Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 December 13, 2010
    Reviewer: Dave in Texas
    * If you're that person who always wanted to grind up "apple" flavored Jolly Ranchers and sprinkle them over your breakfast cereal, this is for you. The rest of the world, not so much. It's too sweet, too fake-apple-flavored, and easily the worst-tasting low-carb product I've ever ordered off the Internet. I'm not one to throw food away, but this I threw out and my abiding fear is that some creature will find it in my garbage, eat it, and be consumed with a righteous rage against humanity that leads to a global war of extermination against all humankind. It's that bad.
    This review is specific to High Fiber Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 September 27, 2015
    Reviewer: Connie in North Carolina
    * This was horrible. EXTREMELY BITTER. Even though its pre-Sweetened, that does not help. Also, I used sucralose all the time, and it has never ever tasted bitter, so I have no idea how the sucralose in this product can be so horribly bitter. I am very used to earthy tasting, natural products, and I have even eaten straight flax seed meal before, so a slimy texture doesnt bother me, but THIS CEREAL.. half sawdust, half slime, ultra bitter, and a sweet taste that tastes NOTHING like splenda, but MUCH closer to old fashioned sweet and low... and actually, sweet and low has a better taste than whatever is in this cereal. When I first tasted it, I immediately thought of Stevia, because Stevia has a nasty bitter aftertaste. In any case, I can think of any way to doctor this up. I tried maple syrup, cream, salt, extra splenda.. didnt help. The bitter taste is like a punch in the face.. and trust me, I am NOT a picky eater .. I have never had a food before that starts out as TOO ARTIFICIALLY SWEET, followed by a ULTRA BITTER PUNCH IN THE FACE .... cant think of any way to doctor this concoction, and adding it to any other recipe would surely ruin it .... I have no choice but to throw this out. Complete waste of money.
    This review is specific to High Fiber Hot Cereal, Vanilla Almond
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 January 22, 2014
    Reviewer: Steve in Illinois
    * Yuck! I was so looking forward to this product after reading the positive reviews, but wound up being disappointed. This cereal is artificial tasting and extremely bitter. Unfortunately, I bought two packages and will most likely have to "choke" it down. Not a fan!
    This review is specific to High Fiber Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 March 25, 2013
    Reviewer: A customer in New York
    * This cereal is absolutely horrible. It tastes like eating a cup of flavorless fiber. It's absolutely disgusting - and also looks so unappetizing. Do not spend your money on this.
    This review is specific to High Fiber Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 January 26, 2013
    Reviewer: A customer in Canada
    * I bought this product mainly because of all the positive reviews on here, so I thought I should come back and give my opinion, because I didn't like this product. I tried the apple cinnamon flavor and the butter pecan flavor.

    First off, the product is very finely ground and has a completely uniform texture, like cream of wheat, but smaller - which I didn't like, but you can add nuts to give it a bit of crunch. Second, the product is quite sweet, which I found strange, since no sweeteners are listed on the ingredients - so I looked up "low glycemic monosacharides" on the internet and was not happy about what I found out, since I am following a low carb (not low glycemic) diet. Finally, the apple cinnamon flavor is just not nice - it has a weird fake-apple chemically taste, which in my books is just yuk, but ymmv. The butter pecan tasted a nicer and more natural to me.

    Bottom line - apple cinnamon is going in the trash, butter pecan I will keep for when I feel like a fiber cereal and can splurge on the carbs, but I won't buy it again. I can get the same basic thing by combining ground flax and wheat bran with flavorings myself and I can avoid the "monosaccharides".

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 January 25, 2013
    Reviewer: Chelle in Nebraska
    * The apple cinnamon was just awful-- it tasted like the paste wormers for my horses smell. One of the worst things I've ever had, and very artificial. I wish they would have put dried real apples instead of apple "flavor."
    This review is specific to High Fiber Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 September 27, 2012
    Reviewer: Susan D in Florida
    * I'm so sorry but I can't give a positive review on this product. It was awful!

    Based on all the raving reviews on this, I had high hopes this would turn out to be a wonderful oatmeal or hot cereal substitute I'd love being on a low carb diet.

    I purchased the plain and the Butter Pecan. Upon fixing both I tried without adding anything to them. The taste left a great deal to be desired so I added some Splenda thinking maybe if sweeter, it would be better. Both left a horrible after-taste.

    Thinking it might just be me, I had my husband try and at first he said he thought it tasted pretty good until he was about 1/2 way through. THEN he made a face and said he could see what I was talking about.

    Maybe it's the soy in it?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 July 21, 2012
    Reviewer: Morgan D in West Virginia
    * The Apple Cinnamon version of this product is nasty! Strong chemical smell, taste and after taste. I smothered it with low carb maple syrup to eat it, as it cost too much to throw away.
    This review is specific to High Fiber Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 May 18, 2012
    Reviewer: Evelyn in North Carolina
    * This one was not for me. The taste is bitter and is like eating tree bark. It also have a long lingering aftertaste.

    Being on a low carb regimen for the past year I really miss eating hot cereal like cream of wheat or oatmeal and was looking for something to fill that void. This was not it.

    I bought the plain so I could add my own flavorings but no matter what I add it has a strong bitter, woodsy taste I just can't get past.

    I've tired adding in all kinds of sweeteners including SF flavored syrups and SF jam, I've tried going with the bitter flavor and added in some instant coffee and cream. I've even tried mixing in some peanut butter and a few flavors of protein powder. Nothing I've tried has made this hot cereal palatable.

    Well at least I gave it a try but after a week of multiple efforts to choke it down I give up. It's going in the trash as another failed experiment in my "hit or miss" hunt for yummy low carb food items.

    This review is specific to High Fiber Hot Cereal, Plain
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 May 26, 2010
    Reviewer: Sara in Montana
    * I ordered this flavor/product after my favorite brand of hot cereal was discontinued. The apple cinnamon smells good but doesn't taste good. It has a strange after taste possibly from too much artificial sweetener.
    This review is specific to High Fiber Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 November 10, 2015
    Reviewer: Rhiannon in Massachusetts
    * Surprised at all the good reviews for this hot cereal. I bought the Butter Pecan, and the overall taste was that of "artificial sweetener." Just nasty, and fake tasting with a sand-like, gloopy unappetizing texture. I ended up throwing it away after two attempts to eat.

    I don't consider myself picky. I eat artificially sweetened products regularly. I can deal with the "off" textures of other low-carb foods, like breads and crackers, even granolas. But, this was really "off."

    I felt badly about throwing so much of this away, especially since the price was significant for a hot cereal, but I just KNEW I would never eat this again.

    This review is specific to High Fiber Hot Cereal, Butter Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 January 08, 2015
    Reviewer: Donna in Washington
    * Very bitter! Had to throw out!
    This review is specific to High Fiber Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 April 07, 2013
    Reviewer: Veronica in Louisiana
    * I tried butter pecan and vanilla almond; but regardless of flavor, these are just cloyingly saccharine with an overpowering chemical taste that stays in your mouth all day. I wish I had ordered the plain, unsweetened cereal. Still, it's not a texture I had expected, so I'm not sure I'll even try the plain.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2016 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.