Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies
Netrition Logo Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout Account Settings Ordering Policies Netrition Netrition Home
Flat $4.95 Shipping in 48 States
Popular Categories
• All Categories
• Low Carb Products
• Gluten Free Products
• Bariatric Approved
• Bars
• Diet and Weight Loss
• Herbs
• Minerals
• Muscle Builders
• Protein
• Vitamins
• Best Sellers
• Customer Reviews

Popular Brands
• Atkins Nutritionals
• BSN
• Designer Whey Protein
• EAS
• MHP
• Muscle Meds
• Muscle Pharm
• MuscleTech
• NOW
• Optimum Nutrition
• Ultimate Nutrition
• Universal Nutrition
• USP Labs

Deals!
• Sale Items
• Clearance Sale
• Promotions
• Freebies

Information
• Product Analyzer
• Message Boards
• Food Nutrients

Ordering
• My Account
• Shopping Cart
• Checkout
• Policies

Help
• New Customer Help
• Contact Us
• About Us

Join Netrition on Facebook! Join us on Facebook!


Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report. Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report.

Dixie Diner
Carb Counters Hot Cereal

 
Write an online review for
Carb Counters Hot Cereal (Dixie Diner)

64 Reviews
Average rating
(37)
(5)
(6)
(3)
(13)

Customer Reviews  
< Previous     |  1 2  |     Next >

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful.
March 13, 2008
Reviewer: Betsy in North Carolina
I ordered, first time, a few months back -apple cinnamon and sweet maple flavors- and let them sit in the pantry for a long time. When I finally "got up for trying it", I wanted it every day! Delicious as is!!! But for extra nutrition or flavor variety, I add only ~1/3 cup water max, and supplement with cream, half&half, &/or one of about 10 DiVinci sugar-free syrups (ie banana, pancake syrup) I keep on hand. EXTRA YUM! ...Or I add a few crushed, fresh berries (great use for fruit at the "past prime" stage), &/or extra cinnamon, or broken pecans. ...But, again, these two flavors at least, are delicious as is!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.
April 01, 2010
Reviewer: Christina in New York
OK, so it's not oatmeal but you know what.. it's pretty darn good for low carb. Face it, if your a low carber, your choices are limited, but if you're in the mood for a hot cereal, this really hits the spot. I like to mix in the Oat fiber 500 for an extra smooth texture and additional volume with no additional added carbs. Also the cereal is already sweetened so all you need is some hot water. I also suggest giving it 1 minute in the microwave to make the texture even smoother, but keep an eye out or it will poof up and overflow.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Cinnamon Spice
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful.
February 27, 2012
Reviewer: Brandi in Colorado
I ordered sweet maple and apple cinnamon and I could not finish either of them. They were not very good at all and did not remind me of oatmeal or even malt o meal. I had to throw the rest away, I couldn't get anyone to eat it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
November 28, 2007
Reviewer: Ginny in Illinois
I LOVE the apple and cinnamon spice - very good. Wish the amount was a bit more per serving.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 03, 2014
Reviewer: Laura in Missouri
So glad I tried this cerea1. I really missed oatmeal and cream of wheat type hot cereals. I've tried the apple cinnamon, peaches & cream and cinnamon spice. The peach isn't very "peachy", so I've ordered some sugar free syrup to add to it! The apple flavor is ok, and the cinnamon spice is nice and neutral so I will try adding other syrups to that one. Its nice and filling too!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 25, 2013
Reviewer: Sara in Arkansas
Having to do low carb since I am a diabetic I miss my oatmeal. I love oatmeal. This is a great alternative and it does not raise my blood sugar. TASTES GREAT!( Crying with happiness!!) AND there is no funny after taste. I always order the apple cinnamon. Does not disappoint! I will order more!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 23, 2013
Reviewer: A customer in Connecticut
I love this product! One thing I really missed on Atkins was a bowl of hot oatmeal as breakfast or an evening snack. No, this is not exactly like the sugar sweetened packets you get in the store, but I actually like it better. To me,it is a cross between oatmeal and cream of wheat. I don't feel the peaches and cream had much flavor, but I add some frozen berries to it when I add the hot water anyway, so no biggie. So happy to have this and am reordering in the larger size in the apple cinnamon!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Peaches & Cream
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 15, 2013
Reviewer: Pam in Oklahoma
So excited to find this low carb hot cereal. I love the taste and prefer the plain over any of the flavors. It thickens as you stir and has great consistency.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 23, 2013
Reviewer: A customer in Oklahoma
I love oatmeal and cream of wheat but living a LC lifestyle I miss not having hot cereal. This is a perfect substitute! I order the natural flavor and add a little sprinkle of cinnamon and tsp of splenda. With only 3 net carbs per pkg can't beat it I highly recommend!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Natural Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 14, 2013
Reviewer: Vicki in Michigan
Delicious! I have this every morning for breakfast. As good as any regular hot oatmeal I've ever had. Makes a great low-calorie, low-carb snack in the winter too. So good...tastes like a warm, yummy oatmeal cookie! Highly recommend. You won't be disappointed.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 15, 2012
Reviewer: Connie in Ohio
On low carb, I really miss oatmeal - esp. on chilly mornings or if I'm sick. This tastes great!! And the peach flavor helps my fruit cravings.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Peaches & Cream
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 06, 2012
Reviewer: Brenda` in Virginia
At first I didn't care for the texture. I was so used to other kinds of oatmeal. But I have grown to love it and have a bowl almost every morning. The peach and cream to me didn't have much flavor, but I love the apple cinnamon.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 11, 2012
Reviewer: Lori in California
Thick and hearty with good flavor. Very filling..
This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 03, 2012
Reviewer: A customer in Michigan
Love this hot with sugar free maple syrup on it. But I daily have it mixed in a high protein yogurt with a few chopped walnuts tossed in. Let it set 10 minutes to absorb the yogurt and it tastes great and is high on the satiety list.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 20, 2012
Reviewer: Janice in Florida
Love this and could eat it every day..a bit too pricy for me though.. I tried the apple Cin and sweet maple.. I love the maple the best.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 12, 2011
Reviewer: Tamara in California
Excellent! It smells a wee bit pea-like but didn't taste like it. It actually tastes quite good and I didn't feel hungry for at least 5 hours after 2 packets of the cereal with some light soy milk. I sweeten it a bit more with splenda or a small amount of sugar free maple syrup. Glad I tried it despite my skepticism.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 22, 2011
Reviewer: Mark in Florida
This is an excellent substitution for regular oatmeal when you are on a low carb diet. Highly recommend. We buy the Sweet Maple and Cinnamon Spice and both are very good. My wife adds a splenda sometimes to the bowl to give it a little more sweetness.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 12, 2011
Reviewer: Lisa in Texas
I was glad to find a good low carb hot cereal. I love the maple and the cinnamon spice. I now eat it with a little splenda and cream every morning for breakfast. The regular is pretty good too. But I was not impressed with the apple cinnamon or the peaches and cream and would never order these 2 again.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 02, 2010
Reviewer: Susan in Texas
I keep this cereal at my office and have it most mornings for breakfast. I really like the natural flavor, and I add my own spices and flavorings. I like to add cinnamon and a few raisins, or apples or bananas. It has replaced oatmeal for me. I add a little splenda, some margarine, and cream for a satisfying breakfast.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Natural Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 28, 2010
Reviewer: Karen in Nebraska
Very good flavor, I really enjoy this product and I can not say that about too many other low carb foods. If you like oatmeal, you will like this.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 04, 2009
Reviewer: RICHARD in Tennessee
I just had some Dixie diner hot sweet maple cereal this morning. I added stevia and a little sugar free maple syrup and fat free promise margarine. It was excellent. My first time to eat it and I loved it.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 30, 2009
Reviewer: Susan in Texas
I really like this cereal. I have tried the natural flavor, and I use different spices and flavored syrups to make whatever flavor I am craving at the time. My current favorite combination is SF vanilla syrup, cinnamon, and half of a mashed ripe banana. I add a little butter spray and cream, and I love it! I am going to try some other flavors as well.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Natural Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 10, 2009
Reviewer: Greta in Wisconsin
I bought this item to try and I have to say I love it! I ordered Sweet maple and apple cinnamon. I like them both, but maple is my favorite. I just ordered more. I add a little butter and one packet of splenda. I would recommend this to oatmeal lovers.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 20, 2009
Reviewer: Kristine in Florida
Excellent cereal with great flavor. I've just reordered. Does not taste "fake" or like cardboard. I'm doing Atkins and this is a fabulous addition to my limited diet. If it's not sweet enough for you, just add half a packet of Splenda.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 09, 2009
Reviewer: Janice in Massachusetts
I love this hot cereal. Flavor (Sweet Maple) is quite tasty, and I usually only add a little bit of half-n-half and it's all set. Keeps my hunger at bay until lunchtime!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 19, 2009
Reviewer: Jerry in Minnesota
I add a TBS of butter,Splenda,heavy whipping cream and tsp (little less than) of cinnamon to original directions and come up with a hot cereal that I can't seem to get enough of. Keep in mind total carbs in how often you enjoy it and your total carb intake. So far I have only done this to the sweet maple
This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 16, 2009
Reviewer: John in Michigan
Great alternative to standard oatmeal you find at the grocery store. The consistency is different but plausible, and nonetheless this is a great Low carb alternative for a healthy Type 2 Diabetic lifestyle. I use water in place of milk and often add crushed walnuts as a topping (~1/4 cup).
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 28, 2009
Reviewer: Vicki in Illinois
I was pleasantly surprised that this hot cereal tasted so good and not to mention it's also full of good nutrients... It's the best tasting I have tried. Great aroma and texture...I added a little butter, Splenda and Almond Breeze Milk...I will definitely order again and try more flavors...
This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Cinnamon Spice
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 17, 2009
Reviewer: Eileen in North Carolina
I've been low-carb for several years and one thing I really missed was a good warm cereal, along the lines of Cream of Wheat. I wish I had ordered this AGES ago! I ordered the Cinnamon Spice and Sweet Maple and could not be happier with them! They are warm and delicious without being too sweet and if you want it sweeter, a touch of sf maple syrup or sugar substitute is all you need. I like mixing a bit of the flax'n'snax cereal into this as well for a touch more flax, too, but not too much, or you lose the creamy texture. Since Atkins changed my regular breakfast cereal bars to a sweeter version, I may well switch over to having hot cereal every morning at work. :) Oh, I like making it with a bit of cream and butter in the water.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 07, 2009
Reviewer: Yaira in Virginia
It is very filling and has a great flavor, you would never know that is not all oatmeal in that mix! The texture is very similar to oatmeal as well. Would recommend in a heartbeat, it's a great breakfast on a cold morning!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 14, 2009
Reviewer: Traci in Ohio
We love this cereal! My husband likes to add a little cinnamon to the Sweet Maple cereal and just a little sugar free maple syrup. We tried the other flavors but just keep coming back to the sweet maple flavor. I buy 10 boxes at a time!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 21, 2008
Reviewer: A customer in California
INCREDIBLE TASTE. Easy to make -- very low carbs -- best hot cereal I have found. Just bought enough for the next few months.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 09, 2008
Reviewer: Kathleen in Connecticut
SO YUMMY! I feel like I am 5yrd when I am eating Dixie Hot Cereal. Seriously, it is so good. It is a quick fix to a late night or early morning meal when I am super busy and do not have time to prepare anything. I usually double up and it keeps me really full.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 14, 2007
Reviewer: Barbara in Ohio
This oatmeal tastes the same as the high carb stuff. Just wonderful.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Natural Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 27, 2007
Reviewer: evlyn in Ohio
This is the best tasting low carb product I have found yet. It is very filling, and has no aftertaste! I have mixed in the Jok n' Al Fruit toppings too for an extra treat!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 20, 2007
Reviewer: TODD in New York
This cereal is a real treat to a person like myself who is on a low carb diet. Maybe it doesn't taste just like Cream of Wheat or Maypo but, to be as low carb and low calorie as it is, I say Great Job Dixie Diner! Add a little butter, Splenda and Nut Meal for an even bigger treat.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 28, 2007
Reviewer: amanda in Illinois
I really like oatmeal. This tastes like oatmeal. I love the convenience too! I have tried many hot cereals. This is the best so far! I didn't have to add anything to it!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 17, 2012
Reviewer: Mellisa in Vermont
I added a little bit of Splenda to the Sweet Maple and it was really good. It is filling too. I like this flavor the best. The Cinnamon Spice is also another favorite.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 19, 2009
Reviewer: Denise in Pennsylvania
I really enjoyed the cereal. I recommend adding a lot less water than the directions call for (unless you prefer VERY watery/thin oatmeal)
This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 06, 2009
Reviewer: Angela in Tennessee
This is a good break from turkey bacon and egg white low-carb/low-fat breakfasts, but the taste isn't the best. To be fair, I was really looking for something more like oatmeal, which is probably not realistic. That said, adding some cinnamon and stevia, this is a good breakfast that will keep you full.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Cinnamon Spice
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 14, 2007
Reviewer: Kim in France
Nice product if you don't mind the soy bits texture, which could seem a bit weird to some, I don't mind. I add freshly ground cinnamon and some stevia to mine. Small servings, but filling and low carb whilst being low cal, too (many LC products tend to be a bit high in cals), which is a big plus to me.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Natural Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 01, 2007
Reviewer: Charlotte in North Carolina
I was very surprised that this hot cereal was so good. I did, however, add a little Splenda and butter to enhance the flavor, but I will continue to buy it.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 06, 2013
Reviewer: Chelsea in California
I have definitely had worse! I added a little almond milk and splenda. I will be ordering this regularly, its very filling.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 21, 2011
Reviewer: A customer in Virginia
I tried the Apple-Cinnamon Dixie Diner hot cereal this weekend and it was passable, but not actually tasty. It is okay for a low-carb food, but not something I would recommend as regular hot-cereal substitute.

On the up side, the packets are very convenient as they require no measurement. When prepared according to the directions, this cereal was thin and runny. The oats in the mix did provide a nice bit of chewy texture, but the apple-cinnamon flavor was a bit chemical and had a strong soy note. I liked the flavor better after I added cinnamon to the mix. The serving was a bit small, and although the cereal was high in protein, I was hungry again less than two hours later.

I plan to finish the pack I bought but not buy more of it.

This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 03, 2011
Reviewer: Rebecca in Oregon
This product is ok. Of course regular hot cereal is preferred but when you are low carbing it, this does the trick.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 05, 2008
Reviewer: Louis J in New Mexico
The "Sweet Maple" cereal is the best of the low-carb hot cereals I've tried. I've tried Peaches & Cream, Apple & Cinnamon, and Flax-Z-Snax.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 11, 2008
Reviewer: Amber in Texas
If you add extra cinnamon and sweetener, the flavor is Great! I just can't get past the odd texture. I love oatmeal/hot cereal, but this product just doesn't feel like oatmeal/hot cereal on the tongue. If texture isn't important to you, try it. If texture rules your taste preferences like mine, you probably won't like this.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 16, 2007
Reviewer: A customer in Georgia
I tried the peaches and cream, but didn't really notice the flavor of peach too much. The cereal itself was tasty but not quite what I was looking for.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Peaches & Cream
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
February 27, 2012
Reviewer: Brandi in Colorado
I ordered sweet maple and apple cinnamon and I could not finish either of them. They were not very good at all and did not remind me of oatmeal or even malt o meal. I had to throw the rest away, I couldn't get anyone to eat it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 15, 2012
Reviewer: A customer in Oklahoma
I tried the Apple Cinnamon and it was just barely edible. Prepared according to direction left it a little too chewy, so I put it in the microwave and nuked it a little and then added some Truvia and was able to eat it. I just don't enjoy the texture though. Once I had nuked it a little more it reminded me of instant oatmeal and I've never liked instant oatmeal. So I'll probably finish the rest of the packets and won't order anymore.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

< Previous     |  1 2  |     Next >

Hot Products













Shop quickly using your personal Order History! View prior purchases to re-order the same products! $4.95 shipping charge for the entire order within the contiguous 48 United States. 5% Discount on Orders of $200 or more! Retailers: Volume Discounts Available. All Products Are In Stock Unless Marked Out Of Stock. Really! Don't Settle for Less. Learn how to get FREE stuff! - T-Shirts, Shaker Bottles, and More! Go To Top of Page

Ordering Instructions
Display Shopping Cart
Checkout
Update Account / Order History
Subscribe to our Mailing Lists
Links To Other Sites
Home
Frequently Asked Questions
Contact Us
Food Nutrients
Affiliate Program
Gift Certificates
Secure Ordering

If you have a website, blog or facebook page, join
Netrition's Affiliate Program* and start earning cash today! Now paying 20%*


Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.

Copyright © 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement