Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 December 24, 2010
    Reviewer: Betty in Colorado
    * I am happy to see you carrying these noodles as well. I ordered my first ones last month from Mfrg. The smell when you first open them could put you off, but don't let it. Rinse them per instructions, and then add them to your soups and pasta. I have used them in my homemade chicken noodle soup, and with my marinara sauce as spaghetti. The noodle does not have a flavor or taste, but takes on the flavor of the juice/sauce.
    This review is specific to Shirataki Pasta, Angel Hair
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 August 19, 2011
    Reviewer: A customer in California
    * You need to understand that konnyaku products are 97% water and the rest is soluble fiber and minerals, esp. calcium. Konnyaku is not appreciated for its taste, which it has none, but for its texture. It also comes in big slabs or chunks that you can find in Japanese/Asian markets. The noodles absorb the taste of food they are cooked with, so you may want to dehydrate them a little before tossing them in a sauce, either by drying them with paper towels or by frying them in garlic oil. Do not buy them if you hate the texture of fried calamari (squid), or octopus. Konnyaku is like that and more. It is fun to chew if you like this kind of texture. It does not "give" the same way starchy pasta does. It seems more alive in your mouth, which I like. If you do not know what I am talking about, I highly recommend that you try this thing, but be on a lookout for a new fun texture experience. Remember, rinse well, and blanch in boiling water for a few minutes before use.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 July 23, 2013
    Reviewer: S in Pennsylvania
    * If you're truly low carbing, you know you have to make adjustments. It is truly worth adjusting your expectations for this line of konjac pastas.

    First up- the konjac comes from the sea, so there is a fishy odor upon opening the bag. Just have your strainer right there, dump the noodles in, and run water over the noodles for a while, using your fingers to turn and rinse them. Once you do that thoroughly and then boil them a few minutes, the smell goes away and whatever sauce you use will be what you taste.

    The texture is a bit chewy, so no, it isn't quite like old flour pasta, but it's ok and essentially has no flavor of its own. The point is to provide a low carb base for something else. You can use these in stir-fries or with a red or cream sauce on top, and when you're done eating you'll be full and guilt-free.

    We've enjoyed the angel hair, and I'm ordering the fettuccine today. Since the fettuccine is a thicker noodle, it is chewier than a thin one, but we're ok with that.

    Bottom line, we're willing to accept the chewier texture for the pleasure of being able to make a lot of forbidden dishes again - this stuff is totally diabetic and low carb friendly. Very glad Netrition's carrying it.

    This review is specific to Shirataki Pasta, Angel Hair
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 February 15, 2011
    Reviewer: Cindy in Canada
    * These noodles are wonderful! They are just like a rice or bean noodle. If you aren't sure you'll like the texture then go try one of those first. I personally love them and they are guilt free!
    This review is specific to Shirataki Pasta, Angel Hair
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 February 17, 2011
    Reviewer: Sandra in Ohio
    * BEST noodles for the low-carb dieter!! These have saved our lifestyle, I can assure you. I like to make them with a soy sauce or teriyaki sauce, but they are also great with tomato sauce or anything! The texture is spot-on, and the taste is fabulous. We will always have these on stock in our home! HIGHLY recommend.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 13, 2016
    Reviewer: Vicki in North Carolina
    * I was skeptical after reading all the reviews, but I really missed pasta on my low carb lifestyle. I hate things that smell or taste fishy, but IF you follow the directions right on the package (which judging by some reviews, some people didn't do) and rinse them thoroughly, boil them for 2 min, then dry them in a hot pan with no oil - there is NO fishy smell or taste (actually most of the smell goes away after the rinse). They really do take on the flavor of whatever sauce/soup/stir-fry you use them in (or at the very least, don't taste any different than regular pasta). Believe me, I would absolutely hate them if they were even slightly fishy! It took me a while to get used to the slightly chewy consistency (even though I like al dente), but they were just what I needed to enjoy "noodles" again. I also found that the chewiness greatly decreased in the leftovers that I reheated in a pressure cooker or microwave (they didn't disintegrate either). It was also nice to not feel bloated after eating them, and I did not experience any digestive problems with them. FOLLOW the directions for preparation and they are a good guilt-free replacement for regular flour pasta that won't make you crave more carbs!
    This review is specific to Shirataki Pasta, Angel Hair
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 21, 2016
    Reviewer: Sherry in Idaho
    * We love these noodles at our house. If you cook them properly, they are very filling and pick up the taste of whatever you are serving with them. I always rinse in cold water for about 30 seconds, drain well, then put them in a hot pan with a little butter or chicken broth and heat them until all the liquid is gone. Especially tasty served with Bella Vita Low Carb Pasta Sauce (Roasted Garlic)!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 26, 2015
    Reviewer: Michelle in Florida
    * This is a fantastic product for guilt free pasta replacement. The texture is similar to pasta, a little softer and a little less dense. I microwave it in a little water for 30 secs. and pour it through a colander. it rests/dries slightly while I'm finishing my soup or sauce. I have used this with dense marinara, alfredo sauce, and coconut lemon grass soup. It's truly a multi use ingredient that's super quick and healthy. No heavy/ bloated feeling after meals. I have used the Miracle Rice for stuffed peppers with TVP, the ziti, and the fettucini. Highly recommend this for carb reduction. It's also vegan friendly and I'm not a vegan, just more conscious of my diet! Will order a case next time!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 16, 2015
    Reviewer: MARIA in New Jersey
    * This product is absolutely amazing! I love pasta, but no longer eat it because of the carbs. I am on Atkins and I bought these noodles to substitute in Italian dishes and in Asian dishes... They take on the flavor of whatever you put them with... The first time I had them, I put them with scallops in a lemon butter sauce. I was seriously amazed! I had to take a picture and share it with my family and friends who eat low carb. I then ordered a case of them. I would highly recommend this product.
    This review is specific to Shirataki Pasta, Angel Hair
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 09, 2014
    Reviewer: Shelley in Texas
    * I love these noodles and am delighted to be able to eat "pasta" again on my low carb diet. Last week I used them to make homemade Pad Thai and it was delicious!
    This review is specific to Shirataki Pasta, Fettuccini
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 01, 2014
    Reviewer: Susan in North Carolina
    * I actually like these better than pasta. It's comforting to know that I'm not getting all those carbs, but my hunger is satisfied. I wish they were a little less costly, but they're worth the splurge at least once in a while!
    This review is specific to Shirataki Pasta, Angel Hair
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 07, 2014
    Reviewer: Raymond in New York
    * Very pleased with this product. The scent didn't put me off as much as I expected and it had very little flavor. But when I tossed it into a pot with Alfredo and chop meat it really came out great. I was fully tricked into thinking this was pasta and thoroughly enjoyed it.
    This review is specific to Shirataki Pasta, Fettuccini
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 06, 2013
    Reviewer: Jennifer in Ohio
    * These Miracle Noodles taste exactly like regular noodles! My low carb diet menu has expanded now that I can have pasta! Don't let the smell bother you when you open the bag. I rinse them in a strainer and then throw them in boiling water for a couple of minutes. Then add them to whatever I am eating. No funny smell or taste when eating.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 03, 2013
    Reviewer: ELLEN in New Jersey
    * Great Product! I'm Asian and being on low carb diet, I had to say goodbye to rice and noodles. Miracle noodle filled that noodle craving. It totally absorbed all the flavorings and tastes exactly like regular noodles. That weird smell after opening the product completely goes away after washing it with water and never played a part with the taste.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 11, 2013
    Reviewer: Scott in Indiana
    * After you clean it and let it simmer in water (and drain again) it really does taste pretty good and works for pasta. I use the Hunts (no sugar added) pasta sauce and added some meat or sausage and rather enjoy it!
    This review is specific to Shirataki Pasta, Fettuccini
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 24, 2013
    Reviewer: Shannon in Florida
    * My life has changed since finding miracle noodles! I'm a huge pasta fan which adds weight around my midsection. The sauces are not the problem. So now I am able to eat pasta whenever I want! After cooking, I like to cut them up into smaller pieces for easier eating.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 13, 2013
    Reviewer: A customer in New York
    * The best noodles I've tried of this kind, they don't have that fishy smell common to other brands of no calorie or low calorie noodles. They didn't need to have their taste and texture as disguised as the other brands and were a great addition to miso soup! Definitely order again.
    This review is specific to Shirataki Pasta, Fettuccini
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 07, 2013
    Reviewer: A customer in New York
    * I absolutely love these Noodles. They have changed my low carb life in the most unexpected way. I had totally given up eating pasta. Now, I can have my noodles and not worry at all about the carb count. I mix them with a bit of coconut oil, or butter, or olive oil....whatever makes you happy, works with them. It's much more about the texture then the taste, so be aware of that. These noodles seem to take on the taste of whatever you mix them up with. Try a bag or two before making a large commitment. I just ordered a case from Netrition and I can't wait for them to arrive. Happy low carb healthy eating!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 24, 2013
    Reviewer: Brenda in Pennsylvania
    * I love the rice and the angel hair. After rinsing it I pan fry it dry for about 5-10 minutes and then proceed with recipe. I love to make shrimp scampi with it or add to soups.
    This review is specific to Shirataki Pasta, Angel Hair
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 25, 2012
    Reviewer: Holly in Tennessee
    * We loved these. I rinsed well, boiled water and I added butter, salt and pepper to the water, I cooked maybe two minutes instead of 1, drained, pressed out some of the water with paper towels. They were a bit wet but the longer they sat on our plates they dried out a bit. I buttered them again, added more salt, pepper and some cheese and topped with meatballs and sauce. They were very good, they just took on the flavor of the sauce. We didn't feel overly full when finished. I just went in and ordered more and I ordered the rice. Eating healthy can be fun and delicious.
    This review is specific to Shirataki Pasta, Angel Hair
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 18, 2012
    Reviewer: Steve in Arizona
    * I bought a case of the miracle noodles, and we weren't disappointed. We use them for salad, stir fry, casseroles, pretend spaghetti, anything else we can think of. Just don't smell them before you rinse... I am a pre-diabetic, and this product doesn't increase my blood sugar. Highly recommend!
    This review is specific to Shirataki Pasta, Angel Hair, 7 oz.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 10, 2012
    Reviewer: Jackie in Kansas
    * I LOOOOVE this product and use it for every kind of meal I can incorporate them into. They take on the flavor of whatever you cook them in. Satisfy your pad Thai, Chinese noodle, pasta cravings!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 10, 2012
    Reviewer: Marilyn in Ohio
    * We bought the angel hair, and even my skeptical diabetic husband liked these. No, they are not spaghetti, but they do absorb the flavor of whatever you put on them. Surprisingly, pasta sauce sticks to them well. We like these much better than the tofu shirataki and will continue to make them part of our low carb lifestyle. If the smell would bother you, just simply don't smell them! Rinse well, and I did boil mine for about 5 minutes to soften a little.
    This review is specific to Shirataki Pasta, Angel Hair
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 08, 2012
    Reviewer: melanie in Maryland
    * As a gastric bypass patient with juvenile diabetes, I need food that won't pack on the carbs and undo all the hard work. This product is PERFECT. It tastes delicious, particularly paired with Walden Farms no calorie Pasta sauces. I can have a delicious satisfying meal and it doesn't add ANY calories. It's certainly a MIRACLE indeed. so easy to prepare and tastes just like whatever you put on it. I've just ordered 2 more cases. This is now a STAPLE in my diet.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 06, 2012
    Reviewer: Christie in Tennessee
    * I can't believe how good these are! I was a little skeptical about using them other than in an Asian recipe because of some of the thing I have read about them. Boy, was I surprised when I decided to make an Italian dish. I ate the whole plate and it was only 400 calories! WOW! Having the miracle noodles will definitely help me to not be tempted to go back to carby pasta.
    This review is specific to Shirataki Pasta, Angel Hair
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 27, 2012
    Reviewer: Tracy in Illinois
    * This product is truly a miracle. I followed the directions exactly and stir fried them with ground beef, worcestershire sauce, oregano, onions and green peppers. The noodles alone have no flavor, but do take on the flavor of what you cook with them. They are the texture of cellophane noodles. These are awesome and I'm off to order a case.
    This review is specific to Shirataki Pasta, Fettuccini
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 14, 2012
    Reviewer: Jo Ann in Illinois
    * WOW, The Miracle Pasta is exactly that! A TRUE MIRACLE! I rinsed an entire package and added it to my lentil soup like some of the reviews had suggested. I WAS SHOCKED AT THE WONDERFUL TEXTURE AND STRENGTH OF THE NOODLES. If I had eaten the regular noodles in the box from the grocery store and the same amount, my blood glucose would have been over 300 an hour later, but testing mine, I was only at 95. I set a 40 carb bolus on my insulin pump to cover the vegetables and lentils. I did not bolus for the miracle noodles AND I DIDN'T NEED TO. The full feeling I got from them lasted well over 4 hours to my next meal. I plan on purchasing these by the carton. I just placed a large order yesterday and I am hoping I can add these to it. I cannot wait to try the miracle rice. I haven't been able to eat rice in years! THIS IS A MIRACLE!
    This review is specific to Shirataki Pasta, Angel Hair
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 March 18, 2012
    Reviewer: Jane in Texas
    * I got the fettuccine of this "pasta/noodle".. they are Slimy.. nasty. When I opened the package, there was a displeasing odor. It goes away when you rinse the pasta. They don't taste bad but the consistency is hard to deal with. I won't buy them again for sure.
    This review is specific to Shirataki Pasta, Fettuccini
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 08, 2012
    Reviewer: Sue in New York
    * I'm one of those love this product people! I occassionally want the texture of pasta, but not the carbs, once I start with real pastas, I just have no control. This product is an excellent substitute. I've eaten it plain with garlic and butter and enjoy the taste and the texture. I've also added them to soup and suggest that you don't cook in the soup, rather, prepare as directed, then add a portion to your soup/sauce just before serving. As netrition suggests, try this before you buy the whole case.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 20, 2011
    Reviewer: Fostinner in Georgia
    * I enjoyed this product better than the tofu shirataki noodles. It was easier to rinse off the "fishy" smell in the noodles than the tofu ones. Will continue to use this as a replacement in some of my pasta dishes.
    This review is specific to Shirataki Pasta, Angel Hair
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 19, 2011
    Reviewer: Debra in Oregon
    * I am a pasta lover and these worked for me. I rinsed with hot water, dried with paper towels and then threw it in the frying pan with my onions and ground beef that had finished browning. I let it fry for a couple of min turning twice and then topped it off with 1/2 cup of Bella Vita tomato basil. The noodle did absorb the flavor of the sauce. :) even better day two as leftovers. YUM! I prefer this to the other brands of refrigerated shirataki noodles.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 10, 2011
    Reviewer: Rene in Florida
    * Was nervous about trying this product due to reviews that it tastes fishy. I found them to taste just like pasta without the carbs--I did rinse and soak as directed and there was NO fishy smell or taste at all. Great to be able to eat pasta again.
    This review is specific to Shirataki Pasta, Angel Hair
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 02, 2011
    Reviewer: Helen in Washington
    * After reading the reviews, I bought two packages, then left them sitting in the fridge for a couple of weeks before finally trying them. The reviewers that said they were slimy weren't preparing them properly! When done properly, these noodles taste just like what you get when you order Asian soups in a restaurant! I rinsed them well, then put them into a pan with a 2 cans of low sodium chicken broth and cooked them for about 20 minutes. I then began to add Asian style veggies, such as chopped bok choy, onions, celery, shredded carrot, then added pre-cooked chicken. This was THE BEST chicken soup we've ever had! One 7-oz package was perfect for the two of us and we weren't hungry until dinner time!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 18, 2011
    Reviewer: Gail in New Mexico
    * These are great for Asian recipes. I love the No Gluten- Low Carb combination which is so hard to find, especially in this price range!
    This review is specific to Shirataki Pasta, Angel Hair
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 14, 2011
    Reviewer: Joan in Montana
    * Very good. I miss pasta on my Low-Carb diet. This is a good substitute. Make sure that you really follow the directions for cooking very carefully.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 29, 2011
    Reviewer: April in Pennsylvania
    * I think this is a great pasta alternative. I used a low carb sauce and added shrimp. DELICIOUS!!
    This review is specific to Shirataki Pasta, Angel Hair
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 03, 2011
    Reviewer: Danielle in Massachusetts
    * I would definitely recommend this to someone as a substitute for the sort of glass noodles that you see a lot of in thai food. If you don't like that texture, you probably won't like these.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 02, 2011
    Reviewer: Stephanie in Maryland
    * This is not exactly a pasta substitute. It won't work well in most red-sauce recipes. However, it's a fantastic substitute for rice or noodles in almost any Asian dish you can think of. The downside is that it takes a lot of preparation before they're good.

    They come in a horrific fishy water that could turn anyone's stomach. You need to get rid of that water. Rinsing, pan-frying, rinsing again, drying. It's a pain and you'll be tempted to skip it. But if you skip it, you'll hate these noodles.

    If you put in the effort, however, they can save your eating plan. They are especially good in soup!

    This review is specific to Shirataki Pasta, Angel Hair
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2016 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.