Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 February 21, 2012
    Reviewer: Deborah in Minnesota
    * I have been looking for a substitute for Hot Cocoa and this is it. I heat up whole milk instead of water and the result is a rich, creamy cup of cocoa just like my Mom used to make. Excellent!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 14, 2017
    Reviewer: Bill in Louisiana
    * A couple weeks ago, I rate this a 3 mainly because it did not mix. Well, all you have to do is use a blender; I used a Magic Bullet mixer. No problem. It tastes really good even in water and seeing as how it is sugar-free and very low carb, what with all that fiber, it tastes amazingly good. I did not find it too sweet with water. It's a good product; just use a blender. I used mine after it was hot but I guess you could blend before heating or after. I did this follow-up review to amend my rating in all fairness.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 12, 2017
    Reviewer: A customer in Indiana
    * As great as this product is for making hot chocolate, I think it works wonders in dessert recipes as well, because it serves as a great substitute for solid chocolate, to cut down on both calories and carbs. My favorite recipe for this product is no-bake chocolate pie, which is a big hit with my family around the holidays. Combine 2-4 tbsp. of Just Like Sugar Hot Cocoa Mix, 2-3 tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder, a 12-oz. block of Lite Mori-Nu Tofu, about half a jar of Walden Farms Marshmallow Dip, and liquid sweetener to taste. Puree until smooth. Pour the pudding mixture into a low-carb/low-cal pie crust, and you could potentially eat the whole pie without blowing your diet. My family never suspected they weren't eating a traditional (read: fatty and sugary) chocolate pie. Just be warned, though, that you'll end up with a crap-ton of fiber, so drink lots of water!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 18, 2016
    Reviewer: Elizabeth in Texas
    * I like this in cold almond milk. It won't dissolve unless you put it in the blender. But it is definitely worth the extra step. Delicious!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 20, 2013
    Reviewer: Emma in Connecticut
    * I was nervous about ordering this item due to the price, small size, and a couple of poor reviews, but risked it due to winter being fully upon us low-carbers too!

    However, do not fear! I was not at all disappointed by this cocoa mix, and in fact very impressed.

    I mixed 3 heaping tablespoons (about 1" deep in the bottom of a regular coffee mug) and poured about 1/4 cup of heavy cream in to make a paste like one would with traditional (swiss miss, nestle) packets of hot cocoa mix to keep the clumping to a minimum. Boiled some water in my electric kettle, poured it in, and stirred vigorously.

    To my pleasure, I found the powder gave off a fantastic milk chocolate aroma and mixed without a single clump, right down to the bottom of my mug, without any extra mixing or stirring afterwards.

    Flavor-wise, I found it very much like traditional milk chocolate hot cocoa mixes, and actually much richer (granted I used some heavy cream too) and more potent, with good chocolate and milky sweetness. I feel like you could make a cup with half the reccomended serving and still get enough cocoa flavor.

    It does have a slight aftertaste, mainly of mild orange peel (see ingredients list!) but I found this both minimal and pleasant, and it didn't stay on my tongue long.

    Since I've been making low carb hot cocoa the hard way (heavy cream, unsweetened cocoa powder, vanilla liquid stevia, make a paste, add hemp or almond milk, microwave, stir, etc.) lately, this mix was a great treat after a workout. Just add the hot water; even better than the sugar-laden packets of my childhood.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 16, 2013
    Reviewer: Patti in Texas
    * Just great. I have always liked a little cocoa along with cream and sweetener in my morning coffee and this helped me keep that habit without the guilt.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 02, 2013
    Reviewer: A customer in Pennsylvania
    * Love the great chocolate taste. Just as good as supermarket sugar free products, and they usually still are too high in carbs to enjoy. Love a hot cup while I watch TV at night, which helps to satisfy my urge to munch at night.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 December 29, 2016
    Reviewer: Bill in Louisiana
    * Before I totally bash this product, I will try one more time. I have used it twice. First time with milk, second time with water. Neither time did it mix. It clumped badly. I also find it to be a little bit TOO sweet, which is unusual for me. I will give it a 3 instead of a 1 because I will give it one more try... with a blender.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 August 01, 2013
    Reviewer: Angela in Florida
    * I really wanted to like this product, as I approved of the ingredients. Unfortunately, I found it undrinkable. Horrible flavor and after taste.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 September 04, 2012
    Reviewer: Ashley in Maine
    * I ordered this product with high hopes. I love a warm cup of hot cocoa on cold nights but have recently tried to cut my sugar out. So when I found this product I had to have it. I just recieved my package and made a cup of hot chocolate I find it undrinkably gross. It doesnt have any chocolate flavor, maybe it was my high hopes but I would not spend money on this product again.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2017 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.