Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 March 17, 2007
    Reviewer: Annette in Michigan
    * Daughter says they're great! She is VERY picky about that ugly soy taste and she can't detect any "funny" taste to this. She put a little erythritol and cinnamon in the mix!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 February 24, 2008
    Reviewer: A customer in Ohio
    * We have been living the low carb life style since 1996, this is the best pancake/waffle mix we have found!!! I have made the best Belgium waffles we have ever tasted with this mix. Everything turns out light & fluffy, not flat & soggy like some low carb products. Sometimes I add vanilla for a change, but this product is a keeper.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 May 25, 2007
    Reviewer: Laura in Wisconsin
    * Very Good
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 December 09, 2009
    Reviewer: James in Iowa
    * This pancake mix is great and very filling. One thing I do to make these cakes excellent is adding ground cinnamon.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 July 01, 2008
    Reviewer: paul in Minnesota
    * I made these pancakes over the weekend while we were camping. We were with 2 other families that have small children. I made regular pancakes and New Hope Mills pancakes. I didn't tell them which ones were which. They ate all of the New Hope Mills and none of the others. It was also my first time having them and I am ordering more.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 August 03, 2007
    Reviewer: Sharon in Pennsylvania
    * Not a fan of pancakes, but I like this mix for waffles. Unlike some low carb mixes, this mix gives you a crunchy outside, and a light, soft middle! I just add water and a little liquid egg white.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 July 26, 2007
    Reviewer: Laurie in New York
    * This is awesome! Add a bit of vanilla to it and its really good. I'm diabetic and been able to have homemade waffles and they taste really good. What a pleasant surprise.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    3/5 June 01, 2007
    Reviewer: Douglas in Nebraska
    * Not quite as good as Big Train in my opinion, but acceptable and in stock.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    2/5 October 01, 2007
    Reviewer: Marla in Michigan
    * This mix is not very good. After reading all the reviews I was shocked at how bad it tasted. The pancakes look amazing. They cook up golden brown and smell promising but the taste is not as good as the looks. I was surprised that 1/4 cup of mix called for 2 eggs. That seems like a lot and I could really taste the egg. I am not that into pancakes, I actually decided to buy the mix so my boyfriend and I could have the same breakfast for a change. He said he would never eat them again. If you are really craving pancakes then give them a try. If you are only thinking about buying this to try something new, it isn't good. Don't waste your money.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 May 02, 2008
    Reviewer: A customer in Michigan
    * I am an admittedly picky eater. I found this mix to smell disgusting in the package and it tasted even worse when prepared. The texture was gross. I had high hopes, but was very disappointed.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 11, 2016
    Reviewer: Karen in Florida
    * My favorite low carb pancakes so far! So close to real : )
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 26, 2015
    Reviewer: ELIZABETH in North Carolina
    * It's not IHOP but it's the next best thing! I go through these boxes like crazy, I love breakfast and especially love pancakes! I add a little Splenda into my mix when I'm making it because it does tend to be a little bland without it, and sometimes I'll add Ghiradelli cocoa powder for an extra chocolate boost. I always use the Sugar Free Mini Chocolate Chips because I'm a big kid and absolutely love chocolate chip pancakes and top it off with Walden Farms pancake syrup. The syrup absorbs rather quickly so I usually have to use quite a bit but it gives me the stigma of eating unhealthy while actually not doing bad on my low carb lifestyle!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 20, 2015
    Reviewer: Mike in Indiana
    * Awesome pancake taste. Not gritty but smooth pancake just like another brand but to my choice much better! Can't wait for this one and it's not just for breakfast.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 29, 2014
    Reviewer: Scott in Florida
    * I bought this and a box of the Maple Grove Farms pancake mix and compared them head to head - no difference. The carb count is the same, the prep ingredients needed are the same. They both cooked up fluffy and delicious, I couldn't tell the difference between them and "real" pancakes. The New Hope Mills is slightly more expensive.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 10, 2014
    Reviewer: MELANIE in New York
    * I just made these this morning...YUM!!! I added chopped walnuts, vanilla extract and a touch of stevia...I put butter and s/f syrup on and all I can say is YUM!!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 13, 2014
    Reviewer: Madeline in New York
    * Keeping in mind that these are low carb pancakes, my expectations were not that high. These turned out to be extremely good. From my experience, the first time I made them I found them to be bland. All I had to do was sprinkle a tad of salt into the mixture and they turned out delicious. I have them quite often and am ordering another box now to keep on hand. They are even better if you add some fresh blueberries to them or sugar free chips if you prefer.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 06, 2014
    Reviewer: A customer in New York
    * This pancake mix is great! It does not drastically raise my blood sugar like other "low-carb" pancake mixes have. I found the mix to be a bit bland, so I add a few pinches of salt, a few drops of EZ Sweetz, and vanilla extract to the batter. I also recommend Walden Farms pancake syrup.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 04, 2013
    Reviewer: Darnelle in Louisiana
    * Was desperate for a low carb pancake/waffle mix that wasn't terrible tasting. So excited to find this! We go through 2-3 boxes a week in my family! Really no reason for me to ever eat a 40 carb plate of pancakes again!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 23, 2013
    Reviewer: Tanya in Arkansas
    * I made these for the first time tonight. WOW! They were delicious. I added some sugar free maple syrup (no net carbs due to sugar alcohol). This was such a treat for dinner. The pancakes really puffed up and cooked like normal pancakes. They tasted delicious, especially since I haven't had them since Thanksgiving. I highly suggest this product!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 06, 2012
    Reviewer: Debra in Indiana
    * These are great when I add flax meal, walnuts and sf chocolate chips.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 27, 2011
    Reviewer: Sharlyn in Texas
    * It is so nice to be able to eat a low carb pancake and sugar free pancake syrup for breakfast. Had some this morning and was satisfied and full. One doesn't feel deprived for sure. Thanks for having this item by New Hope Mills. Taste Great!!!!! Thanks Netrition......
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 29, 2011
    Reviewer: Karen in Nebraska
    * Use coconut oil in the mix and on the griddle and add a few drops of ez sweet or a little davinci syrup for flavor and these are terrific. For 3 carbs, they are the best I've had to date.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 03, 2010
    Reviewer: Lynda in Michigan
    * this is by far the BEST mix for low carb diets.. I love to mix it up and make waffles..YUM with butter and sugar free syrup!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 23, 2009
    Reviewer: royaune in South Dakota
    * This is a great pancake mix. My teenage daughter was willing to try it instead of bisquick heart healthy mix. She thought it was great. She now asks for the "healthy pancakes" on Sundays. I also got her converted to sugar free syrup too. Expensive but worth it.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 18, 2009
    Reviewer: Gary in Pennsylvania
    * Convenient packaging - easy to mix and cook and tastes great.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 10, 2009
    Reviewer: Joanne in Ohio
    * I really liked this mix! Pancakes were fluffy and tasted great! I make them ahead of time and then just reheat in the microwave. Really saves me time in the morning.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 22, 2009
    Reviewer: Donya in North Carolina
    * This mix makes an amazing waffle. I over-estimated how much batter to use, not realizing how much it would rise in the waffle-maker! I need to figure out a better syrup or topping option, as the syrup I used was a bit strange and left an aftertaste, but the waffle itself was great and satisfied a craving I've had for weeks... And the entire reason I bought the baking gift box in the first place. Highly recommend for anyone craving a waffle or pancakes. (even better drenched in butter... Yum!)
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 23, 2008
    Reviewer: Elizabeth in New York
    * THESE PANCAKES ROCK! MY FAMILY LOVES THEM. THEY ARE THE CLOSEST TO HOMEMADE PANCAKES I HAVE EVER HAD. THEY ARE QUICK TO MAKE AND WOULD BE VERY SAD IF I COULDN'T HAVE THEM IN THE MORN.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 30, 2008
    Reviewer: A customer in Virginia
    * My husband and I eat them for lunch and dinner. Amazing! Thank you New Hope Mills for carrying the old Atkins pancake mix. It is the best! 50 pounds lighter and loving it.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 09, 2008
    Reviewer: Wayne in California
    * Really good. Toss in a handful of real bacon bits and top with butter and St. Joseph's syrup and it's as good as any pancake anywhere.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 24, 2008
    Reviewer: Wayne in California
    * Very good, provided you use a good no-carb syrup like Joseph's. Don't use high heat.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 03, 2007
    Reviewer: Marian in Virginia
    * Great waffles! Mix formerly sold under Atkins brand name. Mfg. also makes the best muffin mixes ... hope they will be stocked soon.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 22, 2007
    Reviewer: A customer in New York
    * I am very pleased... I added DaVinci's sugar-free french vanilla syrup. Even my husband , who is neither a pancake nor sugar-free fan, enjoyed them! I am thrilled about being able to have pancakes while on a low carb diet.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 07, 2007
    Reviewer: Caroline in Illinois
    * This was soooo delicious! Use SF Walden Farms pancake syrup and add fresh chopped strawberries to the wet mix and they are the best pancakes in the world... and a great source of protein for those bodybuilders who love pancakes but need the protein and lower carbs! ( LIKE ME LOL ) This rocks. I went from my Sunday pancake treat to having pancakes for dinner now as well about 2 times a week :)
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 August 14, 2014
    Reviewer: Meghan in Ohio
    * This was better than I expected for a low carb food. I put vanilla in the mix to spruce up the flavor. However, there was a slight eggy taste to it so perhaps I will use less egg than the recipe called for and see how that turns out. Overall, I think I would purchase again.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 September 23, 2013
    Reviewer: Wendy in New York
    * I find this mix makes a very nice pancake. I prefer small thin pancakes so I add additional water to the mix and make kind of "silver dollar" sized pancakes. I find it it is not even necessary to add the oil if you are watching calories as well as carbs. I don't know how this would work for the regular thick pancakes, but it is fine for my 14-17 little thin guy I make form a single serving portion of this mix. It works for me and is really very low carb, which suits my diabetic issues and gives me a real treat breakfast .
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 February 03, 2013
    Reviewer: James in Minnesota
    * I recently found this New Hope Mills mix. I can't remember enough to say that this is exactly as good, but it is certainly better than any other low carb mix I have used in the intervening years. No---these are not substitutes for Perkins with strawberry glaze & whipped cream. However, with fresh berries and some low carb syrup, I feel like I just had some pretty good pancakes. Add a couple of turkey sausage links and it was a good meal.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 September 10, 2007
    Reviewer: Don in Vermont
    * Good stuff; having pancakes for breakfast makes the low-carb thing feel a bit more normal. Not what your mama used to make (a bit bland and not real fluffy) but not bad overall. These aren't quite as good as the Maple Grove Farms, but they have 3 net grams compared with Maple Grove's 6.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 May 21, 2010
    Reviewer: Dave in Florida
    * I've tried all the mixes and this tastes very much like all of them, sort of spongy in texture and with a bland taste.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 August 07, 2009
    Reviewer: Walt in Vermont
    * Tastes kind of bland, like cardboard. Probably ok if you flavored it with something.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 February 16, 2008
    Reviewer: Myles in Illinois
    * These are alright. The Maple Grove Farms mix is MUCH better.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 June 29, 2014
    Reviewer: audrey in South Carolina
    * spongy texture, dry taste, not fluffy. looks like crepes and with the eggs tastes like a dry French toast. I added the polander sugar free jam in place of syrup and a teaspoon of whipped cream, not terrible but not something I would look forward to eating either. ill keep looking.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 December 10, 2013
    Reviewer: James in Texas
    * A disappointing product. I have been using a Carbquick recipe from one of the forums for pancakes and they're wonderful. I gave this a try today and it doesn't even come close. First is the carb count (12 carbs/6 fiber) which is much higher than the CarbQuick recipe (add 1 or 2 more for the two eggs).

    Second is the taste. People often complain that Low-Carb products taste spongy and that's the case here spongy with an off taste. The pancakes are not a rich tasting as the Carbquick recipe either. All in all, a failure.

    I can't recommend this and will throw away the remainder.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 July 16, 2012
    Reviewer: Ali in New York
    * As a Pancake addict, this product did not satisfy me at all because it is nowhere close to the real pancakes. The pancakes that comes from it are very then with no taste at all. I can assure that you will have a better Pancake alternative by mixing only Vanilla Whey Protein and Eggs. that is even much lower in carb than this product
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 July 04, 2012
    Reviewer: Donald in New York
    * Everything you want in a low-carb pancake....except taste.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    2/5 May 28, 2008
    Reviewer: Marilyn in Tennessee
    * Sorry, I thought these were dry and tasteless. The Carbquik version is much better.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 December 19, 2009
    Reviewer: Cindy in Kansas
    * I give very few 1 star ratings however, this is one. I made a waffle and followed the directions. 2 eggs for 1/2 a cup of mix is a 50:50 ratio and it tasted like it. Spongy, rubbery, eggy with an off taste. Back to my Maple Groves Farms or even better, Flax Z Snax pancake mix. That truly is fab!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2016 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.