Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 4/5 May 18, 2019
    * My husband is diabetic and this product has allowed him to enjoy bread and pasta again! And desserts also! Thank you
    Tova Carbalose Flour
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 January 26, 2019
    * It works well in my low carb bread recipe. The taste is a bit bitter though, so I added a little more sweetener.
    Tova Carbalose Flour
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    4/5 July 06, 2018
    * I use carbalose to make biscuits which turn out great! The biscuit recipe uses enriched (powdered) milk and lots of vegetable shortening. I also use it to make home-made low-carb pasta. Just crack an egg into a mixer bowl and add enough carbalose to make a stiff dough, as stiff as you can make it. Roll out the dough and run it through your pasta cutter. The noodles turn out very al dente. It's best to make fine pasta such as angel hair (capellini). You can then make all kinds of low-carb sauces such as pesto, Alfredo or just olive oil and grated Parmesano. When making dough with carbalose it is very helpful to let the dough REST for 10 - 15 minutes after mixing.
    Tova Carbalose Flour
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 August 18, 2017
    * Carbalose Flour is great for people on a low-carb lifestyle...I use it for baking, substituting it for white wheat flour and following the Carbalose suggestions for compensating the amount of leavening and liquids accordingly.

    Thank you, Tova, for a great product.

    Tova Carbalose Flour
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 December 28, 2012
    * I love this product. I went years unable to enjoy pizza and bread products until I found carbalose. The only difference I have found is the amount of yeast you need to use. I use about twice the amount of yeast as a dough Recipe calls . Love it.
    Tova Carbalose Flour
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 March 26, 2012
    * Standing between me and a low-carb diet was my love of morning toast, so finding this product has been a huge help. I have yet to perfect the recipe for a loaf of rye bread from my bread maker, but I am close. Living at high altitude and using a product that recommends doubling yeast is a challenge, and anyone else trying this product should accept at face value the advice to double the yeast called for in the recipe. I also decreased salt by 1/3, and kept the increase in water required by altitude.
    Tova Carbalose Flour
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 March 18, 2012
    * I have used this product religiously for the last year. It has a great taste. Almost like regular flour. After a couple of uses I didn't even notice the difference. It is great in any recipe that calls for regular all purpose flour. Makes delicious scones.
    Tova Carbalose Flour
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 April 19, 2011
    * I find this to be exceptionally useful for low-carb cooking. It can be used to coat chicken or fish for frying, with results close enough to "real" flour to be useful.

    For baked goods, I don't find it works quite as well by itself. I prefer mixing 1 c. carbalose flour, 1/4 c. coconut flour, and 1/4 c. flax seed meal to replace 2 c. of regular flour -- this works for moister quickbreads like pancakes and and muffins, but for dryer items like biscuits, you're better off using something like CarbQuick.

    Tova Carbalose Flour
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 March 29, 2011
    * I have a type 1 diabetic husband and son. They have to inject every bit of insulin into their bodies because they make none - unlike type 2 diabetics. They check their blood before meals and after meals and hourly when we try new recipes. Every recipe I make with carbalose and carbquik works great. With only 2 units of insulin,a biscuit from Hardees raises them well above 220; a biscuit from carbquik -110. Pancakes - no raise at all, etc,etc.I've never found a product that works this well with diabetes. I am so grateful.
    Tova Carbalose Flour
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 August 08, 2010
    * Better than soy, but it does cook differently than standard wheat flour, so be ready for this. The biggest problem I've had is that it tends to have a "flour-y" taste. However, this is by far the best of the low-carb flour alternatives.
    Tova Carbalose Flour
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 May 12, 2010
    * I use this product to mix with other flours and grains to make a whole grain bread. It is perfect for this use and reduces the carb count as a bonus. It is best when mixed with other flours. a happy customer in Maine
    Tova Carbalose Flour
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 February 11, 2010
    * A little weird to work with, but one of the better alternatives to carby flour. Taste has a little burnt quality to it-
    Tova Carbalose Flour
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 December 31, 2009
    * I tried this flour about 6 months ago when my husband and I went lo carb. I have completely eliminated white flour from our diets, and use this daily in its place. The Carbalose doesn't always perform exactly like regular flour, but I have found that with just a little tweaking, most of my regular recipes that call for flour can be made lo carb using the carbalose. I've made pie crust, brownies, cookies and bake a loaf of lo carb bread every week. We love it and use it all the time.
    Tova Carbalose Flour
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 April 24, 2009
    * Carbalose flour improved the texture of my low carb bread recipes that called for just protein powders. A good product!
    Tova Carbalose Flour
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 October 26, 2007
    * I had good and bad results. Made regular recipe for coffee cake and pumpkin bread and substituted 1/2 carbalose and 1/2 soy flour and Splenda. They came out fine. However, tried to make banana bread and brownies and the batter did not cook thru. Noticed that the coffee cake and pumpkin used baking soda and baking powder and the banana bread and brownies did not. Is this my problem? Can't figure out what I did wrong. If anyone can help, I would appreciate it.
    Tova Carbalose Flour
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2019 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.