Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 4/5 April 24, 2019
    * Good taste, its thin compared to real pancake syrup.
    Walden Farms Syrup
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 April 02, 2019
    * I like the nutritional value of this product, but it was a bit thick and gloppy to use even after shaking the bottle.
    Walden Farms Syrup
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 December 25, 2018
    * I have tried this pancake syrup before, and I prefer the straight Pancake syrup with additional Lorr-Ann’s butter pecan flavoring or McCormick’s butter extract. However, I cannot get this flavor locally and thought I would give it another try, since it would save me some $$ in added flavorings.

    The thickness is perfect for pouring over squash. The flavor is not strong, so I still add flavoring to give it more punch, but it remains thick enough to stick to pancakes.

    This review is specific to Syrup, Maple Walnut
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 December 02, 2018
    * This is a decent alternative to the real chocolate syrup. My husband likes it on ice cream. I like it on chocolate muffins and the like. For no carbs or calories, it's worth the compromise.
    This review is specific to Syrup, Chocolate
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 April 25, 2018
    * The chocolate syrup has a little funny taste to it, but I think of it tasting more like hot fudge flavor hen chocolate sauce flavor and it’s ok. I might search around for a different brand but this one is pretty good for sugar free.
    This review is specific to Syrup, Chocolate
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    4/5 March 27, 2018
    * I did a side-by-side test of this syrup, Nature's Hollow's syrup, and Lakanto's syrup.

    This one won. Nature's Hollow was not quite as good, and the Lakanto syrup was terrible.

    Walden Farms Syrup
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 September 28, 2017
    * When I first tried the Maple Walnut, I didn't like it because the walnut flavor overwhelmed the maple. But now the flavor has grown on me and I think I prefer it to the plain maple flavor of the Pancake Syrup. The flavoring definitely tastes artificial to me, but is still pleasant. It is more earthy like black walnuts rather than tangy like English walnuts. On another note, don't judge these syrups by how they taste straight. They are only good when eaten along with something that masks the off taste of the sucralose.
    This review is specific to Syrup, Maple Walnut
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 July 01, 2017
    * Excellent imitation maple syrup flavor... it's not as thick as regular maple syrup, but it absolutely does the trick.
    This review is specific to Syrup, Pancake, 12 fl oz.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 December 17, 2016
    * My 13 year-old son is on the modified atkins diet for seizures. He initially loved this with low carb pancakes or french toast. Then he went through a phase of using a cinnamon-splenda blend as a topping, as the syrup does have some of that sugar substitute aftertaste. But he's back to using it, especially as a dip for sausage. It's great to have a sweet option that has no carbs. And the packets are fabulous for his camping trips with Scouts, family vacations, etc.
    This review is specific to Syrup, Maple Walnut
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 August 29, 2016
    * This review applies to the Walden Farms Caramel flavor syrup. The syrup has a good thickness, like warm caramel. The flavor is kind of a cross between caramel and butterscotch. It's pretty sweet, but not overly so. I mixed it with Greek yogurt and added a couple of drops of Stevia (probably not necessary) and it tasted just like butterscotch pudding. YUM! A great substitution for real sugar-loaded caramel.
    This review is specific to Syrup, Caramel
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 September 06, 2015
    * The chocolate syrup is as good as Hershey's SF syrup but no calories. Tastes pretty bad straight out of the bottle, but it is pretty good on other food, like strawberries and low carb ice cream.
    This review is specific to Syrup, Chocolate
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 November 27, 2014
    * Always good. Maybe a little thin. Pancake has good 'Aunt Jemima' flavor. Blueberry seems like just juice but still good enough. Good on low carb pancake. Strawberry would be better on ice cream type foods. Somewhat artificial tasting.
    Walden Farms Syrup
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 October 27, 2014
    * Not a bad syrup...just not as sweet as I like it.
    This review is specific to Syrup, Pancake, 12 fl oz.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 June 28, 2013
    * The flavor is great, but a little runny so I add some sugar-free pancake syrup to thicken it up a bit. Heat it in the microwave (in a glass container of course)and it is wonderful.
    This review is specific to Syrup, Pancake
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 September 30, 2012
    * This works great mixed in with drinks. I use it in my coffee and in smoothie/shakes.
    This review is specific to Syrup, Chocolate
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 April 21, 2012
    * I imagine making good tasting pancake/waffle syrup has to be one of THE biggest challenges for food companies. Having said that, Walden Farms has done a pretty good job with their version. If you were regularly having pancakes with regular syrup and out of the blue used this product, you'd notice--or at least I would. But if you are a serious low carber you'll still notice, but you won't care. Taste buds adapt and mine now say, "Hey, Walden Farms syrup, cool!" Is it perfect? No, it's not, but I will absolutely live with this until someone perfects sugar-free syrup.
    This review is specific to Syrup, Pancake, 12 fl oz.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 September 22, 2011
    * I have used the Caramel, Chocolate and Pancake Syrups, and have purchased additional quantities of each.

    The caramel gets added to chocolate, apple and maple fake flavored items. Just a taste on the tongue is also OK, but more than a taste diminishes it's solo appeal.

    I add the chocolate syrup to fruit flavor fake shakes. One time I grabbed the wrong bottle, and it ended up in oatmeal. Not bad. As with the caramel, a solo taste is fine, but more than one lick is less appealing.

    I've only used the pancake syrup on pancake-like objects, and it was fine. I ordered a box of packets this time just for use in plain oatmeal when I next travel.

    This order, I will try the blueberry and strawberry syrups to add to fake shakes and plain oatmeal.

    Walden Farms Syrup
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 May 30, 2011
    * I bought the pancake syrup and I think it's fantastic. As with the other Walden Farms products I have purchased, it's kind of watery and keeping it in the fridge helps, but it pours fast and you really don't need that much. But the flavor is just like regular maple syrup and it makes the protein pancakes on the Ideal Protein diet much more tolerable. I highly recommend it.
    This review is specific to Syrup, Pancake
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 April 19, 2011
    * Walden Farms products, in general, are all over the map. Some are excellent, some are passable, and some are on the cusp of being criminally prosecuted for being billed as food.

    The pancake syrup, I'm happy to say, is of the "excellent" variety. While it's no maple syrup and does tend to the slightly runny side, it gets the job done and does not really feel like you're compromising too much to do so.

    I used to get the bottles, but the individual packets work better. A bottle pretty much worked out to six servings, and having six packets for the same price makes it easier to take leftovers away from home (I eat breakfast at the office).

    While specifically for the pancake syrup, I like the chocolate and blueberry syrups as well (when using them on frozen desserts, mix a little grain alcohol in them to keep them from freezing).

    This review is specific to Syrup Ready-to-Serve Packets, Pancake
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 November 12, 2010
    * Love it! As a chocolate lover, I was surprised how tasty it is and immediately ordered more! I'm on the Medifast diet and this only counts as one condiment. It's a fabulous topping to a frozen shake (brownies too) and doesn't add to the calorie or carb count. I'm staying OP but feel like I'm having a decadent treat! So far tried it on banana creme, strawberry creme, vanilla, and dutch chocolate shakes - all fabulous.
    This review is specific to Syrup, Chocolate
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 December 30, 2009
    * A little bit thin for pancake syrup but the taste is fantastic and 0 calories. Very worth it in my opinion!!
    This review is specific to Syrup, Pancake
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 October 25, 2009
    * This is my husband's favorite sugar-free syrup. My preference is Joseph's, but while it doesn't bother me, it messes with hubby's stomach. The Walden Farms syrup does not. So any of you out there who may have had intestinal troubles with other sugar-free syrup products may benefit from Walden Farms too. Give it a try! P.S. We've ordered the packets in the past too and they are very convenient to take with you to a restaurant!
    This review is specific to Syrup, Pancake
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 October 24, 2009
    * I really like the taste of the pancake syrup. I use it with the Dixie Diner pancake mix. It makes a great meal together. My only complaint is that the syrup is somewhat watery. I don't know if the watery texture or the amount of syrup, but the bottle only lasted for 3 pancake meals. I would still buy it again because of the price, the 0 nutritional value, and taste.
    This review is specific to Syrup, Pancake
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 August 19, 2009
    * For a no calorie, no carb product I think this product is great. My problem is finding enough low carb products to put it on!
    This review is specific to Syrup, Pancake
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 July 01, 2009
    * We searched for a sucralose-sweetened maple syrup after our local supermarket stopped carrying the brand we liked. Walden Farms Pancake Syrup is a good substitute. It has a good, maple flavor and relatively thick consistency, similar to other full-sugar syrups.
    This review is specific to Syrup, Pancake
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 April 06, 2009
    * Not as good as the Vermont maple syrup, but still tastes fine. It is very watery however which is kind of weird. Hard to argue with zero carb maple syrup.
    This review is specific to Syrup, Pancake
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 July 31, 2008
    * This syrup doesn't taste that great by itself (which is good, since I'm not tempted to eat it straight out of the bottle!) But on a little sugar-free vanilla ice cream, it's pretty good, and makes me feel like I'm having a real sundae!
    This review is specific to Syrup, Chocolate
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 June 17, 2008
    * I thought it was pretty good for having no carbs.
    This review is specific to Syrup, Pancake
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 June 07, 2008
    * This stuff is actually pretty good. I give it 4 stars because the consistency is a little "gloppy" and kinda a funny color so I don't use it on pancakes. I mix it in my oatmeal as a great maple sweetener. Am buying more and always have it in the house as a no calorie sweetener, just not as syrup.
    This review is specific to Syrup, Pancake
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 March 09, 2008
    * I really like this product I mix it with Hood calorie countdown milk to make low carb chocolate milk and I mix it in low carb cocoa to give the flavor chocolate flavor boost.
    This review is specific to Syrup, Chocolate
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 January 28, 2008
    * Of the LC pancake syrups I've tried, this one is definitely the best. My 8-year old even eats it with no complaints. I find it sometimes comes out in glops (which is still better than most of the others, which run like water), but if you microwave it for 20 seconds or so, it comes back to the right consistency.
    This review is specific to Syrup, Pancake
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 October 17, 2007
    * I had the chocolate and like it very much. Had the strawberry, found it a little watery but it also passed the test. Had the blueberry, mixed it in banana nut muffins with all kinds of other goodies and was okay, not the worst, not the greatest. One thing for sure: So far Walden Farms beats the competition hands down where syrups are concerned. Because of diabetes I have entered the world of sugar free and believe me when I say I have tasted some really bad products and this is not one. Reliable, the chocolate also very good with low carb vanilla ice cream (expensive but tasty) so what more can I wish for? Not a whole lot is what I think. Netrition.com so far excels at what they do and that is good enough for me. Long Live America and Americans is what I say!
    Walden Farms Syrup
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 September 10, 2007
    * Very maple-y flavor. Thicker and better tasting than other brands I've tried.
    This review is specific to Syrup, Pancake
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
    4/5 September 03, 2007
    * All of these syrups taste great but they do have their draw backs. Since they are flavored water thickened with vegetable gums, they tend to freeze and become icy when used on ice cream or other frozen desserts. One solution for adults only is to mix in a little of your favorite "distilled spirit" as anti-freeze (but keep it away from the kids). I've also run into batches of the Strawberry, and Pancake syrup where too much vegetable gum was used in the manufacturing process, making the texture gross and slimly. If you run into this, just add a little water or the above anti-freeze until the texture is more to your liking. Oh, and if you add the strawberry syrup to some low carb milk, you'll be reminded of your childhood days, enjoying a glass of Strawberry Quick.
    Walden Farms Syrup
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 February 10, 2007
    * This regular pancake syrup wasn't too bad at all. We had the Dixie Diner Low Carb Pancakes with it this morning and they both made for a sweet breakfast treat. I've yet to try the chocolate syrup but will let you know how that goes when I do.
    This review is specific to Syrup, Pancake
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2019 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.