the Pyrex dish next time). Topped with cooked, crumbled sausage; dollops of ricotta mixed with egg, parmesan, mozzarella, minced parsley, S&P; low-carb tomato sauce; more shredded mozzarella and grated parmesan; a sprinkle of dried oregano on top; and about 15 slices of pepperoni that I pre-cooked in a non-stick pan for extra crispness and to remove some of the grease. Baked uncovered in a 425 oven for 35 mins and it really hit the mark for my Italian food craving. The crust on the bottom made it easy to serve. My husband and I had to try very hard not to inhale the first piece too quickly, but all attempts were futile. We split a second serving and had plenty to take to work for lunch as leftovers. I think it made 6 generous or 8 smaller servings.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 03, 2010
    Reviewer: Rachel in Missouri
    * Very good low carb alternative. I am so excited to be able to eat pizza again!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 25, 2009
    Reviewer: Angela in North Carolina
    * THIS PIZZA CRUST WAS AWESOME! We started low-carbing for the new year and my family and I have really missed pizza for the weekly Friday night dinner and a movie. I made this for my family this past Friday evening and it was great! The crust was really crisp even after adding ALL those toppings! Our 5-year old daughter could not tell the difference and my husband is a hard sell for low-carb products. I followed the directions exact, using the olive oil. I don't think you'll be disappointed. I am back on here to re-order more.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 01, 2008
    Reviewer: Sandra in Wisconsin
    * For a low carb pizza crust this was really good. It bakes up well and actually crisps unlike other brands that tend to be like rubber. It also holds up when you add a few too many toppings! The added spices make it the perfect flat bread or crust.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 11, 2007
    Reviewer: Dorena in New Mexico
    * Easy to use and tastes great!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 October 17, 2007
    Reviewer: Valerie in Kansas
    * Just made this pizza crust mix with the whipped butter---it's GREAT!! This is the best low-carb pizza crust I have tried. Will be ordering this again!!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    4/5 July 29, 2007
    Reviewer: Tammy in Armed Forces AP
    * I followed the directions, but the crust turned out really dry. Next time I'm going to follow the other poster's recipe with the whipped butter. BTW-I got really bad heartburn after eating this pizza.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 July 31, 2015
    Reviewer: Dennis in Ohio
    * Made a "pizza" this evening with the Carb Counters Pizza Crust Mix from Dixie USA. Followed the directions exactly. Hand formed the dough into a 10" circle, added sauce, little cheese, mushrooms, onions, green peppers and baked according to instructions. Baked it on a cookie sheet with a spray. Smelled great while baking. Allowed it to cool a bit, sliced and then sampled it. Taste is good. It's the texture that wasn't anything like a pizza. Way too cake-like. Crumbly and kind of dry. The taste of the "crust' was good...just not doughy. Did I do something wrong? I think this would make an ok flatbread.....maybe a little flavored olive oil, herbs, some bits of veggies. It would be fine. But nothing like any kind of pizza crust I have ever had. Not thin, not Chicago style thick....just nothing like pizza crust. And again it was more than edible. It's good. Perhaps next time I will spread the dough out thinner so that it could be less cake like. I am open to any and all suggestions or tips.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 May 28, 2012
    Reviewer: Daniel in Massachusetts
    * I was so disappointed with this pizza crust, it was very dry and crumbly it was not edible and my husband and I ended up just eating the cheese and toppings off our "pizza." I love the idea of this but unfortunately this missed the mark save your money and make your own!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 October 10, 2008
    Reviewer: Dana in Alabama
    * I usually like Dixie Diner products, but not this one. It ruined the pizza for us. I use the Mama Lupe's tortilla and just pile on the toppings...way better. We won't try this one again.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 September 26, 2007
    Reviewer: A customer in Ohio
    * I was going to give this a try,but after reading the reviews,not so sure yet. If anyone has actually found a GOOD lowcarb pizza crust, try to REMEMBER what it was! and come back and let us know, PLEASE!!!!!! We need help here!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2016 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.