Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 April 05, 2013
    Reviewer: Cis in Illinois
    * Very Tasty and Filling. I use Almond Milk so the whole bowl is very low in carbs. Good Cereal. Have had different flavors and all are liked.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 February 25, 2009
    Reviewer: Ellen in South Carolina
    * Great tasting, filling protein source. No feeling hungry in an hour like after high carb cereals. One of the best low-carb cereals I have tried (I've tried at least five others).
    This review is specific to Hi-Lo 100% Natural Cereal, Original
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 26, 2016
    Reviewer: Robin in Michigan
    * My dad has Type II Diabetes. Over the past 2.5 years, I've managed to bring his A1c down to 5.6 from 6.9 and wean him off his insulin (with doctor supervision). HiLo has been an important part of that because he absolutely refuses to eat anything else but cereal for breakfast! Argh! The protein keeps him full longer than regular cereal and the low carb count doesn't spike his blood sugar.

    Well, picky eater Dad likes this cereal! Yay! We've tried all flavors, but I usually just get original because it's a slightly better deal.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 04, 2016
    Reviewer: Patricia in Idaho
    * This is my favorite cereal because it's high in protein but low in sugar. I have pretty severe hypoglycemia so I cannot eat foods or beverages that are high in sugar grams, so I gave up the Special K High Protein when they 'reformulated' it and in the process tripled the sugar while halving the fiber....their answer to my email was that 'consumers liked the taste of sweetened cereal better'. Sigh.

    But I found HiLo and tried it and find it to be a great cereal - some folks complain about the taste being bland but I think it has a nice nutty taste and good crunch - those folks can add sugar or fruit, or just go buy some sugary-sweet cereal. For people who want (or have) to limit their sugar grams but still get a good nutritious breakfast cereal, this is a good choice.

    This review is specific to Hi-Lo 100% Natural Cereal, Original
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 30, 2016
    Reviewer: Kerry in Massachusetts
    * This cereal is crunchy and has good flavor. A very good substitute for the higher carb cereals on the market.
    This review is specific to Hi-Lo 100% Natural Cereal, Original
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 12, 2016
    Reviewer: Sandra in Massachusetts
    * I have been eating this cereal for years and was so happy to find it at netrition.com. I am diabetic and follow a low carb diet, plus I run, lift weights, and eat very clean. This cereal tastes great, is low calorie (90 calories per half cup), and low carb. The Original has no artificial sweeteners, which I try to avoid. I sprinkle on a few walnuts, a bit of flax meal, chia seeds, and/or a few berries and add unsweetened almond milk. Highly recommend!
    This review is specific to Hi-Lo 100% Natural Cereal, Original
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 02, 2015
    Reviewer: Dana in Texas
    * My husband tried the Hi Lo this morning and loved it. He ate a small bowl and said it really filled him up. This will be put on our staple menu!
    This review is specific to Hi-Lo 100% Natural Cereal, Original
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 09, 2015
    Reviewer: Kitty in Oklahoma
    * For being so low in carbs, I have to say it is a very good tasting cereal. Serving is just 1/2 cup but it is very filling. Add a little Almond milk (with a splash of cream) and you have a quick breakfast that will hold you through until lunch. I would recommend this cereal to anyone who is cutting down their intake of carbs but yet does not want to give up cold cereal.
    This review is specific to Hi-Lo 100% Natural Cereal, Original
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 22, 2013
    Reviewer: A customer in Ohio
    * I love this cereal. By far the best option for a quick low carb breakfast.
    This review is specific to Hi-Lo 100% Natural Cereal, Original
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 23, 2013
    Reviewer: Linda in New Mexico
    * My father is 88 and has been a diabetic for close to 30 years. He watches out for his carb intake and loves cereal for breakfast. Hi-Lo 100% Natural Cereal is low carb, taste good and I order 10 boxes about every 5 weeks. He loves it! I love Netrition.com for making this really easy on me and I love that Netrition only charges 4.95 in shipping charges. Where else can you find such a GREAT DEAL!
    This review is specific to Hi-Lo 100% Natural Cereal, Original
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 15, 2013
    Reviewer: Tammy in North Carolina
    * Being on low carb meant I couldn't have cereal. But I found this cereal. Strawberry is my favorite. I actually just purchased 2 more boxes. :)
    This review is specific to Hi-Lo 100% Natural Cereal, Strawberry
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 05, 2012
    Reviewer: Angela in Florida
    * I really enjoy this cereal. I do like to add a little splenda and fresh strawberries.
    This review is specific to Hi-Lo 100% Natural Cereal, Strawberry
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 19, 2012
    Reviewer: A customer in California
    * My favorite low carb cereal, with a dash of fiber sprinkles, ez sweet and almond milk.
    This review is specific to Hi-Lo 100% Natural Cereal, Original
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 05, 2011
    Reviewer: Chris in Missouri
    * I am following an Atkin's low carb eating plan and this cereal fits right in. It tastes good and is very satisfying to the palate. I use cream in place of any milk (using equal parts of cream and water). It is very satisfying and helps with my low carb diet. My husband and I follow Atkin's since he is diabetic and I want to lose some weight. Low carb eating has brought his blood sugar under control. Since we are middle-aged and I am overweight I want to use low carb items to ward-off my becoming diabetic. This cereal serves that purpose.
    This review is specific to Hi-Lo 100% Natural Cereal, Strawberry
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 02, 2011
    Reviewer: A customer in Louisiana
    * Hi-Lo Strawberry has to be the best tasting lowcarb cereal I have ever had. I use a few drops of EZ-Sweet with unsweetened almond milk.

    It doesn't taste like cardboard!

    This review is specific to Hi-Lo 100% Natural Cereal, Strawberry
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 18, 2011
    Reviewer: stacy in Arizona
    * Love this cereal! Filling an keeps me full for hours, a nice change for breakfast then just eggs an meat. Just ordered my 3rd box!
    This review is specific to Hi-Lo 100% Natural Cereal, Strawberry
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 05, 2009
    Reviewer: A customer in Ohio
    * I have tried every flavor that Nutritious Living makes in the Hi-Lo cereal and they are all fantastic. I couldn't successfully stay low carb without this wonderful product! I love that I can have an easier morning with the simplicity of a bowl of cereal once again, and still lose wt. on my low carb plan after induction. I love to top the original with fresh blueberries and Almond Breeze.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 30, 2009
    Reviewer: Natalie in Ohio
    * I am a diabetic with very brittle blood sugar. Hi-Lo has got the right mix of protein, fiber, and carbs so that it does not increase my blood glucose unduly. The protein really works well with the carbs to keep the blood sugar readings reasonably steady. And this product provides the satisfaction of a nice cereal.

    Many diabetics feel carbohydrate-deprived and this is a great solution. I'm highly recommending it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 06, 2009
    Reviewer: Edna in Texas
    * I would recommend this cereal for a high protein breakfast item. It tastes great and is very filling.
    This review is specific to Hi-Lo 100% Natural Cereal, Strawberry
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 28, 2008
    Reviewer: A customer in Maine
    * This is one of the best cold cereals I have ever tasted and to think it is so adaptable to a low carb lifestyle is a big plus.
    This review is specific to Hi-Lo 100% Natural Cereal, Original
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 04, 2008
    Reviewer: Connie in North Carolina
    * Crunchy and great taste. Cannot tell it is low carb and sugar free. Wonderful with fruits.
    This review is specific to Hi-Lo 100% Natural Cereal, Original
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 September 13, 2015
    Reviewer: Katie in North Carolina
    * If you are low carb and desperate for cereal, I would recommend this product (strawberry). I use almond milk. It is NOT GOOD by itself. If I add a generous amount of cinnamon AND truvia it is pretty good. It has a nice, satisfying crunch. The flavor without adding something else is just not acceptable, but it satisfies the need for crunchy cereal if you add something to it.
    This review is specific to Hi-Lo 100% Natural Cereal, Strawberry
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 April 06, 2013
    Reviewer: Jennifer in Maryland
    * I love the strawberry one. I add a pinch of splenda and its perfect.
    This review is specific to Hi-Lo 100% Natural Cereal, Strawberry
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 September 29, 2009
    Reviewer: Felicia in California
    * The product has a great smell. Reminds me of the Count Chocula and Boo Berry line of sugary cereals from when I was a kid. The taste and texture is more like plain cheerios with the slightest hint of strawberry. Works great for a quick breakfast or grab a handful to curb my craving for a sweet snack.
    This review is specific to Hi-Lo 100% Natural Cereal, Strawberry
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 January 11, 2009
    Reviewer: Chris in California
    * Excellent strawberry flavor. Lowest carb cereal I've been able to find.
    This review is specific to Hi-Lo 100% Natural Cereal, Strawberry
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 June 23, 2008
    Reviewer: Linda in Texas
    * I love that this product keeps me from getting hungry longer than any other breakfast. It also tastes fairly good. However, if I could make a change, I'd cut the amount of sweetener (it doesn't have sugar) because I'm used to the natural, non-sweetened types of cereal. Someone else might not have this problem if you are currently eating sugary cereals.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 December 12, 2014
    Reviewer: Lynn in North Carolina
    * Bought the Vanilla almond, did not like it, plain
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 August 05, 2012
    Reviewer: Mark in California
    * I didn't really care for the Hi-Lo cereals: too sweet for me and left a funny aftertaste.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 December 07, 2011
    Reviewer: Sylvia in Texas
    * I'm not pleased with this cereal. To me it is too sweet with an aftertaste and loses its crunch in milk. Also the half cup serving is very small for 6 net carbs. Unfortunately, it will go in the trash. I do enjoy their Nutlette cereal sprinkled on yogurt with nuts for a nice crunch.
    This review is specific to Hi-Lo 100% Natural Cereal, Original
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 December 02, 2014
    Reviewer: Cheryl in Pennsylvania
    * I realize I'm in the minority, but I found this cereal (the strawberry version) to be unpalatable cardboard. I eat cereal every morning and thought I'd try a low carb variety. After two servings of this cereal, I gave up and trashed it. I'd rather save carbs during other meals than to have to eat this.
    This review is specific to Hi-Lo 100% Natural Cereal, Strawberry
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2016 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.